Fiction logo

With Sharp Teeth and Claws

๐…๐ž๐›๐ซ๐ฎ๐š๐ซ๐ฒ ๐–๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž ๐‚๐ฅ๐ฎ๐› ๐๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฉ๐ญ

By CatsidhePublished 2 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
19
With Sharp Teeth and Claws
Photo by Pars Sahin on Unsplash

I peer out into the darkness.

This should be my time, but I'm paralyzed with fear.

I can see across the floor to the open closet. The monster there has long tentacles and too many eyes. I catch his gaze expectantly, and he slowly shuts the closet door. There will be no help from him tonight.

Next, I stare up into the corner where the wall meets the ceiling. The ghost girl calls that space home. Her bedraggled blond hair hangs down as she clings to the ceiling. She turns her head around backwards to avoid my gaze. No help there, either.

I sigh and consider my options. Once upon a time, I'd been able to creep out from under the bed, my claws harvesting the nightmares of its occupant. The other monsters were forced to wait their turn as I ate my fill. That is, until he brought her home.

He called it a wife, but it was clear what she was: a predator. We all felt the change in the environment immediately. The creature under the dresser was the first to go - he dared to make a grab for an earring that fell off the dresser. By the next night, all that remained was a dark smear.

The other creatures quickly fled, fell in line, or were disposed of. We three were the only ones left. The situation was desperate.

As I contemplated whether to chance peeking out, a hand full of sharp nails grasped the edge of the sheet and pulled it away. Her brunette hair draped to the floor as her face appeared. She smiled, her mouth full of sharp, sharp teeth as she locked eyes with me. "Mine," she whispered hungrily before disappearing back onto the bed.

The message was clear - it was time to move on. I said a brief prayer for the man on the bed. He had far worse things to worry about than me.

Microfiction
19

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

A public figure writing privately

Dark poems and fiction my specialty

Come explore the abyss with me

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    This is so good and an excellent choice for top story. Great stuff.

  • fresh perspective on the classic monster-under-the-bed tale, filled with suspense and intrigue until the very end.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • I am back to congratulate you on your well-deserved Top Story!

  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Loved this! Congrats on Top Story!

  • What a threatening story! I loved it. This is such a unique look at the monster under the bed. Great job! And congrats on the Top Story!

  • Indeed he does. This may be the best take I've yet read, Cat. Reminds me of a joke I once played on my roommate in college.

  • Whoa, that was incredible. What a creative story, and you wrote it masterfully, Catsidhe! I love the way it finishes: "I said a brief prayer for the man on the bed. He had far worse things to worry about than me." Fantastic!

  • Test2 months ago

    Fascinating story

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    This was deliciously intriguing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.