Fiction logo

Tough Life

Wrote by Emma Laird

By Emma LairdPublished 2 years ago 31 min read
1

Why mom!!!!? My mother and I are from Japan. We moved to America and I have to go to school. I was always homeschooled but mother got a job in America so I have to go to a real public school.

It's the first day of school for me. I hope the kids like me. I walked in and the students were sitting down talking to their friends. I walked to the back and sat down hoping the teacher didn't see me come in. She noticed me in the middle of the math section. I suck at math.

She announced, “ If you haven’t seen or heard we have a new student. Sora, right?”

I said yea She wanted me to come up in front of the class and tell them something about me. I slowly got up and went up and was looking at my feet the whole time mumbling that I was from Japan and that I was homeschooled before I moved to America.

Then the teacher said “ If you need anything ask. Oh! I’m Mrs. Draving.” I said okay and sat back down at my seat that I was sitting at in the back. “Well back to the math section. What is 7x+8=15.”

I started doing it and I didn’t even get a chance to write anything when this boy named Johnny raised his hand to tell the answer.

A girl named Sam said “Johnny put your hand down! Your such a dork.”

She was joking around because he is really good at math while the rest of the kids are average. Mrs. Draving called on Johnny to show us on the board. He is amazing. I can tell he is popular because all his friends are high fiving him when he was going back to his desk. He seems really nice. He has brown short hair, he's tall, and has shiny teeth. He won’t like me though even though I like him a lot. He's so cute!!!

At lunch, I sat by Johnny which I shouldn't because all his friends were teasing around saying “ Is this your girlfriend! Johnny and new girl sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G….”

Then Johnny stopped them and yelled “No, she's not my girlfriend!! I don’t know her!! I don't know why she’s sitting by us!”

I got up sadly and walked to the bathroom when no one was noticing. I felt so bad because he was embarrassed.

Later in class, the teacher had a new seating chart. She put me by Johnny. I apologized for what happened at lunch.

He looked at me and said “Its okay. I’m fine but are you okay. You left right after it happened. I should apologize because I shouldn’t have yelled like the way I did.”

I said that I was fine now and he welcomed me to sit at the table again.

We are doing writing. We have journals and we write in them and the teacher reads them anonymously. I wish I knew that before I started writing because I wrote about that I was from Japan and personal stuff. People will know it from me unless I can tell Mrs. Draving not to read it. It's too late.

“Ok let's start reading the stories that you guys have written. It might be obvious whose is whose or you can say you wrote them if you want. Well here's the first one.” said Mrs. Draving.

I hid my face because it was mine.

“I’m from Japan and I and my mom moved because Japan and France are in a war. My father died because he was a hostage. My dog named Cinco died also because he jumped in front of a gun and got killed. He saved me and my mother. She heard about America and that its a free country, no slavery, no wars, and have schools.”

I think Mrs. Draving started crying and the students were too. Some kept looking at me.

“Well, I am guessing that we all know whose it is. I am so sorry that that happened to you.”

I said it's okay. Everyone looked at me and clapped and said that he or she was sorry that all happened. No one wanted anymore read so we just went out for recess. Everyone kept asking me questions about Japan and my father. I just said simple things to them.

Then Johnny came over and said “Wow! I am speechless. That story is sad.”

I said yea. I was kind of upset of moving tho even tho that was happening.

“Oh! Well, do you like America now.”

“Yes, I do! I’m free and don’t have to watch every move I make.”

“Well, that's great! Ummm I have to ask you something. I know this is your first day and all. I know I don’t know you much but your kind and pretty. Will you be my girlfriend?”

I was happy that he said that. I told him yes and that I liked him to so it worked out good. He didn’t care what people said and I liked that. I actually forgot that he was popular. I was more confident with him by my side.

When I went home, my mother told me that we could move back to Japan if we wanted to. I said that I didn’t want to.

“How was school, honey?”

