Fiction logo

things aren't as they always seem

dystopian anxiety

By Brione StephensonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Day 1,926. Still no electricity. I have, however, successfully managed to conjure up a solution to the repugnant water crisis. At least you don’t need lights to live. Glass half full approach much? Well, with the sun setting for the day, I’ll take this win for having clean water.

Day 1,958. After everything crumbled, literally crumbled, a few years ago. I searched, mile after mile, for days after I awoke surrounded by dirt, dust and what seemed to be destroyed buildings. There wasn’t a trace of any of my family anywhere. Once a year went by and no one made it to the safe house I decided I would live out my days alone. Try to figure it out as best I could. Shortly thereafter I began to trek the lands and keep a journal to talk to. Get my feelings out. After all, I’m alone. I lost everything and everyone I loved.

Day 1,960. I wish my wildest dream every night, to be able to love you! Yet, I wake up alone in a cold world, manage to meander my way through another pointless, meaningless day to do it again that night. Living the life, right? Just as I prepare to grasp your waist and pull you close, I come to. I often find myself trying to simulate the old days. Thinking about you and how perfect you are. Were? I have these days where I slip into hope. Hope that I’ll trek far enough to stumble across you. Make up for lost time. Prove to myself the hope was worth the wait. Will you ever come back to me? I sleep just to be with you again. Dreams be vivid tonight. Be painfully real, but don’t linger for long. I’ll certainly perish if I don’t stay strong. I have to stay vigilant and alert. I can’t get lost in the thought of you. Ok, enough of the useless wanderment. Back to survival because nothing is normal anymore.

Or so I thought.

Day 1,962. I stumbled upon what seems to have been a hardware store before. At any rate, I’ve found that I don’t have to create electricity. It seems to never have been destroyed. I think it’s best to set roots here, for now.

Day 1,963. Who would’ve known a hardware store to evolve into a home so quickly. I could get comfortable here. Foolish thinking, I know. If there’s one thing I’ve gained from this dreadful experience, never get comfortable.

Day 1,994. It’s been years since I lay eyes on another person. Marilyn Monroe, #44, The Obama’s, Dr. King, X, they all survived the rubble. Whoever left this place, left the things that will you to live. Bitcoin. A complete digital portfolio. First-aid kits. Diamonds. Gold. A heart-shaped locket? This certainly must be too good to be true. I have to be experiencing some grave hallucinations. Am I even awake? Ouch. Ok, I’m awake. Still, though, this is a mine.

Day 1,995. I’ve been twisting this locket between my fingers for hours. What’s in it? Whose is it? Why did they leave it behind? Do they think they’ll ever make it back?

Day 1,999. What’s there to lose? I’m certain there’s something around here for me to open it. Flabbergasted. For a moment I almost couldn’t catch my breath. Anger starts to settle in. A society characterized by human misery, as squalor, oppression and disease. Dystopia. When I thought things couldn’t get any worse. Why does this locket contain a picture of my Mom?

Day 2,000. My mind has never stopped racing since I opened the locket. Whose place was this? Where the hell am I? Did they in fact get out at the last minute? This locket is going to be the death of me. I no longer live to survive daily. I have to find my family. Where to start? Wait. Why is this here? How did it get here? Why now? After I went through the stages of grief. After I figured out how to live post-apocalyptic. This changes everything.

Young Adult

About the Creator

Brione Stephenson

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brione StephensonWritten by Brione Stephenson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.