Fiction logo

The King and The P.I.

Monsieur Matthias: New Case

By Crystal CruzPublished about a year ago 9 min read
1

I spent many days with Lazenos. We buried Lucienne under the bare weeping willow. It was her favorite tree. She spent many nights writing poetry and many days deep in meditation as Ilir gave her prophetic visions under the tree. It just felt right to bury her there.

After the burial I kept Lazenos company. He already knew she was dead, but it was clear as day when he set his eyes on her mummified body it had just, truly, set in. The days blended together as we sat in the Marvelous Raven drinking ale after ale, or more accurately, he drank ale after ale; I nursed my pint. Then came the day creatures began filing in, looking for drink, camaraderie, and company. I helped Lazenos where I could, enjoying the company and the feeling of being busy.

It’s been so long since I had a companion. Mylan was a good friend and an even better partner. We were closer than napaea. He promised me forever and then the accident took that from me. I remember it like it was yesterday. The Great War was just ending, and we were looking for a missing auloniad. An orc attacked us from behind. I managed to get away and kill him before he killed me. I was able to go home. Mylan wasn’t as lucky. There wasn’t enough of him left for a burial, but I always carry his trusty knife with me. He was my protector, yet I couldn’t return the favor.

I shook my head, clearing the thoughts of Mylan and the scene of his scattered body parts. I looked at Lazenos. He was laughing with a group of changelings. I honked softly as I served a group of dryads their drinks. I waddled over to Lazenos.

“I’m going to get back to work. Will you be okay?” I asked him as he kneeled next to me.

“Yes, Monsieur.” He said, smiling at me, “Thank you for giving me closure. Lucienne wouldn’t want me to be grieving for so long. She would want me to live my life. The Marvelous Raven is filled once again. I can work and have companionship. Everything she stood for.” He looked around the tavern. A fond smile graced his face before turning back to me. “You be safe, Matthias.”

“I will. I will see you again.” I pulled on my coat and hat. I honked softly at him, placing a wing on his leg. He smiled and placed his hand over my wing. A moment passed before I headed out. I waddled out, then paused. I looked back in and watched Lazenos for a moment. He was in good spirits. That is all I could ever ask for, for my oldest friend. I honked, placing a protective spell over the tavern. I’ve already lost too many friends. I don’t need to lose another.

I turned away and took to the skies. With Lazenos doing better, I can work on my backlog and start taking new clients.

Just as I suspected, the creatures I had to find were dead. Their loved ones, fortunately, survived and, unfortunately, I had to deliver them the bad news. I always hate that part. I sighed. It’s a big hit, but in the grand scheme of everything, it’s not like it matters. I’ll survive without a few spectral litas. They will grieve the loss of their loved ones for a long time. It’s not fair they don’t get the closure they deserve.

I was in Korbroz, an orc village near the Royal Gorge in Xiaplish. I was probably the only creature that could enter any orc village and leave unscathed. Whether that’s because they are in need of my services or they’ve come to respect me after their attack early in my career, that is unclear. I waddled to their nearest tavern, The Wandering Cliff.

I tipped my hat to the orc, who held the door open for me and waddled in. I flew up to a stool and took my hat off.

“What’ll it be?” Wrug asked as he polished a mug. His voice rough and raspy. He was a massive orc, bigger than most orcs. He was a dusty blue, with a scowl on his face that could rival the goblins and gremlins. His tusks looked as if they had gone through multiple wars. One had chipped in half and the other, while still pointed and sharp, was filled with scratches and deep grooves. The wrinkles on his face and top of his head told me he was nearing adulthood. He wore a buttoned shirt halfway buttoned and an apron that his name embroidered over the left side of his chest. He was an intimidating orc.

“Pint of ale.” I answered, settling on the stool.

“Bad day?” he asked, reaching under the counter for the glass.

“You could say that.”

“Want to talk about it?”

“Just a backlog of work that didn’t go right.” he placed the pint in front of me.

“The eruption has ruined a many of things. Why should our livelihood be any different?”

“Truer words have never been spoken.” I said, drinking my ale. Wrug walked away to let me lament over my bad day and to tend to his other patrons. I sat there nursing my ale, going over the events of the past few days. A whirlwind of emotions. None that could have been helped or changed. I sighed again. Not a good start to a new Kagleshi decade.

