Fiction logo

Too Many Mississippis

Wednesday 26th June, Story #178/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Too Many Mississippis
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

Standing in the dark outside the house, I watched something in him wither and die. He doesn't believe me, I thought. My son doesn't believe me.

"Rich?"

His eyes met mine.

"What's wrong?"

"Your top," he mumbled. "You changed it." He was right. Earlier I'd been wearing a t-shirt, and now I was wearing something red and strappy.

"I spilled juice on it," I told him.

I wondered if he'd noticed that I was wearing perfume as well.

How much did he actually see?

I can't beg him not to tell. That's too much for him to carry. Plus, it makes me sound guilty, and I stopped, damnit.

I didn't think he'd tell, not on purpose, anyway. But I couldn't risk it.

"Rich? What did you s- what did you think you saw?"

I hated that. That manipulation coming out of my mouth. But what choice did I have? There was too much at stake if I didn't make this right. All this, the life I'd built with Michael... it would shatter, and the shards would hurt. A lot of people. I'd lose a lot. Everything.

I could see in his face, he knew.

That's when I woke, with the perfect storm of dread and regret reaching a peak. When I felt the worst I could feel. When I saw my son's heart break, his opinion of me crumble. His young shoulders slump with the weight of my secret.

My heart was still racing.

"You OK?" Michael's eyes found mine in the half-light of our bedroom. "That one really did a number on you, hey." He gestured to the DreamFix-1000, and I nodded, my heart still racing. "Why do you do it to yourself, Vivienne?" He pulled me into his arms. "You don't even watch horror movies. Why do you pick dreams that scare you?"

"To remind me of what I've got."

Really? Lying to myself, again?

The heat and scent of him was a memory, inserted into the dream to make it feel real. I was selfishly re-living it over and over, telling myself it was to keep me honest. Maybe it did, but tomorrow night I'd go further.

It's not real. It doesn't count.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count excluding note: 366

Submitted on Wednesday 26th June at 23:40

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 178 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

The story behind the story: I always try to write these so they can be enjoyed as stand-alone stories, but you can also read this as a follow on from these two:

You can probably tell by now that this was one I was cooking up for the 3am challenge, and didn't get it finished in time. I know full well that "and it was all a dream" it a huge cop out, but I don't care. The challenge felt like one big fat "and it was all a dream" coupon.

Any Young Ones fans in? I used the characters and cast for most of the names here.

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

familyShort StorySeriesMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • The Dani Writera day ago

    Whew Gurrl!!! Call up the movie producers now! Top story SKILLS!

  • Hannah Moore2 days ago

    Ah! Was this the one you mentioned?

  • Well-wrought! Ever seen "The Cell"? The theme of this story recalled a particularly unpleasant scene to my mind, which I'll link at the end of this comment with the warning that it is truly gruesome. The reason I find it resonant is that the detective (excellently played by Vince Vaughn) uses an unpleasant memory from the real world to remind the protaganist that she's caught in the killer's dream. Our grief, though painful and unpleasant, sometimes saves us from making a mistake, or repeating one. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4yQLPekJNc&rco=1

  • It doesn't count if it is a dream but it counts if we can control what we do in our dream. Vivienne needs to be bitchslapped hahahhaha

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    Ha! I didn’t notice the young ones names until you pointed it out! Great. Love your story too.

  • Sarah Wilcox3 days ago

    All three are amazing! I love the details and different perspectives! Excited for more!

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Ever notice that it’s impossible to get any privacy in a dream? This story was absolutely amazing, LC. It really is a pity it was too late for the challenge!

  • Cathy holmes3 days ago

    Hmm. I like the concept of controlling our dreams, maybe... sort of. I don't know. I'm thinking that it would have to be unpleasant dreams though. If they were good I'd never want to wake up. Great story. Got me thinking.

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    There is always a true consequence to our actions. I liked reading your story. What an impressive achievement! Writing a story every day for 178 days shows your dedication and creativity. Your passion for storytelling shines here, and it's inspiring to see such commitment. Keep up the fantastic work, and I look forward to reading more of your stories!

  • Mark Gagnon3 days ago

    The best way to fix a lie is with... another lie of course.

  • Matthew Fromm3 days ago

    Chilling…of your micros this one unsettled me the most

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.