Fiction logo

Just One Hug

Tuesday 25th June, Story #177/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Just One Hug
Photo by Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash

God it felt good to be so close to him. The smell of him, the warmth. What I'd resisted so long. Was that why it was so good? Because I'd held back? My lips so close to his neck, I ached to kiss him. I didn't. Just a hug, I told myself. Just one. That's OK, right?

You've already gone several Mississippis past OK, and you know it.

My legs almost buckled. I was glad for his arms holding me steady.

You've got to stop!

We pulled apart.

"I better g-"

"You better go back inside."

There was a moment, unsaid words dangling between us.

I walked back towards the house. Eddy trotted along at my heels, grinning widely.

Turning onto the driveway, I almost bowled right into Rich, my eldest, a young man all of a sudden. Shirtless, barefooted, an odd look on his face. My insides dropped in horror. I tried not to let it show on my face. What's he doing out here? Did he see...?

I squashed these questions, made them small. Brazen it out, it's dark, he couldn't have seen anything much. Anyway I haven't actually done anything.

Oh, lies. Lying to yourself is so debasing. I hadn't done anywhere near as much as I wanted to, but I had wanted to. That counts for something, doesn't it?

"Who was that?" Rich is looking at me in a way I don't like, a heavy sort of look.

"A friend," I keep it light, try to keep guilt out of my voice.

Rich frowns. He wants to ask something, but he's unsure what or how, or if he even wants the answer. He turns away. Don't leave it like this!

"Rich?"

He glances back.

"Are you OK?"

He's glances round, cornered, and mumbles, "It looked like you were kissing or something,"

"Oh!" I laugh, feeling a rush of relief. "God no! We've been friends a long time, but I've never kissed him." Honesty rang in my words, thank fuck.

"He's having a rough time right now," I tell him. "His mum just died, his wife's been poorly, and his sister just got diagnosed with MS."

"Oh."

"Come on, you. Long past bedtime."

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count excluding note: 366

Submitted on Tuesday 25th June at 21:00

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 177 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

The story behind the story: I always try to write these so they can be enjoyed as stand-alone stories, but you can also read this as a follow on from this one:

I deliberately wanted to leave you with questions on this one. Is she telling the truth? Lying? If she's lying, what's she lying about, and how good of a liar is she?

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

SeriesShort StoryMicrofictionfamily

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    She's telling the truth. Its just...she wishes she werent.

  • Dana Crandell3 days ago

    Hmmm. If only Eddy could talk. lol I feel a tawdry romance novel in the works.

  • Tina D'Angelo3 days ago

    Wow, these feelings were so, so real. They jumped off the page at me.

  • I only realised what this was when you mentioned Eddy. Just friends with a married guy who she secretly wants to kiss. That never ends well, lol

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    So good! Feel like I’m peeping through the net curtain watching this unfold!

  • I always get intrigued and engulfed by your stories! ✨💕

  • Oh, And the poor guy also got mustard on his brand new white t shirt, the poor guy! Well written! Great job! 🤓

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Amazing, amazing portrayal of hating all the platonic, grown up shit, all the while balancing temptation on the head of a pin. Loving it!

  • Babs Iverson3 days ago

    Intriguingly written!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Mark Gagnon3 days ago

    Coulda, shoulda, better not, glad I didn't. Wish I had!

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    Captivating and intense! The tension and longing are palpable, drawing you into the moment with vivid emotion and uncertainty.

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.