Fiction logo

The Path

A flashku

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
10
Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat - creativeramblings.com

The Path

A never-ending landscape of clouds.

When was the last time she had seen the Milky Way?

Waves after waves of loneliness…

Screams after screams echoing in the breeze

…And nowhere to lie or rest.

Before collapsing, she noticed a shape to her left. Then, there was a hand.

The hand was strong but gentle. It seemed used to carrying others.

Hours later, her eyes opened to daffodils in a vase.

“Sister! Sister!”

A jump on the bed. Three pairs of arms. An embrace that finally felt like home.

In that instant, the bombs no longer existed.

---

©2022 Cendrine Marrouat

---

Flashku inspired by William Wordsworth’s I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud.

---

I wrote this piece as part of my mini-exhibit called "Tipping Point: A mini-exhibit and conversation on war". Below is the introduction to the project.

Every time a conflict erupts anywhere, I worry. I worry about civilians, especially children, because they do not deserve to be caught between warring factions. So, I often write about it, and then share with specific people in my circles.

I have spent hours talking about the Ukraine with friends. The events have weighed heavily on my mind.

I stand in support of the people of the Ukraine and all the people around the world who have had to experience senseless or genocidal violence.

As an artist, I believe in using my voice to trigger important conversations. That is why I have created Tipping Point. It is my hope that the words and images in this mini-exhibit will inspire you to do your part, no matter where you are, to ensure that the world becomes a better place.

I hope you will consider visiting the mini-exhibit and participating. I would love to add your contribution to the page! Feel free to contact me at [email protected] with your poem, short story, essay, or photo.

About the Flashku

A Flashku is a form of flash fiction that I created in 2021. It borrows from the Sixku, Kindku, and Haiku.

I like calling the Flashku "poetic flash fiction". 😉

Rules:

  • 50-100 words
  • 7 words must be taken from another piece (credits mandatory)
  • Inspired by an image (permission and credits mandatory)
  • Minimal descriptions
  • Climax at about 80% through the piece (not a hard rule, just a way to guide your writing)
  • Positive / inspirational twist or resolution at the end

Another example of flashku:

My Other Forms (And a Few Thoughts...)

As you may know, I am the creator of several poetry forms and a type of digital image. Check out the links below.

As an artist, I love challenging myself. I do it every single day. It keeps me grounded and on my toes. And, I will be honest, it is a LOT of fun.

Trust me on this. When you challenge yourself (and avoid comparing your work and style to others'), you build a healthy level of self-confidence that allows you to achieve pretty much anything you want.

So, do not be scared of trying something new every day. Do not listen to the negative voice in your head that tells you that you are not good enough.

If you want to be a writer, just do it—like Nike. 😆

---

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

----------

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

Short StoryMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    This is beautifully written. Well done

  • This was like reading a warm Hug 🤗 ❤️😉📝💯Great Story❗💚💛🧡

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    One of the best things we can do as writers is step out of our comfort zones and I love that you did that and found something fantastic in the form of your own named poetry style ❤️

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Sooo beautiful! So wonderfully penned!! :)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is simply beautiful. Very well done.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Beautiful and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Excellent work Cendrine. There is such depth, emotion, and hope in your words. Each word and each line is crafted with care and beauty!

  • Damn, I was going to say it was outstanding but Gerald beat me to it. I love the bold emphasis on important words and see the flow from your inspiration > Absolutely excellent

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is outstanding work. It's uncanny but as I was reading it, I found myself thinking about Ukraine.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.