Fiction logo

The FrostWing Chronicles

Battle of Ice and Blood, Chapter 5

By Robert GrossPublished 2 years ago 28 min read
Like

Chapter 5- When the Three Suns set

In the frozen draconic kingdom of Frostheim, The Overseer Lord walked into the keep. “Sigrune has a better connection to Eyrokar than even I thought. She evaded my grasp for the last time.” The Overseer lord growled. “I recommend you take the fight to Eyrokar himself, OverSeer. We know he resides within the Human Kingdom of Sharmsorn. Because you failed to kill Sigrune, his power has manifested to twice of what it was!” Farison growled. “I will have you know this small setback changes nothing. Lord Devarius wants Eyrokar’s DNA to create an Army; He will have the Draconian as he ordered. The unity grants us their distractions. Eyrokar will never allow his daughter to come to harm.” The Overseer Lord said as he glared at Verix. “He failed to defend his dear wives. What makes you think he could protect his little offspring?” Farison asked. “I know Eyrokar better than anyone else within this room. A Frost Dragon with nothing to live for, to love is far the most dangerous thing in existence.” Said an aged Draconian. “Jarliran… what do you know of the Frost Prince?” Farison asked. “I fought alongside him during the Dragon War turned to the Dragon and Mortal war. When we besieged Neelam, something in him clicked into place. A Calling. He had family there, and this was far before he married the Wolvar princess. You are digging your own grave by targeting the half-breed. Suppose you plan to get to Eyrokar truly. Capturing his daughter is the only way to get anything out of him.” Jarliran sighed.

“Eyrokar is still Dark Fallen. If Tyrara learns how to control the Dark Fallen energy fully, she becomes a far greater threat than Eyrokar. Remember Jarliran; she is still the Daughter of Angrathar; if she gains his power, nothing can stop their wrath.” Farison growled. “Farison, you speak of Tyrara as if you know her. The only thing you did to harm her was rape her son!” The Overseer Lord growled. “Stay your teeth, half Breed. I lived under Angrathar's reign. The Draconian was only stalling our place within the universe. Tyrara and her late sister Pyrexia believe that our kind held more power across the universe than the council by using their Draconian forms. Just keep your knowledge in the ways of this world, and keep your nose out of ours.” Farison growled. “You should watch your tongue with me, General. I am still your superior. Lord Devarius has given me full power over the Dragunity Empire. What Verix does is of little concern to me; my only focus is Frost.” The Overseer lord growled. “I understand your thoughts. And what if Frost or even your wife Loriana leans off who you are under that visage?” Farison asked. “I assure you, Frost means nothing to me. Keep Loriana out of this.” The Overseer Lord growled. “Ahh, so you do hold some love towards the Slave. That was most expected, my Lord.” Farison chuckled. “She is no SLAVE! She has a connection to Eyrokar through her sister, Aris. We could use her to our advantage… But she must feel safe enough to cooperate. Just because you used to rape the gladiators doesn’t give you the right to claim such accusations. Because of you, Eyrokar is such a great threat.” The Overseer Lord growled as he walked towards the doors. “I did what was necessary to break his will. As ordered by King Tyrannus.” Farison sighed. “That order made Eyrokar as a child into a weapon. And now, where is Tyrannus? Dead, Killed by Eyrokar’s claws. A child… A young Draconian with nothing broke into the keep and kills his father. Now I have to clean up your mess and defeat the greatest threat the Thawsor Empire has ever faced. I will no longer require your services.” The Overseer Lord hissed as he existed the keep. “... You did what to Eyrokar as a Child, Farison? Raped Him?” Jarliran asked. “Well, yes. Breaking his spirit was quick… enjoyable.” Farison laughed. “No wonder why he hates males so much. Why a child of all things?” Jarliran asked. “He was easier to manipulate… besides, I thought he was going to die within the arena! Once Tyrannus heard of what I did, he threatened to demote me. But I am no Dragon, Jarliran. I am a Demonic Dragon; I hold more power than you and Verix. The Overseer Lord is my only obstacle to dominion over this world! You can’t stop, and definitely not Frost!” Farison growled as he pushed Jarliran out of his way. Jarliran glared back at the evil dragon, “...First that, then you kill his family? All he wanted was to live in peace! He wasn’t a threat once he left us behind!” Jarliran growled. Farison stopped, “I am fully aware of that. I just like tormenting the bastard.” Farison chuckled as he left the keep.

