Fiction logo

Babe in the Woods

Mind the Path

By CatsidhePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Babe in the Woods
Photo by Annemarie Schaepman on Unsplash

"It's dangerous in the woods," my grandmother said as I put on my hood, "Be sure to stick to the path so you don't get lost."

"Of course, grandmother," I kissed her cheek as I donned my satchel, "I'll be home before you know it."

The snow was deep and pristinely white. The trees were largely barren and sparkling with icicles. It was perfect weather to spot bright red hawthorn berries.

I skipped down the path merrily. My feet knew it well, every dip and crevice. There was no way I would fall.

There were few berries to be found. I worried we would have nothing to spread on our nightly toast. The last of the butter was long since gone, and there would be no more until the herb garden sprouted, yielding ingredients for poultices, which could be traded for necessary goods.

Suddenly, I tripped on a hidden root that shouldn't be there. Somehow, the path had become strange. I looked around, but nothing seemed familiar.

Ahead of me was the largest hawthorn I'd ever seen, at least 50 feet high, covered in juicy berries. I ran down the path, anxious to pick as many as possible. This would yield enough jam to make it through the long winter.

As I ran toward the tree, the earth beneath the roots spread wide, welcoming me to the underworld. I tried to turn away and saw my body frozen in the snow. Grandmother would have to survive the winter without me.

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

What can I say about myself?

A mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a walking coffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Tragic. I was all ready for this to take a turn with Little Red Riding Hood. But no wolf, only cold. And the cold does not give up its dead.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.