Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part seventeen

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 16 days ago Updated 3 days ago 5 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part seventeen………

Welcome home

++++++++++

Terry stood and said, “Shevy, I think you’re going to need that chair, after all. You’re really going to enjoy the antics of these lovely ladies.”

Shevy smiled and replied, “Well, if you insist but only if that includes a cuppa that tea.”

A few minutes later, Shevy sat, sipping her tea while Kate related what her cousin Bridget will find when she enters Kate’s home.

“Oh, my lordie! I was told Kathleen had a wicked sense of humor and now, I believe you’ve even surpassed her with yours. Oh, how I’d have loved to be a fly on one of those walls.”

Terry’s phone rang and Mo began to laugh. “Oh, my, guess who’s calling.”

Kate’s senses also picked up on what she felt was an unusual sounding ring. “Sh, everyone, we need to quiet down. That’s Bridget calling.”

Terry answered the phone, “Hello, Terrance O’Malley speaking. How many I …”

He never had the opportunity to finish his question when he was forced to yank the phone away from ear as the screeching began.

‘MR. O’MALLEY! YOU TELL THAT CONIVING POX EEJIT THAT THE COTTAGE IS A WRECK AND SHOULD BE TORN DOWN! HOW SHE EXPECTS ME TO LIVE THERE IS UTTERLY INSANE!”

“I supposed I should assume this is Bridget Montgomery?” Terry softly and more politely than he wanted.

‘YA DAMN RIGHT, IT TIS! THAT EEJIT DESTROYED MY COTTAGE! HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO SELL IT IN ITS CURRENT CONDITION?”

“Ms. Montgomery, first of all, “Terry’s voice became a bit sterner, “the cottage isn’t yours – yet! Have you forgotten that the deed is still in your cousin’s name? You’ve only been in the house less than a day. Kate’s given you two to decide. You have one more day, Ms. Montgomery. That would be by four tomorrow afternoon. I’ll look forward to your decision at that time. Now, is there anything else?”

Bridget, still trying to make a point, continued to shout, “IF THIS IS HOW THAT FLAMIN’ EEJIT WANTS TO LIVE, WITH THE BUGS AND THE RATS, SO BE IT. I’LL DO MY BEST TO BE RID OF THE VERMIN AND I’LL CALL YOU TOMORROW!”

Terry smiled as he said to Kate, “Oh how I wish I still had a corded phone so I could have slammed the receiver back in its cradle. You just don’t get the same effect with a cell phone.”

Kate suddenly felt her little cross begin to jump, not just vibrate, but jump!

“Ooo! I think my great-grandmother has something up her sleeve.” She laughed as she fingered the cross that hung on a delicate chain around her neck.

Mo looked at the cross and said, “Kate, it’s glowing. It didn’t do that before.”

Shevy chuckled. “I knew Kathleen meant that for you. Mam wasn’t all that clear when she handed it to me before she passed. All she said was, ‘when the time is right, you’ll know what to do’ and as soon as I heard Kate was in town, I knew.”

+++++++++

Before they left Terry’s office, Mo invited Kate for supper. “You’ve already met Erin. Tonight, you’ll met Meg, Danny’s girl. Shane currently is dangling three girls on a string and hasn’t decided which one he likes best, but then, he’s only nineteen, so he’s got some time yet. Come around five and you can help me pick some vegetables and spices for supper.”

Kate hugged her friend and said delightedly, “Mo, that would be fantastic. Since I have a plan for a garden, you can advise me what to do and how to do it.” It was then that she had a very strange thought. “Wait a minute, Mo. I see that look in your eyes. What’s going on?”

“Look I can’t be positive but since we both feel that your grandmother is up to something, I want you as far away from your home as possible – just in case Bridget thinks it’s you who’s forcing her out.”

“Oh, you felt that, too, huh? I know I didn’t know anything about magic before, but since being Aughacasla for almost two weeks, and after learning more about my grandmother, for some reason, I’m feeling more, uh, what’s the word? Witchy? Now and then, I get these weird feelings and so far, they’re all actually happening.”

“Sure and that’s interesting, then. So, what are your feelings about tonight?”

“Mo, I could be wrong, but I have a very strong feeling that my cousin is going to have company tonight and it won’t be for tea and biscuits.”

“Kate, can I make a suggestion, then?”

“Always, mo chara.”

“Take your car to Mrs. Anderson’s. I’ll follow you, and we can drive back to my house together. Then Shaun can drive you back there later. I would just feel better if you’re not alone, tonight. You never know what Bridget is capable of.”

“You know, Mo, that might not be a bad idea. Are you sure Shaun won’t mind?”

“He’ll be tickled. He’s been wanting to do something mischievous since he found out about her. This is his opportunity.”

Terry smiled at the women and agreed. Shevy O’Leary stood, thanked Terry for the tea, turned and said to Kate, “Kate, mo stor, you be careful now. I don’t trust her either. Do you mind if I meet you at Martha’s? She owes me a cuppa tea.”

With that, and a plan set in motion, they left Terry’s office and headed to the B&B.

Almost at the door, a handsome young man who looked about Kate’s age, hurried across the street. “Ms. Sullivan? Hi, I’m Ryan Kelly. I own Dingle Plumbing supply and I just thought you should know that Ms. Montgomery just phoned and demanded I visit, as she put it, her “run down shack” and see about putting running water inside. Terry already notified all the business in town and warned us not to do business with her. I told her we were booked solid for the next two weeks, but I wanted you to know what’s going on.”

Kate wasn’t surprised by the actions of her cousin and replied, “Thank you, Mr. Kelly, I appreciate you telling me.”

He smiled, shook her hand, and said before he walked away, “Anytime. And please call me Ryan.”

Kate looked at Mo and said, “Hmm, he’s dreamy, isn’t he?”

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mark Graham15 days ago

    Yes, as Babs Iverson said another great chapter.

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Another fantastic chapter!!!!💕❤️❤️

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.