Fiction logo

The Smith and The Stranger

Behind every strong man is a cunning woman...

By Lilly CooperPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 14 min read
7
The Smith and The Stranger
Photo by Hannah Gibbs on Unsplash

Hello there! So nice of you to stop by.

They tell me you enjoy a good story.

Which is wonderful, because I like to tell stories. And do I have a story for you.

The origin of this Fairy Tale is so old, no one knows where it began.

Now, I know what you are thinking. Fairy Tales are for children! And modern day Fairy Tales are. Before they were Fairy Tales however, these stories were Folk Tales. And these Tales held messages for adults.

So please, take a seat and let me spin you a tale older than any other.

This story begins in a town not so far away, on a day much like this one ....

Raymond had grown up in his father's smithy. The sights, the smells, the warmth. It was all as familiar to him as the little house his family lived in. And the sound. The bell-like ringing of the hammer striking the glowing metal and the anvil. What need had he of nursery rhymes when this was the song his father sang?

His father worked hard, from dawn to dusk and was one of the best blacksmiths in the Provence. He tempered steal perfectly and his pans never cracked. As a Farrier, the horses he put a shoe on never threw one. His reputation was second only to those smiths that could afford better materials. Of course, that meant the Lords with their heavy purses never came to his store. They wanted only the best, bar none.

While his success kept the family well, he never earnt enough to allow him to take more than an afternoon a week away from his work to be with his wife and child.

That was, until the day a stranger arrived and offered to sell the smith a new forge.

'Da, do we have enough money for this?' He tugged at his father's sleeve.

'Ah,' the stranger said, 'but this forge will make you so much more than it costs! And best of all, boy, your father will not need to make payment for quite some time.'

This caught his father's attention. Dismissing the boy and telling him to go home to his mother, he turned to the stranger. 'Tell me more.'

The next morning, there was a new forge in the smithy. One that burned with fire much brighter and hotter than the old one. Everything his father put into the fire turned out as the best quality, even when the original materials were the worst. It did not take long for word of his work to spread and soon he had more business than he could keep up with. The Lords began to demand their commissions take priority over the requests of the townspeople.

To keep both the Gentry and the people accommodated through his shop, Raymond's father apprenticed him, building a second forge for his son to use.

'But Da, wouldn’t it save money and coal if I used your forge? It is big enough.'

'No!' His father immediately regretted his harsh tone. 'No. For your safety, you must never use this forge. No one may use it, but me.'

And so, Raymond learned to work near the heat of the forge, handle molten metal and avoid the worst of the burns under his father's watchful eye.

By the time he himself became a young man he was almost as skilled as his father, though he could never make quality items from poor materials the way the older man could. Which Raymond considered to be unfortunate.

The youngest daughter of a Lord for whom his father had completed a number of commissions, had caught his eye and he had his heart set on asking for her hand. He had saved his income and found the best materials he could. After his work was done for the day, he spent his time creating a betrothal gift for her.

He crafted an intricate brooch of silver set with a beautiful emerald that reminded him of her eyes and an inscription confessing his undying love, pledging all of him and all he possessed to her. How could her father refuse?

On the day he finished his labour for love, he bathed, dressed in his best and gathered a posy of fresh spring flowers.

He should have known it would not go the way he hoped by the amused expression on the faces of the guards at the Lord’s home. And he definitely should have known when the Lord’s Chamberlain wore the same expression. But youth can be one’s own worst enemy. The thought that his love could be rejected never crossed his mind.

He presented the flowers and the gift to the Lord with a grand gesture.

‘My Lord, I have no room in my heart for another. I have come with these gifts to request your youngest daughter’s hand in marriage.’

The Lord took the gifts and examined them. Then, to the dismay of the young man, he cast the gifts to the floor.

‘What is this? A jest? You make a jest at my expense?’

‘No, my Lord! I am serious. I love your daughter with all my heart. I will give her everything, this I swear!’

The girl stood to the back of her father’s chair and placed her hands on her heart, smiling gently at him. Her smile ran away like water when her father gave his reply.

‘Then you are even more of a fool than I thought. You. Are not. Good enough. For. MY. Daughter! A smith! Marry MY daughter! And a SILVER betrothal gift? What were you thinking? I have never been more insulted!’

Raymond risked a look at the daughter’s face. A tear slid down her cheek as she watched him. He may very well have left the house sad and dejected, harried by the laughter of the Lord and his men, had it not been for that tear telling him with more certainty than words that she loved him back.