“It was amazing, I was quiet and scared at first and then at writing, I wrote a story about Japan and personal stuff and they knew it was from me. Some kids even cried! Then at recess right after that a boy named Johnny which is smarter in math then he asked me out! I liked him the first time I saw him and then his friends were making fun of him and saying stuff about me at lunch because you know. I'm the new girl. Well, he snapped and yelled and I got upset but we are okay now. We apologized to each other. Oh! We sit by each other also so I really love school!”

“Well, that is nice to hear sweetie.”

Later at night, I couldn’t sleep because all I could think about was my dog and my father. I cried and realized it was 1:30 on my phone. I didn’t fall asleep till 2:00. It was really rough.

The next day my mother woke me up with the smell of blueberry waffles. I got ready and ate waffles and walked to the bus stop waiting for the bus to come. When it came, I got on and saw Sam so I asked to sit with her and she said yes so I did until we got to school. I told Johnny and he hugged me. He didn’t care who was around. He just did it and told me to give him my phone number.

I gave him my phone number and he said, “ I will talk to you tonight, I love you.”

I froze when he wanted a response, 10 seconds later I said it back and said that I froze. I have never had a boyfriend before so this was all new to me. He said that we better get to class until we're late and we didn’t want to be late in Mrs. Draving’s class.

In class, we basically had a free day because Mrs. Draving had to do a lot of stuff. Johnny and his friends were talking and I was doing the math homework assigned to us the day before. I am stuck on the second one. We only had eight problems so I can get it done in this time.

Johnny realized that I was alone and walked over and said, “What are you doing?! Math! Sweet! If you need help you can ask me.”

I nodded and went back to the problem. He took the paper and pencil from me and put them on his desk and pulled me to talk and have fun with the class.

At lunch, we had noodles and green beans. I put my green beans on my noodles like I always do. I didn’t like the milk and Johnny loves it so I gave him the rest of my milk. His friends haven’t teased him about me being his girlfriend. I like his friends, they are nice to me. We got to go outside and I fell off the jungle gym and knocked out for a couple of minutes. There was some blood also. I woke up in the nurse room. The nurse, my mother, and Johnny were in the room.

My mother saw me and came to me and said “Are you okay!? What happened!?”

She was asking me too many questions so I whispered to Johnny which was on the other side of me to answer her questions.

He said, “Okay, Mrs. Jennings. I am Johnny. She had a great fall. She fell off the jungle gym because we thought it would be cool if someone could climb all the way up. I am sorry. It is my fault.”

My mother then said, “It's okay, nice to meet you, Johnny. It only matters if she's okay right now.”

They both went back by me and I said that I feel okay. I only had a headache. The nurse cleaned up all the blood and gave me a sucker.

My mother whispered, “Do you want to go home?”

I didn’t want to so I stayed but she just said to be careful. I and Johnny went back to class and everyone was around me asking if I was okay. It was kind of funny because Johnny was like “Give her some space people. She needs air!” I laughed. He smiled and we were dancing to music and after a while, I went back to doing my homework. I finally figured out how to do the math and I was really good at it. I just was drawing pictures in the back corner where no one could see me. I wanted to be alone.

Sam noticed me and snuck over and talked to me for a while.

She said, “Is it scary to be the new kid Sora?”

I said, “kind of because America is way different from Japan.”

She whispered to me, “I was from Japan too. I moved to America a couple a years ago. It will be hard to get used to but you will get used to it.”

I got up and had fun with the rest of the class.

The school was over and Sam and I sat by each other on the bus. We sit in the back of the bus and we mostly get away with everything. It's Friday so the bus driver doesn’t care. She is kind of lenient. The first stop was the bus stop down the street from my house. I said goodbye to Sam and everyone when I was getting off.

I love America mother!!!! What I yelled when I came home. My mother seemed upset but I didn’t ask what was going on because she talks for forever. She gave me a Karinto. It's a traditional Japanese snack. Its sweet and deep fried and mostly only made of flour, yeast, and brown sugar. I love Karintos! I think my mom misses Japan because she keeps making food that we always ate in Japan.

