Fiction logo

The Review

A Story Every Day in 2024 March 25th 85/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished about a month ago 2 min read
12
The Review
Photo by Juan Carlos Trujillo on Unsplash

Lance was going to confront her. Moments like these presented themselves so rarely that he knew he had to take advantage of it. He'd been longing to confront his critic ever since the review of his book had appeared. And now, here she was, the reviewer herself, at his local bookshop, hosting an evening to promote her own book! What was worse, it was having more success than his.

The indignity!

Lance wasn't usually jealous but there was something about this that really rankled him and there was no getting past it. His therapist had said that he needed to confront his demons in order to get beyond them and she was a living devilish embodiment of everything that was holding him back. His sales had never been great but after her one-star review, they had halted pretty much immediately.

He'd seen her name on a poster. She looked a little different up close but it was her. He'd stared her down so many times on social media, daring himself to troll her in the comments but he'd always chickened out.

He went to the book reading, there early so that he could sit where he wanted. Not front row but somewhere where he could glare. She read beautifully, he had to admit, much to his chagrin, and seemed very nice. He suppressed these feelings of good will, trying to keep his anger alight.

When he went up to her, it was with a copy of his own book. She's bound to say something at such temerity, he thought, but she took it, signed it and passed it back to him with a smile.

Flummoxed, he went to say something but a white-haired dame intervened, thrusting her book at its author and gushing, "I loved it! So thrilling!" and the moment was lost.

Deflated and defeated, he left.

On the way home, he passed the poster again. He had a Sharpie from the signing.

Gleefully, he drew a flamboyant moustache on the features of his nemesis.

Have that! he thought. Balance restored.

He stepped back to admire his artistry and the universe rewarded his rebellion with his foot landing in a very smelly dog turd.

***

365 words

Not a lot of content here but I do think about the people behind the books I review and I've ventured into a little bit of fantasy too, a projection of myself and my aspirations into my own story. And I'd like to think that if someone did draw a moustache on a poster of me, I would look as surreal and magnificent as Dali, hence the photo.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love interacting with my readers. Unless your bots.

85/366

MicrofictionShort Story
12

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Feeling pretty pleased with myself that I recognised Dali there. I'm so cultured 😅 I wonder about the people behind my reviews, too, and the people who leave nasty ones. I don't think I ever have, it's a bit of a weird thing to do I think. Also, Ewwwww!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Gotta love the universe!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Ewww, dog poop 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I do feel sorry for him though. He should have asked her what made her give him only one star and how does she think he could improve. Loved your story!

  • So far, I don't recall seeing you give anything lower than 3 Rachel Deems to anything, but I do believe you could pull off a moustache quite nicely, lol.

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Ha! Karma was swift here! I’d like to think I’d take a photo of my poster with the moustache, beard and dodgy glasses and make it my profile pic! Great story!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    This is great, Rachel! You say not a lot of content here, but the character development is excellent and the crafting of the scene is top notch. I absolutely loved that he gave her a copy of his own book and she remained completely unfazed! She may have written a bad review, but I think it's safe to say Lance was the maker of his own misery!

  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    A one-star review! For that she should have got a beard and monobrow, too. XD

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Balance restored? Newton's 3rd law prevails! Fun story, Rachel.

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    I’m with Hannah on this one. Another slice of life with a laugh out loud finish! Loved it and loved the photo of Dali!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I'd like to think she takes that poster home and hangs it.

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    It is impossible to avoid sympathizing with Lance, for petty resentment is as irresistible as it is regrettable. You have become a virtuoso in the realm of the tightly compressed but fully realized narrative!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    The indignity of this story to be so well written! Genius work! Loved it’! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.