Fiction logo

The Last Dragon

When legend proves true

By Sarah DanaherPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 18 min read
Like
The Last Dragon
Photo by Carlos Cram on Unsplash

"As legend states, a small toddler wandered in the dragon-infested forest. He encountered a silver-scaled female dragon. The toddler just looked concerned but not convinced the dragon was safe. The dragon looked strangely at the small human but still sympathized with the child. For she was a female dragon, and the small voice of a child did not alarm her. She picked the little boy up in her large claws. Her confusion caused her to bring the kid to a crazy old sorcerer living with the dragons. In his altered state, he splashed some magical dust and then demanded to return the child to the human kingdoms. As the child started crying, the mother dragon comforted the boy by licking him. He was confused by that. She quickly flew nearer to the tiny town and let the return unharmed. His family was grateful but wondered how he was not a snack to her. As the child grew, he remembered the silver-scaled dragon, which he named, Mirra. He also developed the sorcerer's abilities and his madness. Slowly he lost his mind to the magic and became a menace to the town. The last sorcerer Thaddeus Graymire was causing many troubles in town. His constant meddling was angering all the locals. The magic had made him mad that the town had finally had enough. So, they captured and threw him in prison, but that did not help. When the death of a child occurred from his mischievousness, he was sentenced to death. In his spite, he took the last pregnant female dragon and hid her from the dragon hunters. She was the dragon, Mirra, that spared his life since he grew to care about the dragons. They searched far and wide to find it but to no avail. Thaddeus was willing to make a deal for his life; he would reveal the location of the last dragon to be killed. This only infuriated the people of the town. They called his spell a bluff and gave him no mercy. Though no one believed him anyway. His mind had been becoming more addled with becoming an awful sorcerer. In his anger, he refused to reveal the location, even to his death by decapitation. His last words were that when all the dragon hunters were dead and the town was at peace, the dragon would reemerge, causing her destruction upon the very town that had brought him to his death. Ever since the town of Derbyshire has been on the lookout for the last dragon. Still, many have stopped believing in the lore's validity. Only if they had not killed the sorcerer, or so they say." stated Alex

By petr sidorov on Unsplash

"That is enough, young Blackwell. The legend has been told too many times already. It is your school hours, and that is inappropriate to ignore your important lessons," spouted schoolmaster Caldwell. As my friend John tried to hold it together, I calmly sat back with a glare. "Now, back to our lesson and quit acting like your father, Jude, when he was just a student." Retorted the old schoolmaster.

By Mwesigwa Joel on Unsplash

Old schoolmaster Caldwell annoyingly teaches the importance of proper behavior when one conducts oneself. "How one acts determines the way one is regarded. Is that right young Alexander Blackwell and young John Lightner?" He settled over our desks, looking square into our eyes. With our best composure, "Absolutely, sir" I could see his disbelief from the look he gave on his face. We then just grinned and tried to be about messing with my other friend in the front.

Before I could do a thing, schoolmaster Caldwell turned around and said, "one who is on his best behavior does not need to worry about any trouble lurking." "We understand you perfectly." We answered back but never meant it. It was more amusing to mess around than pay attention to boring classes. Only slight misconduct was done since I was the object of constant criticism by the ancient schoolmaster. Each glare in the middle of math was a warning that my old man might hear of my behavior and would be grounded to working in the blacksmith shop longer. It was a beautiful day outside; I could only think about getting to the candy shop with some spare money. My mind came back when the schoolmaster was back at my desk. "What is your answer, Alex?" I replied smartly, "we should have the rest of the day off." "I guess you were not paying attention again and off in your little world. One day that will cost you." I replied, "When the last dragon emerges, and there is no more school, it will be the greatest day ever." Be careful what you ask for, young Blackwell, some things are better off not wanted, and school is not the worst thing for you." He angrily answered back. I smirked the best I could; luckily, the rest of the day was soon. I could hardly wait for the old cast iron bell, which my father built, would ring.

By Tim Rebkavets on Unsplash

The sun shone brightly as I walked along the dusty street in my small town. I started to joke with my friend John with his dark hair and light eyes, "Hey, if you do not behave, the last dragon will come alive and attack." John jokingly answered, "Oh, I just worry about it that I make sure I finish all my school work." my blonde hair wisping in the wind, I replied, "you still would not listen, you goof." "Well, I will rather be having fun than worrying about some old unproven lore." He retorted. We ran along the small main street, where we went to the local candy shop. I saved some money from cleaning my father's blacksmith shop. There was quite a delicacy to the candies; they were always a treat when school finally ended. Each has its unique taste, and never enough to have them all. I picked out some peppermint sticks with a few chocolate drops, both my favorite. "You always buy that, Alex," smarted John as he ran back to the street. I was about to pay for my plunder; a disturbing crashing noise came out of nowhere.

