Fiction logo

The Mystery of the Orbs

Here One Minute and Gone the Next

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
The Mystery of the Orbs
Photo by Juan Sisinni on Unsplash

I am walking down the hall when I see a faint light ahead. Did I leave a light on in my bedroom? I must have. Here I am and there is no light on, so where is the light coming from? As I look around it gets lighter and I still don’t see where the light is coming from. What is going on I say out loud. Behind me, my girlfriend is just now coming into the room and she says, “The lights are above you”. As I look up I can see what she is talking about. Small orb like lights are above us and are lighting up the room, and just like that they are gone again. “Did you see that?” I ask no one in particular.

I decide to see a traditional healer and talk with her about what just happened at my house. I think that my other choices are to have my house blessed or to bring in an exorcist. Okay, nothing so dramatic, but maybe a medicine man or woman. But how do I explain this, or do I have to explain anything? I called for help and there it was right? I can’t see how that kind of help is what I need however. I was sending energy healing out for all the people in my life that are being affected by the pandemic. I was giving myself and Stephanie some Reiki. I just tested positive myself. I thought I didn’t need a vaccine. I would save it for those that needed it. After all, it makes you sterile, right?

Okay, so I really don’t believe it makes you sterile or I might go get it for that reason! Why would I want little rug rats running around, extra mouths to feed and care for until they are eighteen years old again. Stephanie has the delta variant too and wasn’t vaccinated. I admit it, we are both scared. So far our symptoms are fever, no taste and no smell. I wonder if we can still get the vaccine. Probably not, but what about the antibody thing. I heard that was being saved for old people. We will be okay. I know we will.

I work out almost every day and we run. We just ran in a 5K. We have the bodies of athletes right? Well, I may be a few pounds overweight. I do have a bit of a beer gut. Still, all in all, looking pretty good for a 40 something. I think my mom said some 30 somethings just died from covid. I asked if they had pre-existing conditions that made it more difficult for them to fight. She didn’t think so, but they didn’t have the vaccine she pointed out. "Right mom, and neither do we," I said in a not so nice way.

She has been trying to push the vaccine on me and Stephanie since the beginning of this whole pandemic thing. I don't think so, as I believe if my time is up, then it is up. My mom stays away from us as she said, if she got the variant and passed it on to me or Stephanie and we died, then she couldn't live with herself. She wears a mask around us when we do see her and she does the whole social distance thing. It has to be so difficult living that way.

I made an appointment with a woman that my mom suggested. My mom said that she won't tell you anything more than I can. I ask my mother to tell me then as I make plans to call the healer on Zoom or Team as she suggested. Mom then says that the reiki she taught me is a ceremony, much in the same way as our people's ceremony. If we went that way, then we would get some of the things that our people are given in ceremony. My mom said that she was given her colors, and a spirit helper through reiki. She said when you ask when doing reiki, you get what you ask for. She said the orbs were a sign of the help I asked for. She then admitted, that she didn't know how that would work.

As the days turned into evening and at first we felt worse and then finally we were better. I would go outside to breath at times, believing it was just a matter of time before I would have to go to the hospital. This thing was kicking my ass. Stephanie and I took turns being more sick. I am getting the vaccine when this is all over, just as soon as I can. And my mom was right, the woman told me things similar to what my mom said. I learned a few other things too. Really she just normalized my experience with the orbs and with some other experiences I had never mentioned to anyone else before. I guess I'm pretty normal after all, for someone born into the Anishinabe family, that is a reiki practitioner.

Mystery
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.