I sat there for a little longer wallowing in my self pity before drinking the rest of my ale. I dropped a few spectral litas on the countertop and picked up my hat. I flew down from the stool and put my hat on, waddling towards the door.

Once outside, it was like night and day from when I first entered the tavern. Well, not really. Xiaplish is always gloomy. In Vlauplera however, the clouds parted, letting more of the star’s rays enter its atmosphere. I shook my feathers out and took to the skies.

As I flew toward home, I noticed many flying creatures happily enjoying the star’s warmth in the distance. It was nice to see the creatures ease themselves into a new normal. A roar from my left startled me as I crossed the Royal Gorge. I looked over and saw Brite and Ake. I honked at them. I’m surprised they’re still cleaning. It’s been days and they’re quick workers. I blew air out of my nose; it’s not business, they are busy dragons.

I sighed happily as one ray hit my face. It’s been far too long since I’ve felt this warm. I’ve almost forgotten how much I love it. I honked, letting the air around me assist me on my flight home. I landed in front of my abode. I honked towards the sign.

For inquires, go around to the pond.

I waddled around the side and shrugged off my coat, hat, and monocle. I placed them neatly in a pile. I placed my notebook and pen close enough to the pond should any new clients come. The pond itself was absolutely filthy. It passed green and went to a dingy grey color because of the ash. I honked and flapped my wings in the pond’s direction. The water whirled upwards; the ash spewing out into a neat pile a ways away. I stopped honking and flapping my wings and the water settled back down in its place. The water was now clear and sparkling in the rays of the sun. That’s more like it.

I flew into the pond and honked happily. It’s been so long since I’ve had a proper swim. I bobbed forward, my head dunking under the water, relishing in the warm water. I resurfaced moments later. I blinked the water out of my eyes and saw a group of raccoons approaching me.

“Monsieur Matthias?” The biggest one asked, his voice thick with a southern’s accent. He’s a chunky raccoon. The kind of chunky that I can’t tell if it’s mostly because of his fur or if it’s because of him. His fur was mostly brown, with grey streaks peppered about, and of course, a black mask surrounded his eyes. His eyes were filled with worry and he wrung his hands, waiting for my answer.

“Yes. How can I help you?” I asked, swimming to the edge where my notebook lied.

“My name is Antonio and this is my family. My mother Lucinda, and my brother, Marlon. We need your help finding our brother, Gerard.”

I took the pen and flipped to a blank page. “Of course, can you describe your brother and the last place you saw him?”

“Yes, of course.” Lucinda said, stepping in front of Antonio. She was slender but still had the typical raccoon build. Her fur was more white than the tones of grey that scattered her body. She still had that black mask, although it seemed to take a more diamond shape with all the white fur taking over. “We last saw Gerard near the Rydel Krismaris’ farm, but he was separated from us when the eruption first started. He’s smaller than Marlon, but rounder than Antonio or he was before the eruption. He’s all different shades of grey, like I was before the white started sprouting up.”

I scribbled down all the details she gave me, then looked up at her. “I will do everything I can to find your son.”

Marlon’s eyes lit up with hope. He was small, likely the youngest of the family. He was also the skinniest of the bunch. Much like many of the creatures, there wasn’t a lot of food going around in quarantine, even if you traded. He had a mix of brown and grey fur. “Thank you so much, Monsieur!”

“You’re welcome. My policy states I require half of the payment now and the other half when I have found your son and brother.” I informed them.

“Yes, of course. Rydel spoke very highly of you. He told us about your policy.” Antonio said, placing 5 spectral litas next to my notebook.

“I appreciate the adulation. I will get started right away.” I said flying out of the pond.

“Thank you, Monsieur. We will leave you to it.” Lucinda said, a paw over her chest as she ushered her sons away.

I put my notebook and pen away in my coat. I shook my feathers out, expelling the excess water off my body. Well, that was a nice little break. Time to get back to work.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Crystal Cruz

Writer. Mostly fantasy. Reader. Anything really.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    These characters are all so realistically handled their 'animal' nature is almost irrelevant- but not quite and that's a good thing! For some reason I picture Mattias sounding a bit like Alan Rickman- is it the monocle do you think? 🧐

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.