Fiction logo

The Frozen Pond Part Four

It is a long journey, and it is only just begun.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The Frozen Pond Part Four
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

Another knock on Tazi’s front door came, and when she got up to answer, she mentally shut down the thoughts that she was having so vividly about Leroy. Upon opening the front door to greet whoever was there, her breath caught in her throat when she saw that it was Leroy.

“Leroy, what are you doing here? It’s not that I am not happy to see you, but I wish that you had called me first. I could have been out and doing more research on the frozen pond issue.” Tazi said.

“Look, Tazi, let’s stop playing these silly mind games. We both liked each other, and I can see there is interest here, so let’s be honest with each other about our feelings towards one another.” Leroy said.

Now seeing Leroy when Tazi opened her front door was one thing she could handle, but what he was saying made her pause, and she didn’t know what to say or how to respond. Tazi was like a deer blinded by someone’s headlights.

“Leroy listens; we have always been good friends why. Why in the world would you come to Detroit to say something like this to me? I mean, seriously, I may have a boyfriend.” Tazi said.

“Leroy, you seem like a nice man, and I know that we work together on different assignments when they come down the pipeline, but this is a bit awkward for me. How about we first talk about what you have found, and then we can come back to what you said early to me, okay!” Tazi said.

“Okay, Tazi, that is fine with me. However, I need you to know how I truly feel about you. I do not want any misunderstandings about what you assume I feel for you. I am going to lay it all on the table for you.” Leroy said.

“From what I have found out about the frozen pond isn’t that much. There used to be a gravesite plot there with others that have passed on the afterlife. Here is what is interesting, Tazi your name shows up everywhere that I search. Ir doesn’t make sense, being that I am standing right here in front of you.” Leroy said.

Now by this point, Tazi had no words for what Leroy had said. First, Leroy told her over the phone that she was dead. Second, Leroy shows up at her hotel room, and lastly, he declares his love for her.

“Leroy, I am pleased to see you, but you just showing up at my front door is not cool. I know that it is a hotel room, but it is madness because I paid for it no matter where I am. You have made me extremely nervous with you showing up like this.” Tazi said.

“Tazi, I am honoring your wishes by talking about work first, but it seems as if you want to talk about how I feel about you know. If you are not ready to hear my heart, then let us focus on the task at hand, the frozen pond, okay.” Leroy said.

“You are right, Leroy. We will talk about work first, but this conversation isn’t over by a long shot. You can’t come up to me and confess your love for me like this, knowing that we have a dangerous job to do. What are you even thinking about?” Tazi asked.

“When I found your death certificate, that is what made me come to Detroit. You do not understand the level of pain and hurt I was feeling, knowing that you are already dead. You don’t understand all of the vivid fantasies I have been having over you. Thinking of us building a life together. You have no idea.” Leroy said.

Before Tazi could respond, Leroy kissed her in the mouth and held on to her for dear life.

Classical
3

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.