Fiction logo

The Last Ride

Eight Seconds that Changed me

By Gerald HolmesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
16
Photo by Gilles Rolland- Monnet on Unsplash

The roar of the crowd, smell of leather, and angry bulls was like an aphrodisiac until that day fourteen months ago, when an act of pure stupidity put me in this wheelchair.

It’s not a fight, but a dance, and that's what those eight seconds felt like until the bell sounded, and I jumped off and made the mistake of my life.

I knew better; you never turn your back.

I've seen the video countless times but have no memory of being thrown around like a rag-doll and stomped on repeatedly by that bull.

Now, I ride differently.

Microfiction
16

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Audrey Lush12 months ago

    This is my first experience of micro-fiction and man this was excellent. There is so much depth to build upon. Well done Gerry!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    This, Gerald, has it all. Action, a life lesson learned the hard way and a little dark bit at the end that made me chuckle a little like Donna! I would be very surprised if this didn't place in the challenge! Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    This is pure genius! One of my favourites for sure 👌 Have you read That Mark Horse? It's a short story. I can't remember the author. Your story is completely different, but the rodeo vibe just reminded me of it.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Really great story with such a lesson as the ending 🥹❤️ I really enjoyed this; I felt like I was there in the audience!

  • Marie Wilson12 months ago

    Good entry for the Challenge! Best of luck.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Wow Gerald, this was a great story! Heartbreaking and terrible but so well written! I cringed outwardly when the narrator mentioned turning your back on the bull! That had'a hurt! The last line "Now, I ride differently." hit me hard as my dark sense of humour came through and I fought hard not to laugh at the irony. Overall a great a read, nicely done Gerald!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    I would have to say, this is the first rodeo-style anything that I've read on vocal. Unique topic and great story.

  • Trading wheels for hooves. Every year growing up, the high school choral director in our town would have the mixed choir sing, "Requiem for the Masses". It is indelibly etched into my mind--"...at half-mast for the matadors who turned their backs & all fell before the bull."

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Good story! Well done 😎

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Oh my. That's amazing. Very well done.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Great writing - That ending hits hard!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.