Fiction logo

The Slayer Chronicles 2

Sir Edward Dalyngrigge

By J. S. WadePublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
9
Freepik Image Gen

This is part two of the Slayer Chronicles. Read Part One.

Journal Entry - September 15, 2023

I lied when I said I didn't shed a tear. Though I had known for a year or more that my beautiful, intelligent, and sexy wife's life had been consumed by Jamison, the love required to destroy the remaining shell was beyond the pale.

We had met in London. I had attended an international business conference while she finalized her doctoral thesis at Cambridge in anthropology. Our paths intersected on a tour of the Bodiam Castle. I was the tourist; she was the guide. The three-hour tour morphed into a four-hour dinner that became a five-year marriage. Unorthodox would define our relationship from the glorious beginning until its brutal end. I managed a billion-dollar legacy trust for my family, which I will not name; she chased a groundbreaking theory that the undead existed in every community. A letter she had discovered hidden in the archives of Cambridge had transformed her life, figuratively and literally. The writer was Sir Edward Dalyngrigge, a 14th-century celebrated knight of Richard II and, as the Ward of London, a slayer of the undead. The letter led to Lara's controversial anthropological success and transformation into the living dead.

I will never hold my vibrant, beautiful, and exotic wife again, for Jamison stole our life from us. Wiping the last tears from my eyes, I rechecked my weapons for the showdown that would surely come when the sun sunk below the horizon. Sir Edwards's confession and guide, buried in the basement archives, an embarrassment to the 14th-century royal family, had become my manifesto of war.

I doused my head with olive oil abhorrent to the undead as a rotten corpse to the living. I checked the tension on the Crossbow with its cedar arrows. The wooden shafts would not destroy the undead but would maim and weaken them long enough to entrap them. I tested the salinity of the swimming pool as salt water neutralized their ability to transform into various forms to escape. The gold chains gleamed in the late afternoon sunlight. The undead coveted gold. Its consumption reformed decayed tissue and maintained the appearance of youth. Externally, its purity restrained and bound them. The bear trap of silver resisted the undead's supernatural strength, and its jaws, once snapped closed, could not be broken. Last, I reviewed the weather report, disclosing clear skies tomorrow as the sun was my greatest weapon and executioner. I murmured words of thanks to Sir Edward, who had died imprisoned in an asylum, for his guide of wisdom.

Red streaks blazed across the sky as if the clouds were on fire as the sun's orb dipped past the horizon. I waited as shadows gathered and joined together to become nightfall. I sensed his morbid presence before I saw him. A tinge of fear pricked my heart, but justifiable hate pushed it aside as Jamison, the shaved head, black-eyed adonis and Charleston's Chief of Police, stood across the dark pool waters. Bats circled and squeaked above me with a fervency of hunger.

"Where is Lara, Jon? What have you done with my wife, my Queen?" he snarled. “What is that stench?”

***

SeriesMicrofictionHorror
9

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    And the plot thickens!! I love the world you have created and are bringing us into!! I am so excited to come along for the ride!

  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    It gets really good and then it ends, I am moving on to the third section

  • Omgggg Jamison is also the Chief of Police! What a twist! Waiting for the next part!

  • Excellent second part. A little backstory, a little more depth to the current situation, all told in such a way as to keep us thirsting for more. One thought on your second to last paragraph: In the first sentence, "Red skies blazed across the sky...," do you want to use "sky" twice so close together? My first thought substituting for one or the other was "firmament" (being a pastor & all), though that feels a little stilted to me.

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Nice ending for this part, great line.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is great. Bring on the next chapter.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Bite size horrific microfiction!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Outstanding. This is classic J.S. Wade. Excellent attention to detail and great dialog.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.