“I want to try American food mother. Can you make one?”

She said “Okay we will eat what these people call tacos.”

Mother, we have tacos in Japan too. You're just going to put our spices in it. Let's have hmmmmmmmm, cheeseburgers!!!! She said, “Fine, we will have an American cheeseburger.” I hugged her and told her it will be alright. It will take a while to get used to.

I was texting Johnny and he was telling me things that he hated me and that I was worthless. I shut my phone off and cried myself to sleep. The next day I told Sam and showed the messages to her. She said, “Wow! He is a jerk!” I was like yea he is and I was going to ignore him all day. When we got to school I saw Johnny at his desk and just walked to mine and wrote on a piece of paper. It said, “Is it true? Do u really think I am worthless?” He saw the note and wrote back, “NO!!! I would never say that about u!! I love u.” I looked at him and didn’t write anything back. At lunch, I sat by Sam and showed her the note. She said, “He's just desperate, don’t trust him.” I said okay and when Johnny came to sit by me, Sam and I moved by the other girls in our class.

At recess, Johnny said “Why are you ignoring me? Did I do something wrong?” I showed him the messages that HE sent me last night. He was confused saying “I didn’t even have my phone last night. I had to go somewhere and when I came home I fell asleep right away. My sister could’ve done it but I don’t know.” I said okay and watch out for Sam because I told her everything. He was like “Oh great!” and laughed. He hugged me and said, “You’re the prettiest girl in the world in my eyes.” I smiled at him and said thanks and giggled. Sam came out and said, “Why are you with this jerk!” I and Johnny looked at each other and laughed. Sam yelled, “What's funny!!” I said it's okay, it wasn’t him. She then whispered, ”What if he's lying?” I didn’t think of that. I whispered back, I will give him one more chance. She said, “Fine! But only ONE!!” I calmed her down and we played tag.

Later that night a text from Johnny said, “I am breaking up with you. Don’t talk to me even if I talk to you. Your worthless and no one loves you. You should’ve died with your father and dog Cinco.” I cried myself to sleep again.

The next day I told Sam to beat Johnny up and showed her everything. She said, “ Only our class knows about Cinco. He did send those texts. He is a liar.” When we got off the bus at school I punched Johnny in the face so hard that he was bleeding. He yelled, “OWWW!!! What did you do that for? Did I do something wrong, babe? I love you!” I yelled back, Stop your lies! You called me worthless and wanted me to die like my father and dog Cinco! I can’t believe you! You're the worst. I went off crying and ran into the girl's bathroom. Sam then said, “ Why would you do that?” Johnny still was confused. He said, “ I am sorry whatever I did. I really don’t know what I did.” Sam said, “ The messages! Our class only knew about her father and dog dying. Mrs. Draving came in and yelled, “ Sit in your seats! Johnny what happened!” Johnny said, “ A girl doesn’t trust me. She thinks I hate her. I actually love her. I actually want her next to me every second. Every time I look at her I fall in love with her more and more.” Everyone kept looking at Johnny listening to every word he was saying. He continues, “She makes me smile. I would kill myself or/and die for her. I would do anything for her. She thinks I hate her. She thinks I think she is worthless and ugly and dumb. The truth is she is past smart, past beauty, past a billion bucks. She is my everything.” Mrs. Draving sat down and said, “That was an amazing speech. Well if you want to talk with the counselor you can. Well class, Where is Sora?” Sam raised her hand saying “ I know where she is. She is in the… the…. Bathroom.” Sam left the classroom to find me in the bathroom. I had a knife cutting her wrists crying on the floor with blood everywhere. Sam yelled, “ Someone help!! It's Sora!! Sora stops it!!” I didn’t stop. I kept cutting my wrists. Johnny came rushing into the girl's restroom and didn’t even care. He grabbed me and kissed my lips. Only Johnny, me, Sam, and Mrs. Draving saw the kiss. Everyone else was outside the bathroom. While I walked out of the bathroom, everyone saw the blood and started crying and hugging me. Johnny was still confused. All the students were telling me how Johnny made a whole speech and was talking about me. I cried and hugged Johnny and everyone was happy that he or she saved my life and I was happy with Johnny until High School but that is a whole other story……

