Fiction logo

The Unending Chase

Short Story of Dream

By Abdul QayyumPublished 24 days ago 7 min read

The Unending Chase

The sound of my possess breath is all I can listen to, each pant for discussion more honed and more frantic than the final. I do not know when the bad dream began, but it feels like I've been running until the end of time. Each night, without falling flat, I discover myself in this unending chase, sought after by a substance I can never see but continuously feel. It's like a dull nearness that sneaks fair past the edge of my vision, a shadow that animates my pulse and fixes my chest with fear.

Today, the scene has changed once more. I'm in a thick woodland, the kind where the trees are so near together that the branches interlace, shaping a canopy that squares out the moonlight. The disc is thick with the fragrance of pine and clammy soil. The ground underneath my feet is uneven, secured in roots and fallen clears out that debilitate to trip me with each step. I do not set out moderately. I can't bear to.

I look over my bear, but there's nothing there—just haziness and the whisper of clears out stirring within the wind. But I know it's there, the thing that chases me. I can feel its noxious nearness, like frosty fingers touching the back of my neck.

I thrust myself harder, my legs burning with the exertion. The trees obscure past me, and my lungs hurt from the cold discussion. I can't halt. In case I halt, it'll capture me. And in case it catches me… I do not know what will happen, but each fiber of my being tells me that it'll be something more regrettable than passing.

All of a sudden, the woodland gives way to a clearing. I burst out from the trees, nearly bumbling as the ground changes from rough forest floor to smooth grass. Within the center of the clearing stands a broken down house, its windows smashed and its dividers secured in inching ivy. It looks like it's been deserted for decades, possibly longer.

I do not have time to think. I surge towards the house, the open entryway calling like a dull throat. Interior, it's pitch dark, but I dive in anyway, slamming the entryway closed behind me. My breath echoes within the silence as I press my back against the entryway, straining to listen to any sign of my follower. The house is frightfully calm, the kind of hush that creates your skin creep.

I bobble within the obscurity, my hands finding the cold, harsh surface of a wooden table. I have to discover a put to stow away, some place it won't discover me. My eyes slowly alter to the dim light sifting through the broken windows, uncovering a limited passage that leads more profound into the house. I crawl forward, each squeak of the floorboards underneath my feet sending a spike of fear through me.

At the conclusion of the corridor, I discover an entryway somewhat unlatched. I push it open to uncover a little room, purge but for an ancient closet. Without delay, I slip into the interior, closing the closet entryways behind me. The haziness here is outright, the air thick and clean. I can listen to my possess pulse, uproarious and resolute within the hush.

Minutes extend into an eternity. My muscles hurt from holding myself still, but I do not set out to move. My intellect races, attempting to make sense of the bad dream, to remember how it began. But each time I think I'm near to an answer, it slips absent like sand through my fingers.

Fair as I begin to unwind, considering perhaps I've misplaced it, I listen to the squeak of a floorboard exterior the wardrobe. My breath catches in my throat, and I nibble down on my lip to keep from making any clamor. It's here. It's found me.

The entryway to the room opens with a moderate, agonizing groan. I can listen to it moving around the room, its nearness a discernible weight within the discussion. I crush my eyes shut, as in case that may some way or another make me imperceptible. The closet entryway rattles somewhat, and I brace myself, anticipating it to be flung open.

But at that point, everything goes noiseless once more. The onerous nearness fades, and I set out to trust that it's gone. I hold up many more minutes, fair to be beyond any doubt, some time recently I gradually thrust open the wardrobe entryway and step out into the room. It's a purge.

I move cautiously to the entryway, looking out into the passage. There's no sign of it. Possibly, fair possibly, I've at last surpassed it. I step into the passage, my steps provisional as I make my way back towards the front door.

But as I reach the entryway, I feel a cold breath on the back of my neck. I whip around, but there's nothing there. The fear surges back, and I fling the entryway open, running out into the clearing once more. The timberland looms ahead, and I dive back into the trees, my heart beating in my chest.

The chase starts once again.

The days are a blur of weariness. I'm scarcely getting any rest, frequented by the bad dream that refuses to discharge its hold on me. Each night, the landscape changes—one night a foggy field, the another a disintegrating city—but the chase is continuously the same. Continuously running, continuously fair a step ahead of anything chases me.