By Sean Thomas on Unsplash

I quickly paid to run towards the commotion and the mayor's mansion, and it was destroyed in flames with mass chaos in the streets. Out flew the worst creature alive from the rubble, a real live dragon. The last ones have not been seen for some time, and the long-told story of the hidden one finally became true. Everyone felt fear and trembled to see such a terrible creature. I started running for cover since it was instead angered at the loss of its kind back in the day. Unfortunately, I lost track of John in the chaos.

The beast screeched with intensity, and the mighty fire wind in the air started its cruel reign. The streets were filled with fear as everyone began to hide from the beast with its silver scales and large teeth. Its long tail swung, knocking over many buildings, and causing more damage. The terrible sight of a giant creature with its massive claws and fiery breath. Her wings created mighty and intense winds around her. Her eyes looked angry and scared of men at the same time. There was no time to think; just get as far away from the creature as possible. I found a tiny spot in one of the old stone buildings and ran to its deep basement. The dragon even came down for the hunt after being hidden for so many years. John was still running in the streets, and the beast swooped and saw him no longer. In my horror, I could not move and wished I could have saved him. The screams and situation woke the entire town—the smell of death and flame across the area. Nothing was safe from this beast or its awful fury. Then, just had it entered, it descended into the sky, and the screams were silenced. I could see through the window in the wet hole as the dragon flew off towards our beloved mountains and the old resting spot for the dragons. The terror had struck and left. It had only been such a short period, yet it lasted forever. All I could do was hope and pray that my family was okay. I ensured myself the dragon was gone before running back to my father's shop to check on my family.

The fiery revenge damaged it, but the house part was left in contact. I searched for my father in the rubble as I feared the worst. I suddenly heard a sound from the house, my mother. She came out, held me tight in her arms, and screamed for my other family members that I was safe. I was concerned that my father had not joined them. The site of my family was relieved that that evil menace killed not everyone. Looking back at the town, the damage was intense. Smoke rose in the air as the devastation was assessed. My father ran back to our home to see me alive; the look on his face was heartbreaking. I ran straight to him and was glad he survived too. His usual demeanor and strong muscles looked weak, and the most desperate I have ever seen him. His now grey hair was in disarray after seeing all the devastation. The damage was devastating as everyone took inventory of the dead, including John.

By Nancy Hann on Unsplash

My family had survived the awful creature and the fire that destroyed so much. So many buildings were gone, and the mayor's mansion was demolished. I did accompany my father as we went to see if anyone else needed help. I looked at the destroyed building and, walking around, discovered the remnants of a picture frame outside the wreckage. I remembered going to the mayor's office once and seeing the dragon on the wall picture reflecting those animals' defeat. The strange thing was that it was still in good shape, but only the background remained. It seemed that the dragon part had been ripped out, or that was where the sorcerer had hidden it. I felt the most profound fear that the legend had come true. Legend stated that a female dragon was about to lay her many eggs. The fires were finally beaten down; many were glad for those who survived and feared the worst for those they could not find. The sheriff and only high official left maintained the efforts to assess the damage. He started by putting out the remaining fires and checking the rubble for survivors. Seeing the bodies of the burnt and worse body parts of those eaten was gruesome.

By eberhard 🖐 grossgasteiger on Unsplash

The damage was bad enough, but the death toll was worse. I blamed myself for not looking out for John in the chaos, but many did the same thing. Each family was beginning to be announced to take attendance of the survivors. Each name read came and gave an account; some did not answer. Finally, it was announced; Blackwell, my father, spoke up for our family, revealing gratefully that we all survived. They eventually arrived at Lightner; I attested that John was dead. His father broke down in tears, and his mother looked gaunt. Everyone lost someone in the toll—the somber faces of survivors looking at the dead and hoping the best for the missing. Eventually, the Highcounts, mayor's name, was read.

