Fiction logo

Lost little homes

Homeless - Microfiction

By KodahPublished 7 days ago โ€ข 2 min read

"Did you find food? What's up?"

"No. There taking my stuff, I think they want to adopt me and take my home."

"Really?"- His hand scratches his ear.

"I think so." She takes a glance to watch them remove her tattered, claw-marked bed, which is debris from a thrift shop's clearance. "Maybe I'll have a name now?!"- She attempts to add light to the situation.

"Yes, Finally. I remember you always wanted to have a name. That was your dream since the day I first met you in a rubbish can at LA lane"- He peaks around the box to watch them take her stuff.

"I wanna ask if you can come too! Then we'll have a home together!"

"I don't think they'll say yes, remember we used to count the amount of people who would just walk by and scream, "Rabies!"

She tilts her head at the ground of the reflection from an intoxicant liquid.

Steps creeping behind her were the new called parents coming to pick her up. Different in their perspective.

"Bye, Best friend." She lets out a cute bark while being placed into a box.

He watches her fade into the distance of unknown discovery. Homeless dogs aren't smart enough to interpret adoption, they just thrill through the fact of being taken away from the streets.

He trudged away, his steps heavy with the weight of sadness, his eyes downcast as he navigates the maze of towering boxes. Making his way back to his crafted home of cardboard and metal bounded in clever ways.

"Right! Now where's the other dog?!"- The two guys come back and pull out a net.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Honestly, I didn't think the last line was necessary due to my original plan of keeping it simple and having the female dog adopted by an actual compassionate family. But I decided to add a little twist at the end that its actually a council ranger (or whatever the fuck you call it) to take it to the pound ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Also I'm so sorry for all the delayed in reading all of your stories! I promise I'll get my flow back real soon <3

PsychologicalStream of ConsciousnessMicrofictionFable

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Ainy Abrahamabout 13 hours ago

    This story touched my heart. Bad men should stay away from any animal. You wrote a bleeding topic.

  • Novel Allen4 days ago

    I am a cat person, soooooo. Ok I am sorry dogie, I hope you get away from the bad men!!!! And find a home too.

  • Priya P.5 days ago

    No!!!!!!๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

  • Jade Loson6 days ago

    Nooo the poor dogs!! ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ Such a twist! Well done!

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    Argh, I wondered if it might be, and then I was lulled, and then I was betrayed!

  • Kageno Hoshino6 days ago

    this took a Sad turn

  • Oh no, that was so sad ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

  • Caroline Craven6 days ago

    Oof - thatโ€™s a sad twist but this is awesome. ๐Ÿ’”

  • angela hepworth6 days ago

    Such a sad twist ๐Ÿ˜ญโ™ฅ๏ธ

  • Carrie 6 days ago

    Sure was a twist! Nice idea!

  • Lana V Lynx7 days ago

    The twist made me sad, but thatโ€™s the reality, unfortunately.

  • Excellent story and the twist is good

KodahWritten by Kodah

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.