Fiction logo

Shopping On-Line

Can Get a Person in Trouble

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Shopping On-Line
Photo by Pickawood on Unsplash

I never, ever thought I would be shopping online again. But, there I was, maybe a little too much shopping on-line and loving it! What else is there to do during a pandemic, I ask? Well, I did love it, until someone out there took over my life. I used to shop at Sears and Penny's, ordering over the phone by catalogue. Yes, it was the days when there were still outhouses and people would use the catalogue for toilet paper. Well, I wasn't, but some were. I grew up as a city girl. No outhouse, until I visited the country relatives. Imagine, there was even a two seater. Who would do that? But it was done all of the time.

Now back to having my life taken over. I was warned, wasn't I. More than once. I was told, hackers and scammers are picking on old people and that happens to be me right now. My husband has had his credit card used for purchasing workout equipment in other states. Then when he got his phone transferred, the tech took one thousand dollars out of his account. Like he wouldn't miss that. What was he thinking? The money was transferred from my husbands account right into the phone technicians account. Well, like I always say, Dumb Criminals get caught. So how is this person or person's going to get caught. So far there is no sign of them. They have hidden their crime well.

All my accounts are frozen right now, which makes it difficult for me. They have opened other accounts in my name and those are just beginning to find me. Thankfully, there are things in place to protect me from crime done to me without my permission. And this is definitely without my permission. Saying they have taken over my life may be a bit of an exaggeration but not much. I can't just go anywhere without cash. I can't shop online right now. I have to mail out all of my bills and hope that my checks will be accepted by my bank. I have a bank card and most places are suspect of my using it as it declines much of the time. I am looked at like I am a criminal, or someone who has no money. Some people offer to buy my few things as they are feeling sorry for me.

The investigators think this happened from shopping on-line. How is that possible with all the safety measures in place now days. I am not sure, but don't us old people have enough problems without this? And then I wasn't thinking and had ordered online with my new card and it happened all over again. The same damn thing. I was told it would be okay to do that but I thought I would wait until the criminals were caught. So again, not my fault and not my expense. If they catch the people involved, do they ever get their money back? I'm sure the banks have insurance for just such a thing. But how do I ever trust shopping online again? Should I take my money out of the bank and put it in my mattress? Should I get money orders for purchases? Maybe I would be better off without bank or credit cards?

I went to the bank to have a discussion with the bank president. I wanted him to tell me it will be okay at some point and while I was in with the president, a teller comes in and lets the president know that the bank is being held up and that the robber is asking for him. Oh my God. What next is going to happen to this poor bank? And me? Then I think, am I okay in here. Will we all be killed. What is the bank president going to do. I just then notice he is bent over and grabbing his heart! And at the same time pushing a button that is under his desk.

The bank robber hollers then to have the teller come out of there and when she does she tells the robber that the bank president needs an ambulance as he is having a heart attack. Just that quick, the bank robber is out of there and the bank president is standing and in another minute the police arrive and I realize I can breath again. Well, maybe I should just trust that the bank knows what they are doing and that my money will be safe right here. When I am given permission to leave the bank, I feel like I may have to visit urgent care as I'm not feeling well all of a sudden.

When I get to urgent care, I'm told to go to the ER and check in as I may be having a heart attack. When I check in, I am taken into the nurses station and then after a short visit, taken into a room to be hooked up to a heart monitor. Am I having a heart attack? No, it can't be. What I just experienced was pretty stressful the nurse said. There were five people in the room with me and that is stressful too as something must be terribly wrong I thought. My husband and daughter were notified and were on their way to the hospital. Blood was taken. The monitors were all on and beeping from time to time. Because I had fallen not too long ago, an alarm was set and I was told to not get up without assistance. I must be dying I thought.

No. I am not having a heart attack but my vitals aren't where they should be. I will be staying until I can get stabilized. They are going to give me something in an IV that should help. Good drugs I hope. When my husband and daughter get there they are scared and I can tell in their eyes they are worried. I think to myself, all of this just because I like to shop on-line!! I don't think it is worth all of this, do you?

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.