Fiction logo

The Strange Wistfulness of Used Bookstores

A Story Every Day in 2024 - 15th Jan 15/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
11
The Strange Wistfulness of Used Bookstores
Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

This could be my best title yet but it is not my own work unfortunately.

L.C. Schäfer proposed the idea that she would write a story every day for 2024 and invited other Vocalists/Vocalites along for the ride. And so, here I still am. This is now the beginning of Week Three. I never thought I would get this far.

You can check her out here:

You can check out links to my other stories here:

And here:

Prompt number fifteen:

Write a story inspired by a single word: Vellichor - the beautiful wistfulness of used bookstores. The strange romance evoked by the scent of old books and paper.

***

"I just need to look for a book for my mum for her birthday," Charlotte said as she spotted the sign for "Vellichor Books" and felt strangely drawn to it. "Isn't that an unusual name? Let's go in!"

Her companion that day was her friend, Donnie, a dour Scot whose dry sense of humour always made her laugh hard. "If we must," he said, "and must is what we will find judging by the state of this old place. How far is it to Waterstone's?"

Charlotte laughed and pushed open the door, making the little bell tinkle, announcing her arrival, with Donnie following close behind. He pushed the door to, and they were immediately enveloped in the atmosphere of the place.

Charlotte took a deep breath and inhaled the smell of knowledge wrapped in paper, board and leather and looked around her. Rich, dark wood provided framing to lines and lines of coloured stripes. The lighting was perfect; enough to see the gilt lettering but not enough to be clinical and stark. There was a small table stacked with paperbacks, more modern versions of old classics, and brightly coloured, luridly so. Charlotte supposed that bookstores needed to cater to every market to survive. And she wanted this place to survive more than anything.

She felt instantly calm, like she had been cocooned somewhere where only good intentions reigned. She breathed again and marvelled at the mix of scents: leather, wood, lemon, coffee and carpet, swirling and touching each other in a fusion which spoke of heaven and exoticism and comfort and adventure and craft. Stories were the rulers here, thousands and thousands of them and the essence of them seeped into the air to beguile and tempt.

Moving reverently, she patrolled the shelves, head to one side and her eyes flitted along titles that suggested much: "Cloud Atlas", "Bleak House", Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha", "The Maltese Falcon", "The Divine Comedy", "Ulysses", "American Psycho"...

Some she had read, some were new finds. Her fingers trailed over titles, over different worlds within reach.

Charlotte, imbued with wistfulness, glanced at Donnie who was also surprisingly quiet and whispered in awe, "Far, far better than Waterstone's."

***

363 words

I love Waterstone's (Waterstones?) too, a British bookshop chain, but second hand bookstores have a character all of their own. Maybe because of the life they bring with them? Who knows?

And what a wonderful word vellichor is. Just take it in and let it settle. And then think about what it means and the dictionary definition of it above. Wonderful. Language is mesmeric sometimes, isn't it?

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

15/366

MicrofictionLove
11

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Add a nice mug of chai latte or hot chocolate & I could stay forever.

  • Bookstores are the best things in life! It's like stepping into a whole different realm and I just wanna live there! Such a wonderful story!

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    RD ~ Get all of my used hardbacks via ebay ~ Minus the Yummy Scent. Toldya I have a Corona Touch-Type/with white Correcto Ribbon strung around it for effect. This Displayed-Centered on my Curved Cherished-Cherry wood antique desk willed to me by Mom. A real favorite from visitors in my home. btw; You always seem to pop-out 'special' memories of mine...Including the Scents - Nah - Ok, so I made it about me this time; so sue me. JiBud

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Rachel, this is wonderful. It felt like I was there taking in all the scents you were describing. There is something so appealing in old books. Like secrets. Same with words. When I study the Bible, I have a Hebrew dictionary close by. It is like stepping into another realm.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Stories rule everywhere 😁

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    This is an interesting story that leaves the reader wanting more.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I'm not at work today, and had hatched me a plan involving Waterstones. Sadly family life has hatched me another plan involving Millets and M and S and Sainsbury's, laundry, phone calls and planning. I'm saving Waterstones for a day when it's an indulgence rather than part of a list.

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    I was hooked the moment you exploited the polysemy of "must." Nice work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.