Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part fourteen

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 19 days ago Updated 19 days ago 4 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part fourteen………

Welcome home

++++++++++

As Kate settled on the small sofa in her room, there was a soft knock on her door. Mrs. Anderson didn’t open the door but spoke anyway.

“Kate, tis only me. I brought you a pot of tea, thinkin’ you might enjoy some as you read.”

“Oh, Mrs. Anderson, that’s so thoughtful. Yes, please come in.”

Mrs. Anderson placed the tray with the teapot, cup, and a plate of cookies on the table near where Kate sat.

“I’ll say goodnight, now, deary. The kitchen is always open should you want a snack later on. Help yourself.”

With that, she gently closed the door and walked away.

Kate poured herself a cup of tea and sampled a cookie. “Oh wow! Blueberry! My favorite!” Then she opened her book and began to read.

“This is so bizarre! My penmanship is almost identical to great grandma’s.”

I’d no intention of writing my life’s history but my dearly beloved, Daniel kept harpin’ on me to leave my legacy for those who follow. Although, knowing my children, I can’t imagine any one of them followin’ in my footsteps. Well, possibly, Declan. He’s more like me than the others. If he’s interested, when he finds a wife, he’ll have a son and call him Aaiden. The rest will be history and as much as I’d like, unfortunately, I won’t be around to witness these events.

Don’t mean to sound morbid but that’s the way of it, isn’t it?

Okay, then, the year is 1900. I’ve just reached the thirty-sixth year of my life.

I knew my mam, Aileen and da, Seth were witches from the time I could recite my own name. It was nature’s fate that I inherited their powers, however, I didn’t fully understand any of them until I turned sixteen.

I met Daniel when I was twenty and we married shortly after. What a handsome and wonderful man he was. Yes, we had our four children and three years later, Daniel was in a horrible accident that took him away from me.

Perhaps that’s why I am respectin’ his wishes and writin’ it all for the one who’ll take my place. Should I be so bold as to assume she’ll carry my name?

To get on with my story, then.

Sara! Now, she’s one to be watched. I love my daughter, but she’s a vindictive little cuss. No amount of discipline could tame her. Doesn’t give a rat’s damn about anyone but herself. God help the man who tangles with her. She’s also too greedy for her own good.

Ian and Bridget, my twins are wild spirits. I would never encourage them to investigate any powers they might or might not have. They’d be too reckless and I doubt they’d use any powers wisely.

Ah, but Declan. He’s the promise for the future. I can see him passing down my legacy.

Back to me:

When I entered my teenage years, while I recognized the powers I had, I hesitated using them. They frightened me. I was terrified of anyone who knew of my family, always wondering if they’d understand and accept who or what I was.

It was Danial who helped me grow into my inheritance. Thank the Lord for Daniel.

Kate read on for hours until she could barely see straight. There were a few Gaelic words she didn’t understand and wrote them down intending to ask Mrs. Anderson about them in the morning.

“Thank God, grandmother’s journal wasn’t a long one. She seems to have highlighted on the important parts of her life instead of everyday stuff.”

Curiosity fanned her face, and she picked up her purse. She pulled out the photo of her great-grandmother and walked down the hall to the bathroom all the tenants shared. Kate gently tugged on the hanging cord and turned on the overhead light. She then, locked the door and stared, simultaneously at Kathleen’s photo and the image that looked back at her in the mirror.

“We have the same color eyes. My hair is a bit darker, while hers has a more reddish tone. I have a dent in my chin. She doesn’t. I also have a mole on my right cheek, while she doesn’t. Other than those subtle differences, we could pass as sisters. Maybe not twins, but definitely, sisters. Should I take this as a coincidence?”

She walked back to her room picked up the small case with her toiletries and walked back to the bathroom where she brushed her teeth, washed her face, and stared once again, at the woman looking back. She smiled as she pulled the cord to extinguish the overhead light, then, again, walked down the hall to her room.

“Well, that was stupid of me. I should have taken everything on the first trip! Where was my brain? Probably still in the journal.”

Realizing that she had finished her tea, she quietly carried everything down the stairs. After washing the dishes and setting everything in the drainboard to dry, she opened the refrigerator and found a small bottle of water.

Back in her room, she opened the journal again to finish the last few pages.

Her great-grandmother’s life was fascinating, and she realized that they had more in common than she could have guessed.

The final page had only a few sentences. “You must read my Spells and Potions book. Since you’ve read this, you now know that this is your inheritance. God speed, my lovely granddaughter. Remember, I’m always here when you need me.”

“Well, now, that was weird. How could she have known that a granddaughter and not a grandson would be the one to inherit? Oh, wait, she was a witch. I’d forgotten.”

As she closed the book, she heard someone down the hall turn on a radio.

The song not only brought goosebumps to her skin but brought warmth to her heart.

She heard the first two lines of that song as clearly as if someone were standing in her room.

I'll take you home again, Kathleen Across the ocean wild and wide

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mark Graham19 days ago

    Another great chapter.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.