Fiction logo

The Love Story

By Calla Hoskins

By Calla HoskinsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
The Love Story
Photo by Guillaume Galtier on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. It was well known that the effervescent tones were the universe’s way of kissing the world goodnight. The world remembers the first time she felt the cold purpling light of the universe come to stroke her atmosphere with that glorious paintbrush of light. Maa, for that is what this world is called, has composed many songs and poems to Edra the universe that echoes with the passion in her trembling depths. Edra was the kind of lover who knew no restrictions, no limits on how much love she could give to her beloved Maa.

It was under the purple clouds that came out to dance with the blushing sky that I danced and spun wildly this evening. Maa, in a growling low tremble, had spoken for the first time in years of her love for Edra. I danced and swayed in the enchanted light as we all listened for the whispers of love emanating from our feet and in the sky above.

Maa had been singing for an hour, but the lines I remember the best were the ones in my tongue, for Maa spoke all languages as the mother to many should.

“When last we spoke, my sparkling expanse, how bright you shone. How sweet your song of galaxy light, like flowing nectar over my glittering home. Too long I have missed your kiss, your song, and your ray. So bright your light I bask in this night and may we meet again without delay.”

Maa’s performance went on for hours and so did our dancing. What else is there to do when your world sings of love? Deep inside my body I felt a warm stirring remembrance like embers of hot coal under a long forgotten fire. So long it had been since I too had sung my love. I began to sing as if I knew the words. To my surprise I found that I did know the words even though I did not know where they came from. As I danced and sang my limbs began to burn with exhaustion. After a matter of time though, my fatigue began to melt away. In its place came a warm energy of desire and longing. My panting breath joined the wind in her melody and we sang together under the purple clouds in a blushing sky.

As the night wore on, the song became faster and more fevered in pitch and rhythm. We two legged dancers began to drop like flies from the sky, either giving in to our exhaustion and going to sleep, or curling together in intimate embrace. My limbs were as heavy as anyones but I carried forward with a mission that I felt but could not put to words. I was closer to the universe and the world than I had ever felt before. Intimate does not do justice to the love I felt for the wind that graced over my sweating skin.

Finally, I too was swept off my feet by my exhaustion. I did not notice when it happened, only that it had. I laid beside one of my friends but my eyes did not close like theirs did. I was still alert for the climax of the song. It shook the earth so hard that I feared the hill we were on would be split in two. In the silence that followed I heard Maa’s breath finally inhale again, for one can only exhale a song for so long, even being the size that she is. I cannot describe how the wind and the planet taking a breath actually sounded, but it was a good breath and that is all I can say about that.

After her inhale, Maa began a quiet and gentle soft melody that contained little bits and pieces from the first composition. It swung through the senses as if it couldn’t be contained fully to just one. At a few points in the refrain I could hear, smell, feel, and see the melody of this final song. It was in the way the grass brushed against itself on the hill. It was in the clouds as they bunched up and separated. It was in the smell of sweat and lavender as it tickled my nose. It was in the quiet gesturing sound of the wind. Perhaps it was the wind itself.

I was able to make out a few more lines that sounded like my language just before I drifted off.

“I dream of you my light. It is in your embrace that I delight. My flowers and hills, my clouds and duck bills, my caverns and caves, my coral reefs and crashing waves. All of me is for you, my hot core and snowflakes, my greenest grass and coolest lakes, the hum of bees and the flight of the birds, and my darling children and grazing herds.”

I love you without reserves.

Short StoryFantasyFable

About the Creator

Calla Hoskins

LGBTQ+, Fiction, Fantasy, and poetry with an emphasis on sparkle. Alas, most of my writing is inspired by dreams. Trying to channel Billie y'know...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Calla HoskinsWritten by Calla Hoskins

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.