Fiction logo

The King and The P.I.

Gerard: Rosen

By Crystal CruzPublished about a year ago 9 min read
1

It had been a couple of days since Gadreel had dropped me off in Rosen. It was a goblin town. I’ve never been here before. Usually, I stuck to the outcrops near the elven farmlands since they had the best food source. Though I have never been here, I could see just how much had changed in the long winter.

There were many buildings that were just desolate and in ruins. I had passed what once had been a bakery in rubbles, just the foundation was left standing with rusting rebar sticking out in odd places. Some homes had seen better days but were still standing. While others were sunken in or missing half of the building. It saddened me I know the goblins in Rosen, even in other goblin towns, are proud of their hometown. They don’t always get along with other creatures, but they are honest creatures and they work very hard to build a life for themselves so they wouldn’t be a servant to others.

After the King had made his proclamation, deeming it safe for the Kagleshi to resume their lives, the goblins, tentatively, poured out of the only pristine building in Rosen, the treasury. I stayed out of their way as I went about looking for any scrap of food and they assessed the damage of their town. I scurried from alley to alley, digging through ash only to come up empty-handed.

I skirted around Rosen and dipped into the alley next to the treasury, digging through the ash when a stocky, pale green goblin wearing a fedora, pinstriped waistcoat and pants approached me.

“You Gerard?” he asked his voice thick with attitude and impatience.

“Yes. Who’s asking?” I asked as I continued to dig through the garbage bin, sparing him a glance.

“Name’s Fik.” he introduced himself with a tip of the hat. “Boss wants to see you.”

I stopped digging as I gave him my full attention. “Who’s Boss?”

He shifted his weight from one foot to another, clearly getting irritated, “Her name don’t matter, just follow me.” I sighed as he turned lumbering out of the alley. I jumped down from the bin and followed behind him. I stopped every couple of steps looking around watching the goblins clean up the ash and dig out the infrastructure that laid underneath it. Goblins were interesting creatures. They only cared for themselves in the grand scheme of everything, but when they got together, they could make something absolutely beautiful.

Between the pristine treasury and what’s left of the remaining buildings, I could tell they were fond of the gothic style. The stained glass windows shined slightly as the star’s rays hit it just right. The ornate gargoyles still looked menacing, even in pieces.

“Keep it moving, we don’t got all day.” Fik said pulling my attention from observing my surroundings. I looked at him and chittered.

“Sorry.” I scurried over to him. He continued lumbering up the steps of the treasury. I looked up at it, getting a good look at it. The spires rose into the sky, so high I couldn’t see the end of it. The ornate carvings overlaying the entirety of the building and overlapping one another invoked a feeling of serenity in me. My eyes flitted over the carvings of creatures.

“Are you done staring yet?” Fik broke my reverie.

“Who are the creatures?” I asked hopping up the steps to his side.

“Our ancestors and the gods.” Fik opened the door to the treasury. “They watch over us and our most profitable business.” I scurried inside and chittered. That makes sense. Fik lumbered past me as he made his way towards the west wing. I followed him, slowing my scurry down to a slow walk. I admired the works of art on the wall as we walked past them. Many of them depicted the Great War, but the majority of them were portraits of the elder goblins.

Goblin culture was fascinating. They worked under a hierarchy, the elders being at the top and the younger goblins at the very bottom. Goblins respected and obeyed their elders’ every command, no matter how brash and bold it may be. What the elders say is law.

As we neared the door, I noticed the last portrait on the wall. It was a burly goblin, her pointed ears stuck out to the side rather than being drooped like other goblins, her scowl etched onto her face as if frozen that way. The few wrinkles she did have were on her forehead and around her mouth. Her bright hazel eyes bore into my dark brown eyes. Eyes I knew all too well from infancy. I knew exactly who the boss was.

“Hey Boss. Here’s Gerard.” I heard Fik say to my right. I looked away from the portrait and into the open door.

“Send him in.” A raspy voice floated through.

“The Boss will see you now.” Fik said standing to the side. I slowly made my way through the door. Fik shut the door behind me, but my eyes never left hers.

“Hi Stez.” I said meekly jumping up onto the chair in front of her desk.

“Gerard, long time no see.” she said a hint of amusement in her voice told me this was just a friendly conversation despite the permanent scowl on her face.

“Very long time.” I chittered, “I thought you were living in Greldrod closer to Mansoll Wood. What are you doing so close to the capital?”

