Fiction logo

Today Is A New Day

A Madness Microfiction for the March Write Club

By CatsidhePublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Today Is A New Day
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

The world was different when I woke up.

No one else seemed to notice, but even the sky looked different, ominous and orange, as pedestrians trekked to and fro beneath it.

There were new sounds, too, a constant wailing grind, like some damned soul if their lungs had transmuted to steel.

Most striking of all, though, were the shadows. They were everywhere, visible even in the dark. They crawled over every surface, every person. They enveloped the faces of everyone in the street, their blank, white eyes staring out, obscuring the human features beneath.

Terrified, I checked my reflection in a store window. My features were still visible, still familiar, my eyes my own. No shadows.

I reached out to grasp a shadow drifting by on the wind. It eluded me, fleeing from my touch. I turned to a passerby, asking them if they saw the shadows too. Their white eyes gazed at me in bewilderment, a wild laugh escaping from their lips as they ripped clumps of hair from their head.

The laughter echoed and was picked up in turn by every creature in the street, reverberating between humans, pigeons, dogs, even the rats in the gutter. The sound became deafening but did not end. The shadows swelled like flames feeding on kindling, dancing wildly in the breeze.

It was the sound of a world that had lost all reason. I fell to my knees in despair.

In the kingdom of the mad, only the sane man is truly mad.

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

A public figure writing privately

Dark poems and fiction my specialty

Come explore the abyss with me

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧about a month ago

    I love the profound note you end this on: "In the kingdom of the mad, only the sane man is truly mad." (Who decides what is normal anyway?) Taking this even one step further, In a kingdom of the mad, only the mad are sane! Thought provoking for sure!

  • "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" meets "Babylon 5". Nicely done, Cat.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.