I attempt to discover designs, clues, anything that might offer assistance to get me what's happening. I keep a diary by my bed, scribbling down each detail I can keep in mind as long as I wake up, but it's like trying to piece together an astound with lost pieces. Nothing makes sense.

In my waking hours, I begin investigating dreams and their meanings. I plunge into books on brain research, fables, and the mysterious, frantic for answers. I discover stories of individuals tormented by repeating bad dreams, but none very like mine. The closest I come are stories of shadowy figures and persistent followers, but they feel more like ancient wives' stories than anything concrete.

One evening, as I'm poring over however another book on dream investigation, a title catches my eye:

Dr. Evelyn Carter, a famous master in rest clutter and bad dreams. I discover her contact data and, with nothing cleared out to lose, I reach out to her.

To my shock, she reacts rapidly. We set up an assembly, and a number of days afterward, I discovered myself in her office, relating my encounters. She tunes in eagerness, her expression mindful.

“This substance that chases you,” she says after I wrap up, “it can be an appearance of a deep-seated fear or injury. Bad dreams regularly serve as a way for our subliminal to prepare and go up against uncertain issues.”

“I've considered that,” I answer. “But I can't think of anything in my past that would cause this. And why does the scene alter each night?”

Dr. Carter inclines back in her chair, considering. “Dreams are complex, frequently typical. The changing scenes might speak to diverse angles of your mind or encounters. The substance itself might be a representation for something you're avoiding.”

I gesture, in spite of the fact that it feels like we're no closer to a reply. “So, what do I do?”

“We seem to attempt a number of distinctive approaches,” she recommends. “There are methods for clear imagining, where you end up mindful that you're dreaming and can take control. That might assist you to go up against this substance. Alternatively, we seem to investigate hypnotherapy to reveal any repressed memories that can be activating the nightmare.”

I concur to undertake both. Anything is superior to the perpetual chase.

Clear imaging demonstrates to be a challenge. Each night, as I slip into the dream, the fear and direness of the chase overpower any cognizant thought. I attempt to remind myself that it's fair a dream to require control, but the fear is genuine, as well as quick.

Hypnotherapy, be that as it may, yields more promising results. Dr. Carter guides me into a loose state, and we start to investigate my subliminal. Recollections surface—some unremarkable, others long overlooked. But one memory, in specific, stands out.

I'm eight years old, playing within the woods behind our house. It's a put I've continuously adored, a haven of sorts. But this time, something feels off. The trees appear darker, the shadows longer. I listen to a stirring behind me and turn to see a figure, fair a see some time recently it vanishes into the trees. I'm not sure on the off chance that it's genuine or my creative energy, but a chill runs down my spine. I ran back to the house, not brave enough to see back.

As the memory blurs, I realize that this is often the most punctual occasion of the fear I feel in my bad dreams. Dr. Carter helps me piece it together—perhaps that childhood experience, genuine or envisioned, planted the seed of my repeating bad dream. It's a beginning, but it doesn't clarify everything.

One night, armed with this modern understanding, I choose to attempt something different. As I slip into the dream, finding myself in an overly complex labyrinth of tall supports, I remind myself of the memory of the child I once was. The fear still grasps me, but this time, I center on the figure, attempting to see it clearly.

I turn a corner and there could be a shadowy frame standing at the end of the path. It doesn't move, fair observes. I take a profound breath, driving myself to walk towards it rather than running absent. My heart pounds, but I keep going, step by step.

As I get closer, the figure gets clearer. It's not a creature or a demon. It's… me. A more youthful adaptation of me, eyes wide with fear. I reach out a hand, and the figure mirrors the signal. Our fingers touch, and the shadow breaks up, taking off me standing alone in the maze.

The alleviation is overwhelming. I wake up, panting to discuss, but this time it's not from fear. It's from the weight that's been lifted. The chase is over.

Horror

About the Creator

Abdul Qayyum

I am retired professor of English Language. I am fond of writing articles and short stories . I also wrote books on amazon kdp. My first Language is Urdu and I tried my best to teach my students english language ,

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • shanmuga priya24 days ago

    Your writing has a captivating flow that keeps me engaged from start to finish. Excellent job 👍.

Abdul QayyumWritten by Abdul Qayyum

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.