Fiction logo

The Getaway

Better to abide by the law than disobey it and spend life in prison!

By Jessica PhoenixPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
The Getaway
Photo by Jason Dent on Unsplash

Midnight.

It is always so.

Wind howled like the echoes of a thousand lost souls. The land was a frozen wasteland- frost crept up windowpanes and snow drifted down to lie on rooftops and ground like the feathers of a goose. Light from streetlamps was the only thing illuminating the darkness that had swallowed the world. Traffic lights gleamed red, and I watched cars pass through the lanes in front of them. The cars behind the red light waited in strangling silence, Like I was, longing to move as the night wore on.

I sat alone in the car positioned outside the bank. It would be but a few moments before the crew emerged, and I’d have to drive at lightning speed to escape the seething jaws of the police. I sometimes wondered if I was doing the right thing. I was well paid, but was money really worth risking my freedom over?

Suddenly, the bank erupted in noise; Sirens wailed a shrill call, footsteps thundered loudly, and the unmistakable sound of a gunshot broke the stillness. I pressed my foot to the gas pedal, then stared into the distance.

It was time for this getaway driver…

To get away.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Jessica Phoenix

I like to dig deep into things and find out their true meanings, and while I don't always succeed, it's exhilarating to try.

I write for challenges sometimes, but you'll also find me writing little stories for fun.

❤️Skating❤️

❤️Singing❤️

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jessica Phoenix (Author)11 months ago

    Why thank you! I like to work outside the box :D

  • Alexandria Stanwyck11 months ago

    I love the descriptive way you spoke of the area outside of the bank. And having from the getaway driver's point of view, genius. So often, we see on tv shows and books the perspective of the ones inside the bank and not those outside. My favorite part though was the play on words at the end. "Getaway driver." "Get away."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.