Fiction logo

The Goblin

1st April, Story #92/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
48
I asked AI for a "grotesque goblin". Spec fulfilled, thank you playground.

I wake up and he's there. He dogs my steps all day, like an especially loyal... well... dog. Except I like dogs, and he's loathsome.

He's there the second I wake up, and when I get into bed in the evening, there he is again. The thing I've came to hate the most about him is his relentlessness.

It doesn't matter what I'm doing or where I am. He's always elbowing his way in, trying to be involved. When I'm having a conversation, he's right there, tapping me on the shoulder. Persistent.

He makes me cry. Makes me despair. Makes it hard to concentrate, hard to sleep. He siphons away my energy, taints my enjoyment of all things.

He makes it hard to leave the house. But when I do, he comes with me. I don't get to see friends that often, and when I do, they can't see him. I sometimes think they have a hard time believing he's there, that he's always there.

I know my good friends and the most empathetic people are close to believing me, to understanding. But even for them, I'm sure that in five minutes, or five hours, they will be thinking of something else. I don't blame them one bit. I would, too, if I were them. But I don't have that luxury. The thought makes me feel alone. Like an abusive partner, he steadily isolates me. Alienates as many friends as he can.

I dread waking up in the morning. I dread lying in bed at night, trying to ignore him enough to sleep. He's found his way into my dreams.

He's ghastly. A lot of people are scared of him, even of just the idea of him. That's understandable. What they often don't understand is, when he's your constant companion, he stops being scary. He becomes the worst kind of boring.

I'm just so tired of him. So tired. I've tried many things to get rid of him. All kinds of potions and poisons to purge him from my life. Nothing's ever worked.

I'm exhausted.

There is no end to this story. Just that. I'm exhausted and I want this pain to fuck off.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 1st April at 14.17

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Secondly, also very important: this is not autobiographical. I am fine!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 92 day streak since the 1st January. I'm collating them in my Index post.

The story behind the story - this is a story about Complex Regional Pain Pain Syndrome (CRPS), which is severe, persistent and debilitating pain, possily in response to injury. It's poorly understood, and the prognosis isn't great. It's nicknamed the "suicide disease".

If you'd like some prompts to get your inky juices flowing, have a look at my prompts for April! These include my birthday indulgence: a Fucked Up Fairy Tales Unofficial Challenge, which I'll be posting more about soon 😁

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Leaving a comment makes that easier 😁

Short StoryMicrofiction
48

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Janee Austen24 days ago

    This is fantastic

  • Andrea Corwin 26 days ago

    This is fabulous! The photo is so creepy and right for this story. I was thinking a real goblin until closer to the end. Funny thing is, my shoulder is giving me heck right now and I relate to the goblin pushing in, following, always hanging around. Great job, I loved it! Congrats on TS!!

  • Ameer Bibi26 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story Your resilience is an inspiration to all who know you. Keep inspiring others with your strength

  • Caroline Jane26 days ago

    Great analogy. Inspired tbh. Got me in a headlock with it. ❤️

  • Alexander McEvoy26 days ago

    Hey, LC! Congrats on an awesome Top Story! The whole time I was reading this, my heart was in my throat. I couldn't quite place where it came from, but it was there, creeping and persistent. Absolutely LOVED this one!

  • Glacier Heart27 days ago

    A GOBBLING A DOG NOW OR ALWAYS BEEN A BEAST ANIMAL ?

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Congrats on the TS

  • cameron Jernings27 days ago

    [jeeter](https://jeetersjuicecart.com)

  • cameron Jernings27 days ago

    <a href="https://www.jeetersjuicecart.com/">This is amazing work thanks </a> <a href="https://www.jeetersjuicecart.com/product-category/jeeter-juice-carts/">This is amazing work thanks </a> <a href="https://www.jeetersjuicecart.com/about-us/">This is amazing work thanks </a> <a href="https://www.jeetersjuicecart.com/jeeter-juice-shop/">This is amazing work thanks </a> <a href="https://www.jeetersjuicecart.com/jeeter-apparel/">This is amazing </a>

  • Margaret Brennan27 days ago

    absolutely fantastic. makes me think of someone who suffers from severe depression. next, I'm glad you're ok and this is just a fantastic story and lastly, CONGRATULATIONS ON TS.

  • Lamar Wiggins27 days ago

    Ha! Nice ending to a tale that even frustrated this reader as the pestering continued. Well done and congrats!

  • Paul Stewart27 days ago

    Boom. Not surprised. Well done on another fine Top Story to your collection. LC. Oh, btw, I haven't forgotten about writing a review on here for Glass Dolls. Shall do that in due time. :)

  • Rasma Raisters27 days ago

    Dark shadows always seem to stretch very long,

  • Donna Fox (HKB)27 days ago

    LC this was a really relatable and griping piece!! Very grateful it's not autobiographical!! I also feel like the way you represented the thing (pain) that plagued the narrator it could be interpreted as other things like addiction, greed, etc. Just my opinion though! Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Gerard DiLeo27 days ago

    Some shadows are dark, indeed. Well done.

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    I live with CRPS and am grateful for the challenge you proposed although I am not sure how to formulate it.

  • Daniel Bradbury27 days ago

    Clever analogy! I like the characterization of your pain as a physical being.

  • JBaz27 days ago

    ‘The worst kind of boring’ That says it all No longer frightening just fucking done with it Congratulations

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    Damn good; should be a top story and read by more writers!

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • This is so raw. Wow. Beautiful!

  • Kenny Penn28 days ago

    My gawd this is so well done. I can’t believe it hasn’t made top story already. There have been a few times in my life when I could relate to every word of this. Great job, L.C.!

  • Phil Flannery29 days ago

    I know so many people dragging their Goblins through their day. This seems to describe it perfectly. Well done.

  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Wow, L.C. this was full of aching and rawness. The characterization of pain as a relentless and tiresome goblin is genius.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.