Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part sixteen

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 18 days ago Updated 17 days ago 4 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part sixteen………

Welcome home

++++++++++

As Maureen O’Reilly drove them away from Kate’s cottage, they laughed like children at their pranks.

“Oh, Mo! What fun this was and how I wish we could have been invisible to watch it all unfold.”

“Kate, mo chara, we don’t need to be there. I’m sure Terry will get several phone calls. Speaking of Terry, let’s stop at the bank and tell him what we’ve done. I’m sure he’ll get a belly laugh out of it. Then, we’re going shopping. That is, if you’ve nothing planned for this afternoon.”

“Mo, what I had planned has already been done. Let’s go, wait, what did you call me before?”

“’Mo chara,’ it means ‘my friend’”.

Kate smiled and repeated, “Mo chara! Oh, Mo, you really are mo chara! Let’s go and put a smile on Terry’s face.”

Maureen parked her olive-green jeep two doors from the bank then she and Kate walked to the front door. As they entered, Terry looked up and immediately smiled as he stood and walked out of his office.

“Ladies, ladies! What a treat! Come in my office. I’ll just close the door for privacy. Have a seat.” He picked up his phone and said, “Irene, I know it’s after three, but is there any chance we could get three cups of tea?”

“Terry, you really needn’t have bothered. We here for a little conversation, that’s all,” Kate said.

“Well, then, I’ve some news for you. Oh, hmm, that was fast. Here’s Irene with our tea. Thank you, mo chailin milis.” Irene placed a tray with three cups of steaming hot tea and a plate of cookies on his desk.

Kate and Mo smiled at the young woman as she left the office.

“Now, first things first. Kate, my news isn’t much, but it definitely is interesting.”

Kate looked intently at his face and said, “Hmm, go on, then Mo and I will tell of our adventures of a few hours ago.”

“Your cousin, indeed, stopped by just before lunch for your key. Said she’d be doing some, as she put it, “major shopping” before moving in. I haven’t seen nor heard from her since. Kate, I must say, in my heart, I know Kathleen is probably so disappointed in her. Reluctantly, I handed over your key but couldn’t find it in my heart to wish her luck. She said the first thing she’ll do, AFTER she scrubs the place clean will be to have the power turned on and buy a refrigerator. I reminded her that the deed is still in your name, and she can’t do anything until after the agreement you both signed has been satisfied. If and only if she will be staying, which I know without a doubt, she won’t, then the deed will be turned over to her. She wasn’t happy about it but, as per yesterday, left in a huff!”

“Aw, Terry, don’t fret and worry yourself sick. She’s not staying, is she, Mo?”

Terry looked at Mo as she began to giggle.

“Okay, ladies, just was it you’ve done? Please don’t leave out any details. I need to smile after that, ah, there’s no polite word for her - bitch left. Oh, lord! She’s put a sour taste in my mouth.”

Maureen said, “Kate, I know this is our concoction, but since it’s your house, you tell him. I’d like to sit back and also enjoy the tale.”

Kate smiled and began her story.

“Well, Terry. You know how much I really, and I truly mean REALLY want my great-grandmother’s house. I don’t want to sell it, like Bridget does. I want to live in it! I fell in love with that little cottage as soon as set my eyes on it.

“It was Mo who suggested I draw on magic that I didn’t know I had. Using my grandmother’s spell book, and combining some of Mo’s spells, we went to mo abhaile right after lunch. Mo made sure that nothing in the house would work. The ceiling has a bit of a drip even if it isn’t raining. “Irish dew” she called it.”

Mo chuckled and Terry smiled with delight.

“To continue. Even if Bridget finds the stone wall and shoves it, it won’t open. She’d need a stick or two of dynamite to open it and we both know, if she does that, she’s in for a huge law suit plus, she wouldn’t have any idea what’s behind the wall so there’s no reason for her to try to open it.

“There is absolutely no running water in the house. Bridget will need to use the well water – which I turned to rust.

“Mo also made sure the windows won’t open so the house will have a very musty odor.

“I turned the outside window frame to appear rotted so if she tries to open the windows from the outside, the wood will break apart.

“Of course, all these things are illusions. Spells that she can physically experience but won’t harm mo abhaile.”

Mo interjected. “Mo chara, you left out the best part.”

It was Kate’s turn to laugh. “Oh, yeah, I put a nest of mice in the kitchen. She’ll never find the nest, but she will see the cute little critters crawling around now and again.”

Terry could no longer control his laughter, which was now loud enough for Irene who still sat across the room to hear.

As Terry tried to control himself, there was a gentle rap on his door. He looked up, Kate and Mo looked around, and there stood Shevy O’Leary looking like she was about to burst open if she didn’t talk to someone.

“Oh, praise the Lord, Kate, you’re here. I was hoping you would be. I came here hoping Terry would know where to find you.”

“Please, Shevy, let me get you another chair.”

“No, thank you just the same, Terry. I won’t be long.”

She turned to Kate. “Mo stor, I have no idea what you’ve done to your home but whatever it is, well, from what I understand, you could hear Bridget screaming for miles.”

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake17 days ago

    Well done on your story.

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Enjoyable chapter!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.