Fiction logo

The Wait

Tuesday morning

By JBazPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - November 2023
31
The Wait
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dialing her number, I press the button and put my phone on speaker. While it rings, I pour myself a coffee and pop down two pieces of rye bread in the toaster, waiting for my daughter to answer.

We talk almost every morning since she left home.

I am startled as a voice on the other end answers and say’s. "Hello, may I ask who I am speaking too?" It didn't sound like Lily.

Taken back I reply. "I am calling for Lily."

A female voice speaks. "This is constable Millan. May I ask who this is?"

Realizing my mistake, I quickly answer. "Sorry, I must have dialed your number by accident."

Before I disconnect, the person on the other end calls out. "No, do not hang up. You have the correct number. As I mentioned earlier, I am Constable Millan, and I am talking on Lily's phone."

Now I am getting confused. "You know Lily, why do you have her phone?"

"Sir, yes we have her phone. I was looking through her contacts when you called."

A long pause proceeds as I am trying to work this out. Taking I deep breath I slowly ask. "Where is Lily?"

"Sir, before I can answer any questions I need you to tell me who you are."

Sitting down at the kitchen table, I stare at my coffee cup, steam rolling off and disappearing into nothing. A clock in the other room ticks away the moments. "I am her father, that should have popped up when the phone rang."

Another pause.

"Sir, my name is Marie, I am a police officer. May I ask you your name."

“Is she under arrest? Don’t tell me she was one of those protesters at the University.” Lily was always jumping into causes before thinking it through.

The voice becomes direct. “Sir, before we continue I need you to confirm your name, please.”

The toaster pops and startles me, I stare in that direction and watch as a tendril of smoke spirals upward.

"Mark...Mark Wallen." My heartbeats faster, but I am unable to say anything else.

"Mark, I am going to ask you a few questions if that is okay?"

"Sure." The smell of burnt toast lingers in the air.

"Can you tell me Lily's birthday."

My mind goes blank for a moment. How come I can’t remember? ..."May 15th."

"And the year, Mark?"

It was Spring, the flowers were starting to bloom. The sun shone so bright that morning, after a long stormy night of rain, wind, and labor. With her birth came the light, 8:10 am.

"2001."

"Thank you Mark, I have a few more questions if..."

Cutting Marie off. "Where is Lily, where is my daughter?"

"Mark, I cannot answer that at this time, can you please give us your address?"

Anger surges forth. "The hell I will, where is my daughter?" I demand.

"Sir, your address please?"

There was something in her voice that makes me realize this isn't a conversation she wishes to have with me, there was empathy. I give her our address.

"Thank you Mark, we are sending a car to your home, they should be there soon."

My mind floods with thoughts, I begin blurting them out. "Is she alright, is Lily hurt, arrested, was she in an accident?"

"Mark, I apologize. I am not at liberty to go into details at this moment."

"Bullshit, let me talk to someone who will tell me something." I yell. "Where is my daughter?"

"Mark, the officers will explain everything when they arrive. “

“Officers? Do I need to call a lawyer?”

Our kitchen over looks our back yard, I glance up when I hear the creak of the screen door and I watch as my wife enters. Smiling, she removes her gardening gloves and tosses them on the table by the door. I stare into her eyes, there is a smudge of dirt on her right cheek from the soil.

Looking at me, I hear her voice from far away. "Good morning dear. I could smell the coffee outside and..." She glances at the phone propped up in front of me. "Is that Lily? Tell her I just planted her namesake.” She calls out “Hey lily pad."

I shake my head. She see's my face and knows right away something is wrong. I don't know what to say, then Maries voice breaks the silence. "Mark, is someone there with you?"

I pull a chair out for my wife to sit. "Yes, my wife, Shannon. Lily's mom.”

Marie introduces herself and goes over the last few moment's of our conversation. Shannon bombards Marie with similar questions that I already asked, and others I should have thought to ask. Our house suddenly seems so small, the walls closer than they were this morning. The ceiling not as high as they once were. I have this urge to leave the room and jump in my car. Go and find my daughter, but fear I’ll miss an important part of the conversation that is now happening between Shannon and Marie.

The answer is right there, yet I cannot make sense of anything.

