Fiction logo

The last.

Once a upon a time.

By GERARDO CASTILLOPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
The last.
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

"Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say." He pauses.

"Or said I guess, since they are all dead and wrong."

"Who's they?" a faint voice asks.

"They used to be me, like me" It's getting hard to breath, his wounds are starting to take their toll.

Deep within the lowest level of the cargo ship they silently sit facing the door, waiting, listening.

In the darkness with no conception of time their rumbling stomachs are the only thing that they can count on to remind them they're alive for now. The young one is on her last legs her breathing is getting weaker and in this darkness he can't tell what her condition is or how bad her wounds are. He too is not feeling so good himself. How much longer will they have to suffer like this? will they die before help arrives, will they be eaten and digested like the rest before anyone can hear their cry for help? once again he is helpless waiting for a miracle.

"Can you tell me the Story" her voice is soft and curios even in this situation she still wants to know more about him.

She has always been curious about him, about his past.

He tightens his grip on her as if to try and give her his strength. If only he would have listened, if only he would have had thrown his pride away and just accepted the facts.

"Once upon a Time, I used to be a very Important person on my planet, it was a time where our kind had evolved and matured enough to take control of 5 planets within the solar system, a proud history stretching a million laps around our star. Conquering the 5th was only to be fully prepared to conquer its closest neighbor, the 6th. For years my Ancestors worked themselves to the bone establishing a colony on the new 5th planet and collecting the necessary materials needed to make the leap. Within 16 generations the preparations were complete and only a capable pilot was needed to fulfil the dream and the next great adventure. At the age of 29 I was given the opportunity to lead and safely deliver the ambitious few who dared to dream of conquering another planet down on it"

"Sounds like you guys were a bunch of weaklings if it took that long" she says with a faint chuckle.

"My civilization was young, compared to what you know and my crew was even younger, watching them die was the hardest thing I ever enjoyed"

A pause. He waits to hear her response.

Nothing.

"The reason we needed to go to the 5th planet before we went to the 6th, was because to get to the 6th planet our ships needed an extra layer of protection, along with a special fuel which we believed could only be found on the 5th, considering its composition. On the night of my 20th Birthday, the mineral had finally been mined from the deepest part of the planet. The next day I began training as a pilot, and for 9 years I trained for the only purpose of being the best. During those 8 years I met my best friend and Co-pilot, as well as a very capable and reliable Navigator who I eventually married."

"Aw" she said sweetly.

"Three days into our voyage, after a very nerve wrecking departure, My wife of 3 years beat and cuffed me all while laughing at me as my own men kicked and shoved me into a broken escape pod."

a gasp "what?! What happened next?" she whispers

"The Last thing I heard her say before she had me tossed out into space, was, Die for me".

She gasps for air again.

"So did you die?" she asks with a struggle, her words are getting slower.

"I was thrown into a faulty escape pod and shot out into space, nothing functioned except for the 60 hour supply of emergency oxygen. I was so angry and confused, and as I hurdled through space all alone with no explanation, and no chance of survival, in my rage all I could do was damn her, I damned her with everything I had, I screamed and screamed and kept screaming until my throat bled. After hours I was finally catching my breath as to give my last "damn you!", the pod came to a complete stop, all the stars I was watching blur past me were suddenly fixed on one spot. My momentum had disappeared, and it was as if I had been sitting still the entire time."

"How?" her breaths are getting deeper.

"Magic maybe?" he chuckles with the thought.

"I don't know how to explain it, I didn't really have time to think about it because as soon as the pod stopped, the hatch began to make noise as if there was something trying to pry it open and in that fraction of a moment a lot of things went through my head, many emotions, and scenarios, and honestly in not one of them did I think I was going to survive. To be absolute terror the hatch violently came off, oxygen escaped, and in the entrance only the dark of the void was registered in mind. I believed I was dead. My last few moments just felt really long as the vacuum of space had yet to claim me, when I tell you that I was caught by surprise at the unvoluntary screech my body released when my mind finally registered the figured that stood before me. As if it was a normal thing it casually came up to me while I soiled myself and just slapped the last breath out of me. In absolute shock I started hyperventilating so it slapped me again. Now I was physically hurt and super confused and before he could slap me a third time I put my hands up and said "I'm sor-" and slapped me again anyways and in the most comforting and familiar voice said "Just shut up and listen, nod for yes, squint for no." I nodded "I heard everything, all of your insufferable screeching, do you want to go back and take back what is yours?" I nodded. "Do you have some one you can trust?" I paused for a second and I nodded as the image of my best friend came to mind. In an instant almost as if in a dream, I stood before my old bed in which I spent many nights with my beloved, and in it laid my best friend with my...

She starts to violently cough, she's not taking in any air and she's getting cold.

"Please no."

"Please no."

"Hey hey stay with me now, don't you want to hear the rest of my story? it doesn't get better"

She's grasping at straws for air, her fingers pinching softly at his skin.

Please no. He loosens his hold on her to give her more breathing room, but as he tries to claim more room he kicks one of the bodies that lays next to them in the dark and instinctively pulls back.

"Please."

There's scratching at the doors, it startles them both and she begins to pinch a little faster, the sounds are violently echoing through the rooms as the thunderous pounding continues. The doors wont hold much longer, in his arms the once lively girl is now cold and limp. Tears fill his eyes, in the darkness he can hear as the door begins to give in. He reaches for his blaster that laid next to him and with a firm grip on his weapon and one firm grip on his friend he aims and charges his final shot, a faint glow illuminates the room just enough to catch a glimpse of the carnage that is spread around them.

The doors burst open and the room is illuminated by a fiery explosion, engulfed by flames a creature screams in pain and flees in his direction, tightly he grips and then aims his weapon, with the last of his strength and the beast in his sights he collapses, and loses consciousness.

AdventureSci FiSeriesHumor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.