The Overseer Lord walked out of Frostheim onto the howling winds of the snowy hills of the Dragon Hills. “My Lord, shall we accompany you?” Asked a demon. “No, I will end this myself.” the Overseer Lord sighed as he kept walking briskly into the snowy haze.

Eyrokar, Ereadus, aid Sigrune all worked with Baros, Aris, and Sif. “... Frostheim has four towers; each tower is used by Draconian Twisters, who are all slaves. If we gather a large enough army, the twisters will rebel to our cause,” Eyrokar said, pointing at a map of Frostheim. “You already have the full support of the Sharmsorn Guard,” Baros said proudly. “Yes, but humans will not be enough. Sif, as you are now the Queen of Howlsdall, do I have wolvar support?” Eyrokar asked. “Of course! It’s about time we began to push the Dragunity Empire back to Dragonia and the Thawsor back to hell.” Sif said happily. “I know my crew is not militaristic to your standards, Father, but they will fight with you,” Ereadus said as he fixed his collar. “Even then, the mass of the Thawsor onslaught will still be too much… Sif, Sigrune, Ereadus, I want you three to accompany me on a long quest.” Eyrokar sighed. “What is it, Dad?” Sigrune asked. “We need those of combative magical energy equivalent to that of the Dragunity Empire. I haven’t spoken to her since I told her I killed him.” Eyrokar sighed. “Who?” Ereadus asked. “My Mother, Frost Queen Tyrara Frost; Empress of the FrostWing Empire. Since I killed my father, I have not spoken to her… and that was… before I married your mother. It seems not so long ago, but it was. Aris, Winter… I spoke with Ahmenset at Neelam shortly after… the darkest night. She was willing to assist back then, but I do understand the time difference. Head to the Pyramids of the FrostFire Desert, and convene with Ahmenset about helping us set things right.” Eyrokar growled. “Got it; where should we meet once we have gathered the forces?” Aris asked. “Spire Rock… There we will rally the troops and get ready for the attack.” Eyrokar sighed. “What of the Overseer Lord?” Winter asked. Eyrokar darted his eyes to his petite wife, “I will not allow any further delays. Sif, we are to cross through the Dark Forest following the Dragon Spine Mountains. There is… something I want to see in Howlsdall. From there, we will edge the Shimmering Canyon into Spire Rock valley. Trek through the Tyrara Mountains onto the twisted lands. From there, we will reach Northwind.” Eyrokar sighed. “Why are we going to the southmost part of the Karsara Lands when we could just go north? What is so important in Howlsdall?” Ereadus asked. “I made your mother a promise… and I still have yet to break a single one to her.” Eyrokar sighed. “Why did you wait until now?” Sif asked. “I needed this confidence boost. To walk back into Howlsdall… after they exiled, to stand where I was helpless when Fairson… we leave in the morning.” Eyrokar growled as he stormed off. “I know mom died, but he never told me where she is buried,” Ereadus said. “I’m sure father did. Momma Kayla and my Mother are both buried under the tree near home, where Korak is buried.” Sigrune said. “Korak? Our brother who never lived?” Ereadus asked. “Yes, you idiot! Are you drunk right now or just stupid?” Sigrune growled. “Neither… It’s hard even to consider him our brother since he was never born.” Ereadus said. Sigrune sighed in frustration, “Insensitive fool.” Sigrune sighed as she walked away. “It’s not my fault he died! Mom is gone, and Father is already depressed! … I’m going to the tavern!” Ereadus yelled as he walked off. “What is wrong with your family?” Basor asked Aris. “Eyrokar was a slave, and Ereadus is the son of two undead, give them a break. Sigrune is the only normal one in the family. The rest of us… have our problems.” Aris sighed. “I see.” Baros sighed, looking back at the map and changing the subject.