The dragon wiped the entire family out, eating the mayor and crushing his family when the mansion collapsed—other family names such as Saddlefield, Crowsper, and Lowland. When Graymire was named, everyone just stared. The family just responded that he went crazy and abandoned his family. We are not responsible for this either. Townsfolk realized the despair. After the living list was finished, the dead were assembled for most funerals since the blood disease killed many. The number eventually increased to two hundred and sixty-two, affecting every family. The list was published if anything was wrong. The names were haunting the town, but it seemed accurate except for a few later stragglers. Still, the death toll was a good amount for the town. Most just avoided the list, and I could no longer look at John's name.

Sheriff Highlaw, a lean gaunt man, announced, "besides these lists, we need to go hunt this animal down before it comes back for another meal." "We also need to make a set of new cast iron warning bells for the town. This will be the task of the Blackwell family." My father nodded and said, "can I have my eldest son help me with the bells." I looked at my father with distrust. I wanted to take revenge for the loss of my friend. I would give the last blow to the murderous beast.

"Fine, the sheriff announced your son will not go with the hunting party." "Second, we need to assemble men from fourteen to forty-five to serve to search for the dragon in the gray lord mountains. It will be treacherous, but if we do not stop this beast now, we will have more dragons to fear. All qualified males of those ages not currently exempt must line up and receive their weaponry." Announced the sheriff.

By Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

Being fourteen, I knew I should have gone, but I needed to make silly bells. I could see the men and boys hugging their families and looking as if they were going to die. Each. Put his name down, and most of my classmates were being sent to fight a monster. Times like these ask for sacrifice, but so many did not want to go on the hunt. The devastation was grand, and the older men would have to defend the village. They were also trying to fix the damaged buildings, but the mayor's mansion would be last. The sheriff was right about one thing; it could get worse quickly if nothing were done. My father held me by my shoulder and whispered, "do not even think about it." So, I was stuck in the ravaged town while many brave souls were leaving without a guarantee of return.

All the great dragon fighters had died, and some brave souls had to go and find the animal before she could lay those eggs. I planned on it myself so that I could avenge my friend. The loss was significant and the call for soldiers to hunt the creature. My father held me back since he was now conscripted to make warning bells for our fragile town. The cleanup was epic. So many of the buildings were leveled.

The dead were brought to the streets. The current was counted to find the eaten. The sorcerer's revenge had happened with a significant loss. Now for the reaction and the many services for the lost registered in the minds of the town. It was a short time but necessary for those to mourn the loss of family and friends. I could not keep it together at John's since he was my best friend. My brown eyes could not hold back the tears, nor my heart the regret. We all tried to hold it together, but most just broke down to the ones we did have. The others were given markers with no bodies since they would never be found. The graves had to be extended and dug quickly. Each family was ready to break down; it was a somber day. No one smiled or showed signs of happiness. It was a time of tears and missing as those deceased were buried if they had a body. The only one that seemed to be least missed was the mayor himself. He was in the long line of brutal leaders who killed many for lack of support. He was always thinking of himself as higher than the rest of us. He would walk with his nose in the air, his pale skin reflecting the sun, and his ample stomach. He never saw a day of work in his life. His peppered hair was always as he presented himself all along. His arrogance was on display for everyone to see. Most did not want him dead, but the pompous parading in the streets was at least over. It was the most challenging period of my life to see the destruction of everything I knew.

The day after, I saw the boys and men gather their swords, shields, and bows. They marched as they headed to the mountains with distant looks on their faces. Each wanted their revenge on the creature but feared for their own lives. I wanted to go after it and decapitate it, but I was held back. The bells were tedious work, and my father did not want to go either. I wanted to prove myself a man and bring back a dead dragon and her eggs. So many women were in despair, watching and never knowing if they would come back alive. I dragged my feet through the town, missing going to school, but the defense from such a creature was also necessary. I was secretly looking for the hidden sword of my ancestors that had once killed dragons. The older men were fixing the damage as the stones were rebuilt.

I only had so much time off, and the damaged candy shop only brought back the regretful memories of my friend and the many townsfolk that died. I started running around as I heard my father scream for help. All I wanted was to go with the other men and not be left behind. I ran directly to my wroth father. He needed help pouring the melted metal for the fifth bell. He gave an annoyed looked and reassured me that this was for the best. He touted, "you know that everyone lost somebody the day the dragon came out; I need you to focus on the work. Loss is loss, and nothing will stop the pain of losing a friend. Even killing the dragon will make things right, son." He added, "the creature was only doing what is in its only natural." I just scoffed and went along with the tasks. The bells were being finished as the metal dried, and I never seemed to see my mind wander. The work never ended that day, and my mother had a good dinner at the table. The legend was just as terrible as the sorcerer had described, but it had to cost so many lives. I was a descendant of a great dragon slayer, and my father had hidden the sword and shield. He knew I wanted to fight but refused to let me go with the others my age. After dinner, he pulled me to the side. "You know that I love you greater than my life itself. I want to protect you from danger as any father would. I know you are becoming a man and want to prove yourself, but fighting dragons is not for the faint of heart or revenge driven." He stated, but all I could do was try to escape. I wanted my revenge, whether it killed me or not. It was time for bed and another early morning, but I had to search a few more places for the weaponry. He was talented at keeping things from us, but I was bound and determined to be on the hunt. Still, I had to help with the bells for now. They were being set up around town in case the dragon returned for another meal.

