Fiction logo

The well water at home is so sweet

The well water at home

By Liston FlowersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Mom, you'll look twenty years younger."

"Oh, REALLY old, want to have grandchildren."

"Home tree, home birch, take it!" He took a box of bonbons out of his bag and threw it at us.

"Silly uncle, I like bonbons." Jia Hua said with a smile.

Two silly took a ladle of water from the tank and poured it into his mouth. He drinks like a buffalo.

"The well water at home is so sweet!" He smacked his lips. "The city is full of tall buildings and streets you can't count on your fingers. On two legs, I could go to all the fun places in three days and nights. But if you live in the city, you need money to eat, drink and scatter. Once I went shopping with Changshun after work on a heavy rain day. Even when I went to the toilet and urinated, someone charged me."

"Uncle Silly, what are some interesting places in town?" "The family birch asked.

"Wet markets, shopping malls, night markets... Too many to count."

"Do you still go to town?" I asked.

"I'll go as soon as THE wheat is harvested."

"You can take me to town, too."

"That is no good, you grow up to have the strength to go with me again, follow me to the construction site to carry bricks and mud."

The great Plain was like a gigantic plate of golden wheat fields. With the cuckoo singing, the villagers began to harvest the wheat with sickles in their hands.

That year two men came from out of town. They stopped in the village with a harvester. Wealthy families paid them to harvest wheat. The harvester, like a beast with teeth of iron and brass, rumbled and swallowed every row of wheat into its belly. He pulls out straw and bran from under him, and streams of clean grain from his rear.

"It'll be easier to cut wheat with this guy."

"I estimate that this reaper can harvest more than thirty mu of wheat in a day. He's better than ten men. With it, it seems that the wheat-farm, stone wheel and sickle will be laid off."

"The TV news often talks about scientific farming. I think science and technology are more important than strength. In the future, we can no longer work hard in farming. We must focus on science."

The villagers are watching the harvester in the wheat field.

"My family will use a harvester to harvest wheat this year." Two giggle said.

"You've been in town all these months, and now you're talking like a horse." "Said one villager.

"A month on a construction site can yield more than two acres of land. Cutting wheat in the sun on such a hot day is not very pleasant. It will save you trouble and trouble to spend some money." Two silly said with a grin.

"When are you coming back to town, fool? Now that you mention it, I want to do something in town."

"Just as soon as the wheat is cut. Come with me, and you'll find something to do at the site."

"I don't want to go to a construction site. I want to find a plot of land on the outskirts of the city where I can grow vegetables and sell them every day."

"Well, the vegetables in the city are more expensive than the pork we sell at the market."

"What are you talking about that's so expensive?"

"I've seen garlic ballads, lentils and broccoli cost more than pork at the market."

"You must be bragging that vegetables are more expensive than pork!"

"Believe it or not."

"If you say so, I will go to the city to sell vegetables."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.