Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part fifteen

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 19 days ago Updated 4 days ago 5 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part fifteen………

Welcome home

++++++++++

Seven the next morning, Kate’s phone rang.

“Good morning, Terry. It’s a beautiful morning, now, isn’t it? Should I assume my courteous cousin has stopped by for my key?” She made sure he heard the sarcasm in that question.

Not even trying to suppress a laugh, he replied, “Not yet, but she called to say she’d be here in about an hour. I called to ask how you’re feeling?”

“Actually, I’m feeling quite well. This afternoon, I’ll be seeing Maureen O’Reilly. She suggested I pick up my, uh, my grandmother’s Spell book. She hinted I might want to have some fun with it.”

“Oh, Mo’s a devilish, one, she is. In a fun way, I mean. And yes, it would certainly be interesting. Okay, then, I’ll ring off for now and await the visit from the she-devil.”

Kate chuckled, ended the call, grabbed her notes with the Gaelic words she didn’t understand, then headed downstairs.

“Ah, good mornin’ to you, Kate. Hope you slept well.”

With a radiant smile, Kate replied, “More soundly than I have in years. M-m-m. Something smells delicious. What have you got cooking and can I help? And are the other guests up yet?”

“Up and gone! Seems they wanted an early start on their sight-seeing. I’ve hotcakes and sausages warming and fresh biscuits in the oven. And no, Kate. You’re not to help. You just sit yourself down and enjoy yourself. Lord knows, once Bridget is gone, you’ll have a ton of work to do in your home. Now, instead of tea, I’ve made a pot of coffee to get the day started. Is that okay?”

“Coffee? I haven’t had coffee since I left New York, and it sounds awesome. While we’re waiting for the biscuits, can you look at these words? They were in my grandmother’s journal, but I have no idea what they mean.”

Mrs. Anderson glanced at the notes and laughed riotously. “Oh Kate, Kathleen had such a way about her. My mam always said Kathleen was an amusement all to herself. A bheith ina Cailleach means “being a witch.” Ag deanamh draiocta means doing magic. Geasa a n-aithris means reciting spells. Why she chose her native tongue to write those things, we’ll never know but it’s so much easier to use English, than even trying to pronounce them.”

Kate folded the paper and gently pushed it in her back pocket. “You’re so right. I think I’ll stick to English.”

Mrs. Anderson placed the breakfast on the table and Kate told her of the morning’s phone call.

“So, the troll is still serious about moving in for a few days. We’ll, I’m sure since we know your grandmother spelled the house, Bridget is in for a run for her money, now, isn’t she?”

“Absolutely, and knowing the little I know of Mo, I’m sure she has a trick or two up her sleeve. Before I make my way to her house, I’d like to stop by and speak with a plumber. Can you tell me where to find one? Oh, and the electric company? I know my grandmother spelled the house, but I’d still enjoy a few modern conveniences.”

It was almost noon as she walked up the walk to Mo’s house. A pretty young woman answered the door and smiled shyly. “Oh, and you must be Ms. Kate. Mrs. O’Reilly’s expectin’ you. Don’t mind me. I’m Erin, Brian’s girl. Come on in, then.”

The answer to one of Kate’s questions was now answered. At least one of Mo’s sons had a girlfriend.

Although Kate knew her way to the kitchen, Erin politely led the way. “Mrs. O'Reilly’s in the back, yanking out some spices for tonight’s supper. Oh, here she is, now, just coming in the back door. Mrs. O’Reilly, your friend is here.”

Mo put the spices on the counter, quickly washed the dirt of her hands and gave Kate a hug. “Glad to see you, my friend. I have some raspberry iced tea made and I thought for lunch we’d have bacon, lettuce, on tomato sandwiches. Would that be okay?

“Mo, that’s perfect. I think Mrs. Anderson is under the impression that I don’t eat. She was trying to shove her hotcakes down my throat this morning. They were delicious but way too filling.”

Mo walked to a small drawer at the other end of the counter, opened it and pulled out a leather-bound book the size of the small journal she’d read last night. She handed it to Kate.

“Kate, I should have told you this when I met you the other day but wasn’t sure how you take the news, so I hesitated.”

Kate saw trepidation in her friend’s eyes and asked cautiously, “Are you going to tell me that you’re a witch, as well?”

Mo smiled sheepishly. “Bingo! Caught red-handed! Although, admittedly, I’m nowhere near as powerful as I heard Kathleen had been. Before you ask, no, I didn’t read her book as I’ve one of my own. I thought we’d read mine, then if you like, we can compare some of mine to yours and pick a few to use for today and tomorrow.”

Kate’s laughter was strong enough to bring tears to her eyes. “Oh, Mo! Terry was right. You definitely are a devil! Let’s get started.”

While enjoying their lunch, they found a few spells they thought would work to Kate’s benefit. Mo suggested they use her car for the drive to the cottage. “Bridget won’t know my car so if she’s home, I can go in, but you shouldn’t. You take care of the water pump. I’ll take care of the stove. Together, when we’re outside, we can spell the roof.”

“Mo, I’ve never done magic before. What if I mess up?”

“I’ll be with you, mo chara.”

As they approached Kate’s cottage, they saw no vehicles and felt safe knocking on the door. No one answered. Kate said aloud, “Mo abhaile, please open the door.” And it did.

“She hasn’t been here yet. The cottage is the way I left it yesterday.”

“She might be out shopping for supplies. Let’s get going before she arrives.”

They worked fast, casting their spells and before they left, Kate added one more.

Mo looked surprised and then said, “And Terry calls ME a devil! Oh, you fiendish friend.”

They laughed as they walked out, with Kate saying. “Mo abhaile, please close and lock the door.” And it did.

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mark Graham19 days ago

    I wish this could be a regular book. I would like to put it on the shelf with my other Nora Robert's books.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.