It’s the first day of high school. Sam, Johnny, and I have hung out all summer and it went well. Mother wants me to be in this club called “All Around The World”. It’s about other cultures and stuff. I sat by Sam on the bus and when we got to school we went to talk to Johnny but he was talking to a bunch of other girls in their sophomore year. I went over to talk to him and he just stood there. I said hey and Johnny said, “Sup!” Just sup. I know we hung out all summer but I would think he would hug me at least. Something is up. Does he like me anymore or what? The bell rung so I went to my first class which is Spanish. I already know two languages though. Why do I have to learn another one? I know English, Japanese and now I need to know Spanish. I couldn’t understand anything in Spanish class. I told Sam that I suck at Spanish and she said she was too. When I told Johnny he kept nodding his head saying “mhm, nice.” I don’t know what is up with him. At lunch, I couldn’t sit by him because he had other girls near him. I feel jealous but I can’t let Johnny and Sam know that I am jealous. The next class I had was a free class. I texted Johnny and he got all mad at me saying he would get in trouble if I kept texting him. After school, I told Sam that Johnny ignored me all day and was hanging with other girls. She said, “ That is a bummer but you can’t be jealous. Yes, I would be jealous but if you show it to Johnny he will love you less.” Are you sure this is true? When I got home, my mother was laying down. I went to her and whispered, Are you okay? The school was okay today. I love you. I hope you get better soon. She said back, “ I’m fine. I’m glad your day was good. I love you too. And I hope I can to.*coughs*” I walked in the kitchen to start making dinner. I wanted to make mothers favorite meal because her days are almost over. Her favorite meal is Udon. It’s a type of thick wheat flour noodles of Japanese cuisine. It is similar to Italian pasta, but much thicker. It takes awhile to make. It took forever to cook it but when I served it to my mother she was happy but I wasn’t. Her last words were, “I love you Sora. You are an amazing girl. It is my time to go.” I was crying calling 911.

Emergency Station- What is your emergency?

Sora(me)- My mother! She’s dead. (sobs)

Emergency station- Calm down. There’s an ambulance on the way. What’s your name?

Me- Sora

Emergency station- Okay thank you. Can you keep talking to me until they get there? What’s your address?

Me- Yes I can. It’s 549 north Gog street.

Emergency station- Thank you. How old are you?

Me- I’m 15. They are here.

Emergency station- Okay they will take care of you now.

Me-Thank you

All my neighbors were coming to see what was going on. When they saw me coming out of the house crying they knew something bad really happened. Then they saw her mother laying on a stretcher with a blanket over her body. They came to me and started to hug me. I texted Sam to come over. She came with her mom and they welcomed me to stay with her. A few hours later I heard my house caught on fire. I forgot to turn the oven off. I started freaking out. I texted Johnny and told him everything. He replied, “ I’m sorry to hear that. Ummmm I think we should see other people.” I collapsed when I saw that text. I didn’t show it to Sam or anyone. I just went to the bathroom and cried. At this moment I wished I said yes when mother asked if we could move back to Japan but it’s too late. I want to die now. When I came out, Sam knew something was up. She gave me ice cream and forced me to tell her what was going on. It finally got out and I told her everything. She said she wishes she could go back to Japan sometimes. We hugged each other and we didn’t worry about guys or anybody that got in our way. The next day I was happy and didn’t let anyone get in my way.

Johnny came up to me and said, “ I’m sorry for what happened to your mom and your house. I really am.”

I just stared at him.

“ I am sorry I broke your heart. I hope we can someday be a real thing. “

“A real thing?” I asked. “So we never were a real thing.” I walked away holding in my tears.