Glancing over to my wife, tears flow freely down her face, streaking the dirt on her cheek, like smeared mascara. No sound, her eyes stare out the window, I follow her gaze. We see the glow of sunshine upon the newly planted flowers. Bees are already drawn to the pollen. They hover over, then nestle within the soft white petals.

Marie won't tell us anything else and deep down I truly no longer want to know. I stand behind my wife, holding her shoulders. Shannon reaches up and places her hand upon mine. I feel the warmth, in some small way it gives me strength.

Maries voice becomes soft. "The officers tell me they have arrived and are in your driveway. I have to hang up now. I am… so sorry."

Emptiness fills the room, like a heavy blanket in the dark.

In the deep silence, a faint knocking echoes in the distance. I wipe the smudge from Shannon’s cheek and help her rise. Hand in hand we lean against each other and walk to the door.

Thank you,

Jason

LoveShort Story
31

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton3 months ago

    Goodness. It felt as though I was in the room. Bravo.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow this was incredible! Parents worst nightmare.

  • Test6 months ago

    I am so sorry I missed this-I don't know how! Absolutely captivating from beginning to end. I have a knot in the pit of my stomach and am dreading what happened to lilly. Brilliantly written! 🤍

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry6 months ago

    Jason, what a read. I was encapsulated and enthralled in this piece. Masterfully written - well done!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent nightmarish piece that is evocative and sets the scene and emotions of its characters very well! Well done!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    JBaz... this was so heartbreaking and such an engaging read! Your descriptive language and way you narrated the MC's point of view was so encapsulating! I felt like was experiencing this first hand and was all too grateful when the story ended and was allowed to take that step back! It's been a while since I've gotten that lost in a story!! Amazing work and congratulations on Top Story!! I wish this was an entry to a challenge because it would be a winner, it deserves more recognition that a TS!! 💚

  • Test6 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story, well deserved 🙂

  • Andie Emerson6 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! Wow. Like most here, you had me at the edge of my seat. Beautifully written, the downpour of suspense and emotions... an absolute storm derailing my insides.

  • Test6 months ago

    I really love your story 💗. By the way congratulations on 🔝 story 💐

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    This had me hooked from beginning to end. I can only wish the best for Lily and her family. Well done generating emotion, J. And congrats!!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Very detailed story with truly incredible execution! Very scary situation no parent wants to be in.

  • DEUXQANE6 months ago

    Goodness gracious, you had me on the edge of my seat. Without even knowing what happens, I can only imagine this is a parent's worst nightmare. Chances are this is probably what my mom worries about whenever I tell her all the antics I involve myself in.

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    first, congratulations on TS. Now ... wow, just wow, I was riveted to every word. A parent's worst nightmare. The emotion of emitted in every line is brilliant. While I know this is fiction (at least I hope so), it reminds me of a time in early 60s when I saw an Army jeep stop at my friend's house. Eddie was 19 and in Viet Nam. Even after all this time, I can hear the echos of his mother's screams.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Oh my, my heart hurt with every single word. This is the worst thing I can imagine. You wrote this so well that I had tears streaming down my cheeks. Fantastic work, Jason. So happy this is fiction, although I know it is not a fiction piece for some.

  • Tim Boxer6 months ago

    Brilliant but horrible. I have daughters!

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Good grief! Stuff of darkest nightmares!!! Absolutely bawling! 😭😭😭

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    OMG!!! What an incredibly well written piece. I could feel the emotion of the parents. You have come as close as I have ever come to having my heart broken in half by a writer. Congrats on an outstanding Top Story.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fantastically written!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Wow. This is such a heartwrenching tale, leaving us guessing the worst. The ending was perfect, even though my heart wants to know. Very well done, as always.

  • Oooo, I like how you left it open ended. Unless you plan to continue this. Who knows, maybe Lily is dead and that's why Marie didn't wanna tell Mark and Shannon over the phone. Loved your story!

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    The phone call no parent ever wants to receive! I hope you have a part 2 or 5. The details you include make the tension real.

  • D. J. Reddall6 months ago

    The plot is deftly constructed and the characters are sympathetic. Nice work!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Wow, did not see that twist coming ! It felt so real . I am hook

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Jesus, I'm gonna need to recover from this one. I mean, so very well written, but...fucking hell.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.