Fiction logo

The Tale of Doctor Vellichor

(Story for 16th January, Story #16/366.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
20
Image created by me with AI, because I couldn't find what I was looking for on Unsplash

The bell tinkled. For a moment, frigid city air battled with the warm, sweet musty smell of old books. It lost.

The girl struggled through the door with a takeaway cup of hot chocolate in each hand.

"Back again?" The old man twinkled at her, as he might to a daughter. Lean, dignified, white-haired and blue-eyed, he wore spectacles and a grey waistcoat (possibly even while asleep).

"Hi Mr. Vellichor! I can't seem to stay away, can I?" the girl handed him one of the cups. "I just love these places. So much more character than Waterstones!" She cupped her hands round her own drink, and gazed round with a happy nose-wrinkle and a little shoulder-scrunch, as if she were hugging the shop to her.

"I shouldn't let you bring drinks in here, you know," he mock-scolded, settling into his battered leather chair and sipping.

"You really shouldn't," she said, flinty eyes spearing him through a curtain of blue-black hair.

He shook his head. Blinked. Tried to to stand, fell back, and dropped the cup. Alarm fought to stay on his face.

Her steps were light. Her voice too.

"Why do you work in a bookshop, Doctor Vellichor? With a CV like yours?"

"I'm- I'm-"

"You're going to help me, Doctor."

By Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

He came to in a brightly-lit basement. She was hugging her knees, watching him.

"All you need to do," she said, "is help me. Then I'll let you go."

His words sound thick and groggy.

"What d'you want?"

She handed him a picture. "Make him immortal."

"That's im-"

"Don't say it! You can do it. I know you can. My family's wealthy, I can get you anything you need. Help me, and I'll let you go."

He fixed her with a gentle gaze, his voice calmer than it had any right to. "I'm not a scientist anymore."

Her eyes harden.

"If he dies, you die."

He looked at the picture: a dog with chocolate eyes and the beginnings of grey around the muzzle. He sighed. "This is what I'll need..."

++++++++++++

Word count: 366

Submitted EARLY on 15th January at 22.46PM. So, one hour and 14 minutes early. This is my story for 16th, if it matters.

*Author's Note*

Thank you for reading! Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate. If you enjoyed it, the best compliment you can give me is to read another, or share it!

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 16 day streak. I am into week three, with no sign of stopping!

The Pledge: Right, that's it, NO MORE DOG STORIES THIS MONTH. Unless it's, like, a completely irresistible idea, and it's for a Challenge, and the Challenge is closing.

The Prompt: I was first inspired by Rachel Deeming's story, The Strange Wistfulness of Used Bookstores. The word vellichor conjured this gentleman in my head.

Google says:

Vellichor. Definition: the strange wistfulness of used bookstores.

I included an extra little nod and a wink to Rachel's story with a jibe at Waterstones (I do love Waterstones really!)

You know the old trope of a tough, jaded hard-ass (thief, assassin, whatever), coming out of retirement to do one last job? I liked the idea of doing this with this "one last job" thing, but with a neatly-dressed, self-effacing older gentleman.

What sealed this one, was seeing this in my Facebook newsfeed:

You get it right? I get it.

Please leave me a link in the comments if you:

  • are joining me on this story every day adventure
  • write a story with the word vellichor
  • write a story using the above image/idea as a prompt

Short StoryMicrofiction
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    This scientist is quite a character, I enjoyed reading about him.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    I love the set up for this piece. And the little girl’s unheeded warning after he mock-scolds her is on-point. The inspiration for your story falls in the category of ‘you can’t make this stuff up.’ A truly jaw dropping, laugh out loud moment. The mug shots are priceless.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ah yes. I feel her. But she does not feel her dog.

  • Oh man so much to love about this one. The opening line had me, it reminded me exactly of the feeling of entering some place when it’s freezing out. It’s such a unique sensation. And I loved how it ended, I can’t blame her! She had all the right reasons! What a fun twist.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    That was an incredible twist. I’m not saying that I approve of her methods or anything, but…yeah, I kind of get it…

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    Niice! Great twist.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    This was “You” vibes, but also, completely not. Very cool story! I like the mystery of the Dr, like he could have been a magician or alchemist too. Why would he stop unless it was something forbidden? I love reading the author’s notes to see your inspiration. 🤩👏👏👏

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    Oooh you caught me off guard with this one - wholesome, then intense, then wholesome again (sort of). Nicely done!

  • Fantastic story, L.C. You just keep getting better!

  • Hahahahahahhahaha she actually did that? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I can see myself doing that too, lol! Loved your story!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Nice. Thanks for the mention. Glad the word inspired you as it did me. Like the fact that you went somewhere completely different with it. He's going to have to make her immortal too so she can enjoy that dog.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    great story!!!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! I wasn’t expecting that! But I completely understand! Dogs should be immortal! Great story L.C. You have been on fire so far!

  • Leslie Writes4 months ago

    Yeah, I get it. Love my doggo. Dreading his passing one day.

  • I've seen that post too!!! That's awesome and the story that it could become would be fascinating to see unfold!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Considering the reason, can't say that I blame her.

  • Omg I love how you get inspiration from the wildest places! Well done. Great job on your commitment. Keep it up!

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh awesome! And honestly, totally relatable. Everyone wants their puppy to live forever, they are some of the hardest things to say goodbye to. Did I interpret correctly that she poisoned him?

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    Mary Shelley's ghost smiles upon this tale.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.