“No, wait! That’s not what I meant,” yelled Johnny.

Johnny grabbed my arm and looked at her eyes.

“I still love you but… but you need better than me. I act too stupid. I don’t want to hurt you. I want you to be happy.”

“ Well, okay. I got to go…. Talk to you later Johnny. Bye.” I said.

Johnny waved bye to me and he looked disappointed. Johnny went to talk to Sam and I thought a lot of things when I saw them together. I couldn’t hear them but I saw them.

“ Hey Sam,” said Johnny.

“ Hi, John. I don’t like you,” said Sam”

“ You just hate me because I was an idiot towards Sora. Which I made a huge mistake. I love her. I just think she needs to be treated better.” said Johnny.

“ You are an idiot. And that’s not the only reason I hate you. I…. I hate you because I like you but I didn’t want to get in the middle of you and Sora. Which she gets annoying. How did you deal with her?” said Sam.

“ Well ummm. I am flattered that you like me but Sora isn’t annoying. She’s amazing. I don’t know how she dealt with me. I thought you were actually her friend. You were trying to break us up all this time. Weren’t you? “ said Johnny.

“Yeah, your right. Oh, the little texts. I snuck into your house and texted her the bad things. She was so upset. I had to stop her from the cutting of course in the bathroom last year. I would’ve let her keep doing it but I wanted to keep my act. I hung out with you and her all summer. I hated being the third wheel. She should be the third wheel.” said Sam.

Sam kept moving closer to him trying to kiss him. She saw me in the corner watching everything.

“ No! Get off of me, you freak! I’m not into you! I love Sora, Not you!” shouted Johnny.

Johnny ran away from Sam and I hid behind the corner. I saw Johnny run past me. I followed Johnny. He hid in the janitor closet.

“ Johnny? Hey, it's me, Sora. I saw you come in here. Turn on the light.” I said.

Johnny turned on the light and just looked at me.

“ Thank goodness you're here. Did Sam follow you here? Lock the door. I have to tell you something. “ said Johnny in a panicky voice.

I locked the door and went back to him.

“ I didn’t see her. I saw her on you but I knew something was up. Then I saw you run out. What happened? “ I said.

“ Well, Sam likes me and was always trying to break us up. She doesn't really care about you. She just used you to get to me. I love you. I made a huge mistake about breaking up with you. Can we start at the beginning?” said Johnny.

“ Wow, she would do this to me?” I tried to not cry. “ No one really cares about me. I don’t care what other people think. I guess I don’t have any real friends except…. Except you. Yeah, we can start over. “ I said.

“ Hey, you seem cool. Tell me about yourself,” said Johnny.

I giggled and looked at him.

“ I am Sora. I am new. I’m from Japan. Tough life but it’s getting better. I like to bake and write. I used to suck at math but got used to it. I also like to run. What about you? “

“ That’s cool. I’m Johnny. I like sports and math. I am like the best in the school. Have I said you looked beautiful today. “ said Johnny.

“I’m flattered. Thanks, Johnny. I’ve had a crush on you since I first saw you. You were amazing and still are. “ I giggled.

“ Yeah well let's get out of this smelly old closet. Oh, and there is this wacko girl named Sam. Stay away from her. She wants you dead.” said Johnny.

“ Okay got it!” I giggled.

Johnny and I made an agreement that we tell each other everything and that we will talk everything out. I have moved into a children’s shelter. I found out that my uncle moved to America and he was going to move back to Japan. I wanted to see if I could go with him. I didn’t like the other children at the shelter. They were all little kids and no one will want me. I’m a teen. All they want are cute little kids. Not ugly people like me. I wish I could die most of the time. Johnny invited me over for dinner but my curfew is 9:00 pm.

A few months later the “mother” taking care of me said I couldn’t talk to Johnny. She’s not my real mother though so I kept talking to him. She wasn’t happy with that, so she took my phone. One night I snuck into her room and took it back. I then packed up and ran away from that place. It was a cold winter night and I had nowhere to go. I went to my house that got burned down and sat in the yard crying. The next day Johnny told me some bad news.