His walk home gave him time to think, to plan. He would dedicate every spare moment to earning the money it would take to win over the girl’s father. He would work in his father's smithy and then find employ with other tradesmen of the town in his spare time. He would find the money somewhere, somehow!

His father’s voice broke through his thoughts, coming from the open window when he reached home. ‘When I’m gone- ‘

‘I won’t have that talk in my house! What is wrong with you? You are healthy and fit! You talk like you will die tomorrow!’

‘My Love, you will hear it, whether you want to or not. Because you must. It is important.’ When his wife did not argue, the blacksmith continued. ‘With all I have gained in the last ten years, when I pass to whatever waits after this life, you and our son will have everything you need for the rest of your lives. Raymond will inherit the smithy. He will do well with it. But the man who sold me the forge will be back to collect it.’

‘Why? Haven’t we paid for it? It is the best one. Raymond will need it.’

‘Raymond is never to use it. It was loaned to me; it is not really mine. And the man will collect it after I’m gone. And the price is too steep for Raymond. End of discussion.’

The strange conversation was forgotten the next day when the blacksmith collapsed at his forge and could not be roused.

Following his father's funeral, Raymond sought the comfort and solace of the smithy where so many memories of his father had been made. It was not until the stranger stepped through the door that he remembered his father’s words about the forge.

‘You are here for the forge?’ Raymond asked.

‘Yes. It’s time for me to collect.’ The stranger eyed the strapping young man with interest. ‘I remember you. The young boy tugging on his father’s sleeve the day we made our deal.’

‘I remember. May I ask, what is the price my father paid? I have inherited his Smithy, but without this forge, I do not believe I will enjoy the same success.’

‘But you have skills, you will enjoy success regardless of the forge you use. And you would have inheritance from your father. It would be enough to keep a roof over your head and food on your table. What need have you of such success?’

He considered telling the stranger to mind his own business. But the allure of what he wanted was too strong and he feared a brusque response would cost him an opportunity. ‘The Lord’s youngest daughter... I would do anything....’

‘Ah, I see. Say no more. Be warned; the price is high. And will be higher than for your father before you.’

‘What do you mean?’

‘Your father’s terms were for ten years. I cannot offer you the same. Five is the best I can do. Five years of success, fortune and fame. No doubt, long enough to gain favour with the girl’s father.’

Raymond sensed something in his tone. ‘What is the cost?’

‘To the point. A man after my own heart. It will cost you your soul.’

He blinked at the stranger. ‘My soul? You will take my soul for five years of using the forge?!’

The stranger spread his hands. ‘I’m afraid I cannot let it go for longer than that. Five years with the woman of your dreams.... you said you would do anything. Well, I would think it worth your soul... Perhaps like so many other boys, you spout pretty words when it comes to declaring yourself, but they are empty when it is time to act...’ He quirked his lips and threw his hands up in a shrug.

‘No, wait. Fine. It is a deal. My soul for five years.’ Raymond held out his hand to the stranger.

A smile spread across his face and he took the young man’s hand. ‘Deal. So wonderful doing business with you.’

He wasted no time in putting the forge to use and was delighted when even the worst materials were able to create quality products.

But it would not be enough. He needed more and he needed it quickly, before the girl’s father found another suitor for her.

If only I could smelt rock and turn it to gold with this forge! He thought while working on a sword commissioned by a local man.

To his immense surprise and delight, when he withdrew the steel, it had miraculously changed to gold!

With that, he shut up his father’s shop and made as much gold as he could carry.

Within days, he had produced enough wealth to buy a home worthy of a rich Lord and the title to go with it.

His love’s father could not refuse him when he returned with chests of gold and jewels, seeking her hand in marriage. The young couple were married before the week was out.

Soon after their wedding, they were blessed with children. Life was wonderful for all around them. The smith (for he never really considered himself a Lord) and his Lady were generous and kind to all around them. Raymond’s mother came to live at the manor with them and lived for her grandchildren. They gave her a reason to smile after the loss of her husband.

Through all the joy in his life, a shadow followed Raymond as he counted the days marching towards the deal deadline.

One evening in the last year, he struggled with melancholy. Noticing his dark mood, his wife sat with him and asked what was occupying his mind.

Not wanting to hold back any more or cause his Lady wife the same hurt his mother had suffered, he told her the story of the stranger and the deal.

