Fiction logo

The Murderous Yorkshire Pudding

A Story Every Day in 2024 April 4th 95/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 30 days ago 2 min read
7
The Murderous Yorkshire Pudding
Photo by No Revisions on Unsplash

The thing about being a baked item is no-one expects you to have any feelings about anything because you are not sentient. You are created to be devoured. A little piece of chemistry, heated and served.

But what if this wasn't the case? What if the egg that made you had remnants of life, remnants of recognition that it almost, almost got to be a walking, clucking version of itself but it was thwarted in that? What if this memory spurred it into a flurry of bad feeling and intent, that actually made it mad? What if the egg became conscious in its new form, assisted by the crushed derm of the wheat grain and the stolen creaminess of the cow/goat/sheep/oat into becoming something more? What if the heat of the oven warmed the rage of its being transformed from its natural state, into a golden pudding to be smothered in gravy and served with roast beef, maybe some roast potatoes, some cauliflower cheese, some sprouts. Definitely peas. Carrots?

What if the alchemy that heat brings, taking rawness and liquid and with some sizzling fat and a hot pan, brings that batter to rise and grow and expand and harden into something that not only looks magnificent but is malevolent, a force for evil and retaliation, a killer?

You think this is unlikely, but this is my tale.

Puddings kill.

I was the one left over; the one too much. They should have served me up and eaten me, the fools. I was radiating enmity as soon as I was battered and once the oven embraced me in its intense hold, I was expanding into my most heinous form. I am no longer a food item - I am a brutal killer.

I wait for the fork to prick but I am left, disregarded. And so, I plot.

The night arrives and I creep from my place in the fridge.

I feel less hot now I've been made to chill out but it's a pudding-eat-pudding world.

And so I strike! Using my considerable girth from my creator's dutiful recipe following to smother the nose and mouth of my victim with golden loveliness.

Beware the murderous pudding!

***

366 words

You have D.J. Reddall to thank for this, another one of us Vocal writers who is embarking on the mission to write something every day in 2024:

A random comment, a seed is sown, a story produced.

I know, it's bonkers but I quite enjoyed writing it all the same. I mean, what if your food did turn on you?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do leave a comment as I love interacting with my readers!

95/366

thrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHumorHorrorFableCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard28 days ago

    Very creative! I like how the various stages of the baking process imbued the pudding with its homicidal properties

  • TheSpinstress29 days ago

    This is hilarious, I absolutely laughed out loud at "And so, I plot." I've always thought of Yorkshire puddings as so bland and basic - the opposite of a threat. Not that I've ever considered anything with pudding in the name a threat, but if I had, it would be rice pudding I'd have pegged as the killer...or custard!

  • So all I have to do is make a Yorkshire pudding?

  • Caroline Craven29 days ago

    Now I know why I don’t even attempt to cook Yorkshire puddings! Thanks for this Rachel - new fear unlocked!! 😉 This was brill.

  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    Now I'm gonna be watching out for those leftovers, that's for sure! Maybe that's why some foods cause indigestion, heartburn, nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea? Basic physiology here with tongue in cheek.

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    Certainly bonkers, but surely enjoyable. 🤣

  • John Cox30 days ago

    A killer pudding? What’s next? Rampaging marshmallows? Pillaging piggies in a blanket? Ahhh the food’s gone bad!

  • Hahahahahahahahahaha, I so freaking loved this! But to be killed by food is a noble death. So I say bring it on! Hehehehehhe

  • Hannah Moore30 days ago

    Bonkers but definitely fun.

  • D. J. Reddall30 days ago

    HA HA HA! An idle remark baked into a brooding, malevolent being! Deftly done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.