Johnny said, “ I’m sorry, but I have to move.”

“I understand. I had to say that to everyone in Japan.” I said.

“ Okay well, I love you, I am leaving tomorrow,” said Johnny.

“ I love you too,” I said.

I tried to hold in my tears and kissed him. He stared at me and hugged me and didn’t let go. It was Saturday today. When Johnny left, I was heartbroken. I saw Sam and she came to me.

“ I know Johnny talked to you about my craziness. I just was jealous and liked him all this time. When he asked you out I was devastated. When we met on the bus you were really fun but when he asked you out I went crazy and hated you. I know it will take a while but will you forgive me?” said Sam.

“ You said you were just using me! You wanted to me to kill myself! I don’t think I will ever forgive you, Sam. You are not my friend and probably never will be. So just please leave me alone.” I said angrily.

I then walked off angry and went into the bathroom. I went into the stall and cried a silent cry. I started cutting. A red flow went from my arm to the floor. I passed out and Sam found me. She cried and shouted for help. I could hear her whisper to me.

“ I’m so sorry. I should’ve been a real friend. Please don’t go.” cried Sam.

I opened my eyes and looked at her. She just was crying saying ‘don’t go’ over and over again. I finally woke up and there was the principal, teachers, and some students seeing what was going on. I felt dizzy and didn’t talk to anyone but I said one thing to Sam.

“Did you really mean what you said? Did you really want me to stay…. Stay alive?” I asked.

“ Yes, I’m really sorry. I am an idiot. I hate myself for saying that. I actually care about you. Remember we are from Japan. We have to stay together. Friends?” Sam said.

“ I forgive you. Yeah, stick to..together forev..forever.” I said.

I felt so dizzy and the nurse was fixing up my arm. I have lived in the allies of the city for the past couple weeks. The nurse left and the guidance counselor came in. Her name is Mrs. Linger.

“ Hey, Sora. Are you doing better?” said Mrs. Linger

“ Yeah… I.. I am. I just need to… to rest.” I said.

“ Let’s let her rest Sam. We will come back and check on you in a little bit Sora,” said Mrs. Linger.

Sam and Mrs. Linger left and I was left there with my thoughts. I could only think of it all. I could’ve died at home, Japan but my dog saved me. My father got killed so we had to move and my mother died here and I burned down my own house. I lost everything. Johnny saved my life a little but then he had to leave and that broke me. Then I figured out that Sam said bad things about me and tried to break me and Johnny up. I had to live in a homeless shelter and I hated it so I ran away and live on the streets now. I also thought of the good things though. If I didn’t move to America I wouldn’t have ever dated Johnny and I wouldn’t have got taught new things. A year later…..

I have had to go to a psychologist for a long time. They thought I got better so I stopped going to see them. I felt better but I was still sad about the events that have happened in the past year. The psychologist said nothing was my fault. It was France’s fault for starting the war. If they never started the war me, my mother, father, and dog would be safe. Well… not my mom. We pass away at some time in life. Sam and I are best friends and we haven’t heard of Johnny for a while. I texted him a couple times but he’s always busy. I think I will be okay though. A year later it has been good.

I have gone to school fine and then Sam got a boyfriend. His name is Don. Don’s nice but I feel like the third wheel all the time.

“What colleges are you going to?” I asked them.

“ Whatever college she’s going to,” said Don.

“Okay well, what college are you going to go to Sam?” I asked.

“ I don’t know. A college,” said Sam.

“ Okay well, I’m going to go to class. Bye.” I said.

