Fiction logo

I ate supper with my mother and birch around the table in the silver light.

I ate supper with my mother

By Liston FlowersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I ate supper with my mother and birch around the table in the silver light. There are cartoons on TV. "Mommy, I miss Daddy." Jia Hua sat in front of the table low eyes said. "Don't think of him. Think of him as dead. He has no home at all." "My mother said loudly, holding the rice bowl. "I really miss dad. I dreamed about him last night." "Alas

I ate supper with my mother and birch around the table in the silver light. There are cartoons on TV.

"Mommy, I miss Daddy." Jia Hua sat in front of the table low eyes said.

"Don't think of him. Think of him as dead. He has no home at all." "My mother said loudly, holding the rice bowl.

"I really miss dad. I dreamed about him last night."

"Oh, don't talk about him any more, and eat at once!"

Soon my mother's tailor's shop reopened in the fair.

Luwan market as a whole square. There were seven or eight rows of selling stands on the open ground, with different lengths, including a market for clothes, a market for vegetables and a market for fruits. In the corner was a market for animals, where poultry and livestock such as chickens, ducks, pigs and dogs were traded. Along both sides of the road are high and low houses, forming a short street with hotels, appliance shops, barbershops, furniture shops, shroud wreaths and so on.

My mother's tailor's shop was at the end of the street, with a red sign over the door.

She seemed to have turned her hatred of her father into a love of tailoring. People in the village said that she cut more skillfully than before, even a scrap of material into her hands can be a popular handkerchief. She spends most of her time in the shop mending and making clothes. Sometimes she was too busy to take care of me and her family birch, so she asked Grandma Zhao to take care of us.

When the wheat was ripe, two fools came back from the city. He walked down the village lane with a lumpy sack on his back, and his feet seemed to be treading on clouds.

"Oh, two silly come back, see you happy to walk lightly. You don't know how tired you are carrying so many things." The villagers greeted him and said.

"This bag of mine is full of money. I've got all the money from the city bank in this bag."

"You brag!

"Trains are not pushed and cowhide is not blown. I've seen the world these months in town."

"Why didn't Xue Changshun come back?"

"He is busy building a wall at the construction site. He will come back in a few days."

"Hurry home, xiu Juan at home looking forward to the stars, looking forward to the moon waiting for you."

"How are my mom and Xiujuan?"

"Yes, they are. Xiujuan often walks around the village looking for you."

Jia Hua and I squatted beside the water pressure well to watch Grandma Zhao pickle salted eggs.

Grandma Zhao poured the clay into the clay pot, sprinkled two pieces of salt, ladled a ladle of well water, holding a wooden stick slowly stir, until the water and clay into a uniform and solid mud, then she gently put the round and smooth eggs into the mud, forcing them to take a bath.

"Grandma Zhao, I want to try." She picked up an egg from the bowl and carefully threw it into the pot.

"These eggs are preserved for ten days and become salted. They are delicious when cooked." Grandma Zhao said with a smile.

Xiujuan sat on a bench in the yard staring at several ants crawling on the ground. She often talks to herself, bursts into laughter and tears, and walks barefoot around the village looking for silly people.

Two silly carrying a woven bag walked to the door Shouting: "Mom, I'm back!"

Grandma Zhao quickly put down the egg and stood up, looking back at him grinning from ear to ear.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.