She shifted in her seat and crossed her legs. Her long pointed claws tapped against the wooden desk, “My da passed in the first eruption. I was his only heir and, despite being exiled, they welcomed me with open arms.”

My ears drooped, “I’m sorry for your loss.”

“It’s okay.” she waved her hand, “It’s been twenty years.”

I nodded my head, “If he died in the initial blast how did you get here? No one was allowed outside unless they had a death wish.”

“Tunnels.” she said curtly. “The youngins dug them under each goblin treasury. It’s been useful to use as a trading route.” I looked at her impressed.

“But enough about me. What about you? What are you doing so far from home?” Curiosity filled her eyes.

“No food at home.” I explained, “The ash ruined the farmland, and any food that was left out is gone.”

She looked at me with sadness before clearing her throat, “I can’t help you long term, but I can give you some rations to hold you over for a few days while you look for something more permanent.” I perked up and smiled at her.

“Thank you so much, Stez.” I chittered.

She nodded her head. “I’ll send word to the other goblin towns to help you. You might have more luck in Xiaplish. I heard they got lucky; the ash and lava didn’t hurt them as much as it hurt us.”

I cocked my head to the side. I haven’t been to Xiaplish since my family first left for a better life in Vlauplera. “I’ll head over there. Thank you for letting me know.” She nodded her head and snapped her fingers. A moment later a couple of young goblins ran in.

“Yes, Boss?” a short meekly goblin asked. He was wide eyed, and it was clear he wanted to do a good job to impress Stez. The other was a little taller and lanky, but he looked nervous. His eyes shifted around the room, wanting to look anywhere but at Stez.

“Get Gerard some rations to last him a couple of days.” She ordered.

“Yes Boss.” They said together before running out the room.

“Stez let me help you out. It’s only fair since you’re helping me.” I said rubbing my hands together nervously.

She gave out a dry laugh, “Help us with what? In case you didn’t notice half our town needs to be rebuilt.”

“I can help dig the foundations out of the ash.” I suggested.

She watched me quietly, contemplating. “Okay, but just until your rations are ready.”

“Yes, Boss.” I imitated the young goblins.

“Don’t push it, Ger.” she warned, mischief twinkling in her eye.

“Wouldn’t dream of it Stez.” I looked at her, “It’s good to see you. I’ve missed you.”

Her scowl let up a smidge, her version of a smile. “I’ve missed you, too, friend. Now go before I change my mind.” I chittered and jumped down from the chair.

I scurried out of the treasury. Fik was nowhere to be seen. I headed outside and stopped on the top step looking around to see who needed the most help. A group of goblins seemed to be having a lot of trouble near what seems to have been a butcher’s shop. I jumped down the steps and scurried over to the young goblins. I shared a look with one of them before I started burrowing and shoveling the ash out of the way of the building making a sort of moat.

I chittered at the ones that started clearing the foundation while I pushed the ash away from the building. We fell into a routine quickly, they would shovel or sweep the ash off the foundation or parts of the retaining wall and I would shovel them into a neat pile for other goblins to wheel away. We kept this up for a while and not long after the building was free of ash.

“Thank you, sir.” One of the littlest goblins said. I chittered in return as the meek and lanky goblins from Stez office began to approach me with a bag of, presumably, rations. I shook my body getting the ash off my fur before meeting them halfway.

“Your rations, sir.” The meek goblin said, voice cracking.

“Thank you. Tell Stez I greatly appreciate this.” I said, taking the bag from him. They nodded their heads before heading to the treasury. I took my bag and started my way out of Rosen towards Xiaplish. It’ll be weird seeing the desolate region again, but if they have food, maybe it’ll be for the best. I thought back to the conversation I had with Stez as I walked west. Maybe a stop in Greldrod would be beneficial; restock on some rations before going into troll territory. That sounds like a plan.

I chittered as I opened the bag to see what they had given me. Oh gioria! I love this stuff! I took the red sweet nutty cookie and broke a small piece off. I dropped the rest back into the bag and ate the small piece savoring the flavor. My luck is finally turning around!

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Crystal Cruz

Writer. Mostly fantasy. Reader. Anything really.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Always ready for more of Gerard; he's quickly becoming one of my favorite characters. The dialogue flows nice and smoothly Crystal. It's pleasing to read a writer with a strong grasp of adjectives; they're getting rarer by the day! I enjoyed this chapter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.