They weren’t paying attention to me. All they were doing was saying I love u, no I love u; back and forth. It’s annoying. I went to math and it was a problem that sounded so familiar. It was 7x+8=15. I shouted out the answer, “It’s 11!” The teacher said that I was right. We had a whole sheet of problems like that for a couple of weeks. I concentrated more about school so I didn’t see Sam that much anymore. I and she ended up losing touch after she moved with Don. They ended up getting married after high school and inviting me but I didn’t have time to go. I later then went to college, Yale University. You wouldn’t believe whom I saw. After everything I have been through, it has finally been going my way. It was Johnny. I recognized him.

I went over to him said, “Johnny?”

He said, “Yes, need something?”

He wasn’t paying attention at all. He looked so busy.

“It’s me, Sora.”

He looked up and saw my eyes and hugged me.

“You're here! I thought I would never see you again,” cried Johnny, “I missed you every day I was gone.”

I smiled and asked, “How have you been?”

“When I moved I went to a private school and ended up coming here because Connecticut is my home.”

“Well, Sam and I started being friends again in high school, then she left and married a nice guy. I decided to work harder and get to this school which I did. I live on the streets still but I have a job. I’m trying to raise enough money to get a home.”

“You can stay with me. I have an apartment.”

“Really?”

“You are the only girl I have actually fallen for so yes. It’s up to you. Do you want to come and stay at my place or no?”

“Yeah, I will come and stay with you.”

Later that night I went to his house with everything I had. I only had a few outfits and my school stuff. He looked at everything I had and just kept looking at me with sad eyes.

“Are you sure you have been okay, Sora?”

“I have to be honest with you. I cry every night and look at the stars! I wish everything could just change. I know I am in this world for a reason. I hurt myself to get rid of the terrible memories. I’ve thought about you, and I still love you. I have nothing. I have little money and I give it to the little kids in the shelter. I’m sorry,” I cried.

“It’s going to be okay. I am here for you and never leave you. I will never hate you. I love you with all my heart.”

Johnny came and kissed me. I smiled and wiped the tears running down my face.

“You're still the heartwarming person that you have always been.”

“Yeah, well I guess that’s how I roll. Do you want some ice cream?”

“Yeah, I’ll have some ice cream.”

I smiled and he got the ice cream out. I freaked when I saw the flavor.

“It’s Miso flavored! I haven’t had that ice cream since I was in Japan. It’s my favorite!” I screamed.

We laughed and got caught up with life all night long. We ended up both falling asleep at 1:00 in the morning.

We were almost late to school. We had Pretest finals today. We rushed in so I didn’t get to eat anything. My stomach was growling the whole time. I believe I did a really good job but I was still nervous. After the test, everyone was let out early since the finals took forever. Johnny would keep telling me that he was about to fall asleep during the test.

“What would you call us, Sora?” asked Johnny.

“What do you mean?” I questioned.

“Like… do you call us friends, boyfriend/girlfriend…”

“Or elephants!” I laughed.

“I’m being serious!”

“Oh sorry. I think we are really good friends.”

“Oh okay, it’s fine.”

Me and Johnny ended up having the most awkward talk ever. We then started to watch Netflix and eat popcorn.

After years and years me and Johnny got married and had a baby girl, that is 5 now. Her name is Hana. She has a disease though and can possibly die. She has Leukemia. It’s a type of disease. She’s a happy little girl. After a month Hana died. It was a tragedy. I was broken. Johnny ended up going out for drinks every week. One week he was too drunk that he drove off the road into a river. The police found him dead. I was all alone again. After about 25 years I ended up cutting again. I called the police and they found me dead on the bed that Johnny and I lied. Hana would always want to come in and sleep with us and we obviously let her. I was up in heaven with my whole family. I saw my mother and father playing with our dog. I then saw Johnny doing the airplane to Hana. I went to them all and gave them all a huge hug. I saw many people from the wars from the past. I saw presidents from before. I saw the father of the Earth, God. Heaven is a beautiful place.

God took my hand and told me, “I kept telling you that you had a purpose in the world. You stayed and you accomplished it. You are with the people who love you now. We all will be together forever.”

I smiled with joy and went with my family. I guess it’s not a tough life as I thought.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.