Eyrokar walked into his chambers in the tower of the keep. He plopped onto his bed and grabbed his family picture. He took the painted picture out of the frame and held it close to his face to the point he could see the tiny brush strokes. He sighed, “I think the final promise is in order, Dear. I will see to it that it is done. I just hope you can remember your end of the bargain.” Eyrokar sighed to himself. “No matter what comes our way, I will always love you.” Kayla’s voice echoed within the depressed Draconian mind. The thought of her voice calmed him, “I hope we are reunited soon enough.” Eyrokar said under his breath. “Is everything okay, Honey?” Winter asked as she entered his chambers and walked up to her husband. She sat beside him and placed her hands on his leg. Eyrokar sat up, still fixated on the painting. Winter looked at it with him. “I miss Kayla and Isarnia too. Remember, they are my sisters.” Winter said, trying to converse with her love. “I made you three a promise that I failed to uphold… I just hope everything can go as I planned.” Eyrokar sighed. You didn’t tell me what it was you planned. How can I help if I don’t know?” Winter asked. “I treated you're the worst of our odd family. Neglected you… I want to make it right before we embark on this… possible suicidal task.” Eyrokar said as he laid the painting down on the bedside table. “Neglected me? What do you mean?” Winter asked, confused. “Sigrune, Drakon, Ereadus, Korak. I never gifted you with a child of your own. I feel as if I failed to give you the same love as I do Kayla or Isarnia. Unlike them, you never forced me to mate with you. You never threw yourself upon me. You treat me the way I like to be treated. But I feel I never treated as you wanted.” Eyrokar signed. Winter hugged his arm. “You gave me all I could want, Protection, Love, someone to hold… I never felt ready for children. But seeing you be such a great father turns me on. I am happy with you! So… if you want to lay me. I guess we could.” Winter said shyly. “Winter, I don’t care about the pleasure. I am happy when you are.” Eyrokar sighed. “I know… you are so damn perfect! Shut up, and love me.” Winter said quickly as she perked up and kissed the Draconian. Eyrokar pushed her back, “Winter… Don’t do this unless you want to.” Eyrokar said softly. “What is wrong with you?” Winter asked her husband. “What do you mean by that?” he asked. “What kind of male turns down sex?” She asked. “The pure kind, the kind that is dying out. I never was up to Kayla’s standard. I hope I can at least meet your standards.” Eyrokar sighed as he embarrassedly lowered his head. Winter placed her hands upon Eyrokar’s wolvar head and lifted him to meet her eyes. “I love you no matter what you do. You make me feel safe, loved, and life is never dull when you are around. How about we just cuddle and sleep tonight?” Winter asked. “I would love that. Would you want this form or my true form?” Eyrokar asked. “I married a Draconian, not a Wolvar.” Winter giggled. “I missed your laughter.” Eyrokar chuckled as he transformed back into his natural form. He held onto Winter and laid back to rest for the night.

The following morning, Eyrokar was already awake and on his way to Northwind to recruit the FrostWing Empire to help him end the war. Winter was comfortable, but she knew she had much to do to help her husband. She lept out of bed and quickly got to work with Leoira. As Eyrokar left, he kissed Aris and hugged Winter. They watch with pride as their husband. Their satisfaction quickly melted to sorrow to have a vague feeling he may not return.