The following day, I noticed a silver object in the rafters as I looked around the kitchen. I woke up earlier to search each room, including the blacksmith shop, which had been rebuilt for use. The bedrooms were no luck, along with the storage room too. Finally, I saw the weapons I had been looking for all these days. I was not given any due to staying behind, but I was determined to join the fight. All I could do was plot my escape; if I tried to run now, my father would surely catch up with me and bring me back. So far, he was more robust, but one day that will change. I gently left them where they were and went about my morning chores. My father came into the room and was amazed at me not being told to start them, but he also had a sense; I was not being candid either. I could not be more ready to escape my father's shadow. He simply announced the more that was finished, he did not need me as much. Our routine work had been stationary till the dragon was eventually hunted down. My family did eat the breakfast that my mother prepared. She even hugged me before going off to work with my father. She also said that she loved me. Everything inside me was torn between my family trying to protect me and the feeling of going after the dragon. The town was slowly looking better as the buildings were repaired. The younger men were still in battle with very little news from the death toll. Most information was hidden, but the families of those fallen were seen as upset. Yet the war raged on without everyone out there. Each bell seemed like the one before, and I continued to be distracted. My father just shook his head and reminded me of the importance of my job. It was like the day would not end to go back home for supper. I even missed the old schoolmaster and his annoying lessons. It was just another long day at work. I finally motivated myself to show interest, and the day dragged on.

By Paul Mierau on Unsplash

I was ready, but hearing the dinner bells meant it was time to return home. The timing was just on time. I was prepared when my father said," we must stay a little longer, but your mother will have supper for us when we get back. "I cringed with anger but had to follow along till I was going to leave. The last task of the day of resetting up the cast for the bells for the next day. My father looked at me, irritated but with a small glimpse of understanding. He finally gave the guarantee to go home from a long day at work. It was a long walk home, with my stomach growling since I was always hungry and could eat all day. My father keeps telling me once I stop growing, that will stop unless I want to grow out. We finally made it back to where my mother kept our meals warm. I scarfed down the beef and potato stew and forgot about the surrounding world for a second. Finally, it was time for my family to go to bed and closer to my departure time. All I had to do was keep calm and act like I was going to bed without letting my annoying little brother, Clive, in on my secret. The house grew silent as we departed to our rooms.

When I was sure everyone was asleep, I carefully exited my bed and dressed in my outfit to fight the dragon. I could hear the sword of my ancestor, Cyrus Longsword, in my head. I tiptoed through the room to avoid waking up my siblings or parents. I lit a small candle to locate the sword and shield in the kitchen rafters. My father had not discovered my guise, so I gently pulled each one down so as not to make a noise. The sword sheath and belt were larger than I anticipated, but I flung them over my shoulder instead. The shield was latched over my back.

By Ember Navarro on Unsplash

Each was a well-made set from long ago when Cyrus was a brave dragon hunter. If only I could be just as courageous as he was. Each one was in beautiful design and had seen the action of killing dragons. The unique designs and strong steel still hold strong despite their age. His coat of arms had been printed on the handle. Some excellent craftsmen made this set. The night was still young, and before my dad was the wiser, I left the house with the best of my silence. The moon was out as bright enough to clear the path. The mountains were only a day or so off. My journey would be perilous, and I might not come back alive. I can only imagine my father's disappointed face when he saw I left to fight. My mother will fear for my life. But I must do this and not just stay behind in a safe environment. I had to avenge John and the many other lost souls. The beast was going to pay for its murderous rage. I snuck out of the town and then ran in the moonlight. The mountains were my goal, and nothing was stopping me now. All I could do was keep yelling to the wind, "This I tell you, awful dragon, for the life I live, I will hunt you down in the memory of my friend, John Lightner."

By Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

FantasyShort StoryAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.