Fiction logo

The Stranger

Written By: Ken Walls Jr.

By Kenneth Walls Jr.Published 3 years ago 5 min read

“Twenty Years, five Months, and six days. That is how long it has been since the world went to hell. I was just shy of thirteen when the first few cases of the Corona Virus made national news. As the death count started to rise, we were forced into our homes. Empty streets were an eerie premonition of things to come. Then came the riots. Anger and hatred flooded the news.

The second wave of deaths blanketed the world. Under a false sense of security following the unveiling of a vaccine the world begun to open up. By the end of 2022 one-third of the population was dead. Which sparked more anger and more fear. We were so busy fighting against our neighbor that we couldn’t see what was really going on.

The earth was dying, But the elites had a plan. The day was August 15th, 2023 when the first shuttle left our atmosphere, all those politicians; those celebrities that we worshiped so much were gone in an instant. For weeks we watched as shuttles left for new horizons. Leaving those of us left behind nothing but questions. The world came to a halt, and eventually, the grid just shut off.

My Name is Ryleigh Foreman Located 50 miles outside of Las Vegas in the Mojave Desert, my tribe moved into the mountains. Endless tunnels carved through stone create our thriving society. I have always been a simple girl, with straight brown hair and my darkened skin nearly matching the landscape. I have become one with my environment.

My only possessions are my walking stick, which I carved out of a Joshua tree, and a bronze heart shape locket that I have had since I can remember. A gift from my father, before he had to leave.

“Ry, it’s Time to go.” Elsie Moore is my roommate but also my best friend. We were both orphaned during the first exodus. We found each other soon after we came to the Mojave caves. Her Red hair shimmered as I exited the cave and made my way to her. Elsie was Irish through and through. Beautiful red hair, green eyes, and a temper to match.

Our first solo expedition; you see, we have been trained as foragers. Our job is to head into the cities of the old world and bring back supplies. Elsie had already mounted her horse. Her Dark purple robe blowing in the wind. I smiled as I hurried to join her.

“Did you enjoy your beauty sleep princess?” Elsie remarked.

“As a matter of fact, I did” I quickly shot back as I mounted my horse. Elsie just rolled her eyes as she pulled the map from the satchel on her horse. And begun plotting our course. I took out a telescope and began surveying the landscape. “I think we should head in that direction.” I motioned towards the east of the mountain as I continued “That way we can completely avoid that sandstorm that looks to be forming.” After carefully planning our route, she circled Las Vegas on the map and placed it back into the satchel.

We walked for what must have been hours. Just as the sun began to kiss the horizon, we decided to make camp. Elsie steadied her bow, as the Jackrabbit crossed her sight. With steady breath, Elsie loosed her arrow.

“Dinner is served.” Elsie crossed the threshold of the hill with the trophy in hand as she drew nearer. My eyes were transfixed as I stuck the stone one last time against the dried grass.

“Ry, your robe is in the fire!” and just like that, I was drawn back to the present moment. I quickly extinguished the flame with the sand. Leaving scorch marks on the hem of my tattered robe. I am not sure when things changed for me. I just knew that they were different.

“What are you looking at silly.” Elsie grinned as she placed the rabbit on a rock and began the cleaning process. Would I ever gain the courage to tell her how I feel? After dinner, we quickly climbed inside our sheepskin blanket and drifted off to sleep. As my head laid on top of her chest, I was lulled to sleep by the sound of her beating heart.

“SHRIEK” I was awoken by the sound of muffled screams. Raiders had invaded our camp as we slept. “let her go!” I demanded as I shuffled to my feet.

“You will regret this.”

Suddenly a stabbing pain shot through the back of my head. As the world began to darken, I caught Elsie’s eyes. A man dressed in an all-black robe and face-covering held her against himself. A tattered black glove shielded her mouth. As everything began to fade a singular tear fell from her blue eyes.

I awoke alone suspended in an iron cage. A ragged man sat slumped in a wooden chair with his feet resting carelessly on the desk.

“Where is Elsie.” I cried.

The guard blinked, then shot his eyes open with the realization that I was awake. As the guard stood up, I realized his stature for the first time. Standing just over seven feet tall he turned his attention to me. “Good morning sleepy head. I didn’t think you would ever wake up. His grin exposing his rotten teeth.

“Where is she.” I demanded again. “Oh, don’t worry about her, the boss had a special job for her.” The guard snarled as he headed out of the room.

“Something is wrong.” I placed my hand on the back of my head. The pain is sharp, almost unbearable. As I bring my hand back into view Blood drips onto the floor. Suddenly I noticed the pool of blood beneath me. And this is where I must leave you. I fear that it is too late for me. Please find my love, save her while there is still time. I must sleep now.”

“FIND HER”

The stranger finished the last page of the journal. A tear streaming down her face. She gazes upon the skeleton and notices a rusty locket around the neck. The chain snaps as she snatches up the locket. With a quick tug, the stranger was able to open the locket.

A rush of memories came flooding back as she stared at two young girls time had forgotten. She removed her hood to reveal her red hair, now tainted with grey. A young girl comes out from behind her robe. And takes hold of the locket.

“Who are they mommy? The young girl asked excitedly.

“Just two young girls in love, and against the world Ry.”

Ellie turned to her friend and softly said.

“I have always loved you. Rest easy my friend.”

Love

About the Creator

Kenneth Walls Jr.

I began writing when I was in 5th grade, as I haphazardly crafted this Sci-fi expedition to mars; I fell in love with world-building. Creating characters that we can all relate to.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kenneth Walls Jr.Written by Kenneth Walls Jr.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.