Fiction logo

No Way Out

What do I do?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
No Way Out
Photo by MAX LIBERTINE on Unsplash

I went to go check out a gravel pit by my house that I thought maybe I might swim in. It was gravel all around and it had water in it but there really was no easy way in and more importantly, no way out. Just as I went to turn around to leave, I could hear a slight whimpering. I couldn't see anything so I moved closer and right below me I could see that it was a small dog trapped in the water pit with no way out. As I reached in I could just barely touch his coat with my finger tips and I wasn't even close to being able to grab him. I couldn't think of anything I may have in my bike, or anything close by that would help me to get him out and I could tell by the noise he was making that he really didn't have much time left.

As I was stretching to reach him for one more try before going for help, he leaped out of the water, grabbed at me and now we were both in the water with no way out. What to do? I thought I could maybe find a spot where the rocks were closer to land or maybe rocks I could climb out on. I could find no rocks to climb out on. Most areas were steep cliff like rock and slick to the touch. After finding the closest to land, I reached up with the pup and walla, he was out! Now what? He stood and barked at me like he was saying, come on, your turn, get out of there. I was stuck with no visible way out. Then I thought, what if I take my shirt off and try to lasso something up there and pull myself up? It was a thought although looking around I couldn't see anything to do that with.

Then I noticed the pup wasn't there anymore. Would he know enough to run for help? Would he be able to bring help back? Where would he go? I am not a strong swimmer and I'm not sure for how long I can tread water. Then I remembered saying that I thought I could float on my back forever when I was a kid! Can I still float? Yes, it appears I can still float. Forever is a long time though. Who knows I was coming here? Will anyone look for me? Probably not before dark anyway. My bike is down the hill. Someone will find me. And maybe the pup will bring attention to me. After all, I saved his life right? Oh, who is going to understand what the pup is barking, or trying to say?

Just then a fog starts drifting in. How long have I been here? I didn't think it was that long. Wouldn't you know it I say out loud! I need to talk down here, so if someone is nearby they may hear me. You know how sound will travel by water? Great idea. Maybe I can sing? Well, probably shouldn't waste my breath, as it helps me to float right? As the fog was totally covering me and I could see that it was starting to get dark, I realized that hypothermia is also a possibility here in the position I am in. Now what?

Just as I was beginning to give up, I hear the pup barking nearby. Then I hear, "Wait up. Where are we going?" And then a "Be careful, as there is water right there with no guard rail, and with the fog you could end up in there pretty easily" Thank God I said. I should trust that my prayers would be answered. The 3 of them were able to pull me out and it turns out the pup had run away, got lost and when the couple found him, he insisted they follow him back to where I was and he had been. I met my new neighbors that day and I have not gone swimming alone since then.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.