‘Hm, only the fires of Hell could give the forge such power. I suppose I should be angry you did not tell me sooner. Though you loved me so much you promised your soul to the Devil, for that is what the stranger must be, for just five years together. And we would never have had this time if it were not for the deal you made.’ She tapped her finger to her lips, deep in thought.

‘I am so very sorry my Love, I should have told you sooner.’

She shook her head. ‘I understand. Now that I know, I have some questions. When did you make this deal?’

‘On the day we buried my father.’

‘I see. And the forge makes anything you want it to?’

He nodded. ‘Anything I set my mind to. Why do you ask?’

‘The Devil may be cunning, dearest one, but even he makes mistakes.’

With a smile even more cunning than the Devil’s, the Lady began to plot with her husband.

By Andy Kelly on Unsplash

On the day the five years was spent, Raymond dressed plainly and stood outside his smithy on the grounds of his manor.

‘You moved the forge?’ The stranger asked as he approached.

‘Yes, Sir. It was necessary. I needed to have it closer to my home.’ The nervousness he felt made it easier to feign looking sad and remorseful.

‘That was smart.’ The Stranger looked around his home. ‘It appears you used my forge far more effectively than your father did.’

‘The years since our deal have been wonderful. I have made the most of my time with my family.’

‘Very well. You seem to be ready, so let’s complete the terms of our deal.’

Raymond took one last look around as if saying goodbye and nodded once. ‘Please, let’s go into the smithy. I don’t want my children to see me... leave. The way I saw mine.’

The Stranger thought for a moment and nodded. ‘Very well, I’m nothing if not reasonable.’

Raymond opened the door and gestured for the Devil lead the way, inclining his head.

As soon as he crossed the threshold, the smith slammed the door shut and snapped a special lock on the outside.

A screech split the air as the Devil realised he had been tricked!

‘You owe me your soul!’

He shook his head. ‘Only as of this day. That was when the payment of my soul was due. However, I promised my soul to my Lady wife long before I married her, when I first asked for her hand in marriage.’ He held up the brooch he had first offered as a betrothal present that the young girl had picked up before her father could dispose of it. The beautifully etched inscription clearly pledged all of him and all he had, to her. ‘And if my soul is not part of me or belonging to me, I cannot promise it to anyone. Agreed?’

The Devil sighed in frustration. ‘Agreed.’

‘It was mine to give and I gave it to her. I could no longer promise my soul to another. And she had the foresight to keep it in writing. I cannot give you something I do not possess.’

Furious, the Devil hung his head. ‘You have beaten me at my own game! Fine. You are released from the terms of our deal. Now, let me out of this cage! I can do no more harm to you!’

‘I think not, Sir. You are crafty and that forge is dangerous. I think you can remain here where you can do no harm to anyone, at least until my Lady and I are gone and revenge is out of reach. The cage is forged from metal that will hold you as long as we live. You will not be making any more deals in my lifetime.’

Thanks to the quick thinking of his beautiful wife, Raymond lived a long and happy life with his family.

The cage held the Devil for a long time. But it could not hold him forever.

By the time an unsuspecting fool to let him out, Raymond and his wife were long gone. The thought of taking revenge on their descendants bought him no satisfaction and he left them in peace.

He did learn from his mistakes, however. The Devil’s forge was never seen again, lest it be used against him. That does not mean his bag of tricks was empty.

So, dear listener, the next time someone offers you something too good to be true or a solution to your desperate situation that is just a little too perfect, ask yourself this:

Are you smart enough to out-wit the Devil?

By petr sidorov on Unsplash

The Blacksmith and The Devil is arguably the oldest known fairy tale, the oldest version being traced back to over 6000 years ago (according to The National Geographic). There are many, many different versions of the cautionary tale which has been told and retold countless times over the millennia. All of which feature a Blacksmith and interactions with the Devil.

I hope you have enjoyed my retelling of this ancient tale.

Short StoryLoveHistoricalFable
7

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I loved this! You've nailed that old storytelling voice perfectly. I chose this one to read because I had a strong feeling it would be a "if it sounds too good to be true..." message 😁

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    I so love these old types of stories, written from a time different from ours. Read mine as well. https://vocal.media/fiction/an-audition-and-a-new-friend

  • Excellent take on the challenge, and thank you for including the references. Also some striking image. Great work

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    Great story. I expecially love how you introduced and closed it. Feels like storytime to read. ❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is great, Lilly. Well done.

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Awesome! I love your story (just FYI - "Ferrier" should be "Farrier") - I know this because I pay much $$ to mine . ... ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.