Eyrokar, Ereadus, and Sif were walking toward the dark forest. “The Dark Forest… There is a Death Scales Nest within the wooden vegetation. I recommend you both remain close. Because I am a Draconian, the Death Scales will be hurrying to catch their prey, Me. If you see anything red glowing in the shadows, tell me before it strikes.” Eyrokar sighed. “Why waltz into a Death Scale-ridden forest when we could just sail around?” Ereadus asked. “I… don’t trust boats. You throw a tree into the ocean; it sinks; how does a boat float? Magic?” Eyrokar asked. “No, by giving more surface area to distribute weight, and wood floats rather well, not dense trees.” Ereadus laughed. “My knowledge is with Magic and the best way to kill something. I have a good imagination… I was thinking of a way to propel arrows at great speeds so the enemy can’t guard against it.” Eyrokar said. “A pistol? That already exists, Dad.” Ereadus said as he shot a Death Scale in a tree. "That uses pyrotechnics to throw a rock. I am thinking of utilizing the energy within a Frostite crystal to send not just arrows but also magical bolts of energy at a target similar to that of a Decimator, but less… Decimation.” Eyrokar sighed. “So… a Cannon? That exists too.” Ereadus sighed. “No, Boy! Think of your little gun, but with the capability of magical energy without the attenuation of magical power. Magical self-defense in everyone’s hand. If I could harness the projection power of Frostite, we would no longer require Horses to draw carriages and wagons! I am thinking of several universes ahead!” Eyrokar growled. “Right, and next, you're going to tell me that the stars are not just the gods looking down upon us.” Ereadus scoffed. “Gods? Notevora is a star! We are on a star! That is the universe, countless worlds, countless races. Dragonia is that bright blue star with a slight golden flash. Woltra is that dim green star with a darker hue! I am a Dragon; I have knowledge beyond your understanding! I know at night that odd-lit cloud at night is just part of the universe we call home. I have no idea what lies there, but I know the dark reach is just a portal to other worlds. My mother lived in another world; how do you think she got here?” Eyrokar asked. “Uhh, magic? It’s not like your Draconians are literally a byproduct of your powers. Your Mother felt that two legs are better than four.” Ereadus scoffed. “I find two legs and two arms far better than four legs and no arms. Easier to lay your mother with.” Eyrokar grinned proudly. “I do not want to hear anything close to you banging my mother or any of my mothers! I could have sworn Mom was bad at keeping such words to herself… That woman was a book when it came to you two.” Ereadus signed. “All I said, it was easier to lay with her. I spoke of nothing sexual… you did.” Eyrokar growled. “Is it odd that I can tell the age difference between you?” Sif asked. “What do you mean?” Ereadus asked crossly. “Well, you are older than your father now. Eyrokar, you still have the tenacity of a young adult. In a small sense, immature in ways.” Sif laughed. “ I assure you I am not Immature. I just… don’t like talking about my personal life to others. Little do I like talking about it with those I am intimate with. I… I like to keep such things to myself. I did it for nearly fifty years; I can keep doing it until the universe is consumed by darkness.” Eyrokar growled. Ereadus pulled on his father’s white furry tail, and Eyrokar kicked him down! “Do NOT touch my tail! Now, please remain vigilant. I do not want to fight a Death scale right now. Let me enjoy the soft rustling of the leaves!” Eyrokar growled as he moved on. Sif quickly made it to his side. Ereadus brushed off the dirt from his coat and followed his Dark Fallen father. Sif saw the red glow of a Death Scale’s eyes, and she grabbed onto Eyrokar’s arm in fear. “Don’t worry; that spider will only strike if you get trapped in its web. Only the Warriors strike at their prey.” Eyrokar sighed as he pulled his arm from her grasp.

Nearing sundown, they reached the edge of the Dark Forest. Eyrokar caught a glimpse of the Wooden walls of Howlsdall. He let out a long-drawn sigh. “Perhaps we should avoid Howlsdall?” he said with a slight growl. “Oh no, I want to see where you buried mom!” Ereadus growled as he grabbed onto Eyrokar’s arm. Eyrokar pushed Ereadus away, “I refuse to set foot into the city that I lost everything at!” Eyrokar growled. “Dad… Stop being a Bitch and face your failure. You want to see Mom’s grave as much as I do!” Ereadus growled. Eyrokar showed his teeth to his son’s words and then reflected upon his wishes. “If I want to end this war, I need the Wolvar to help. Bah, I can’t run from my past forever. The Karsara Lands are only so large. Please keep to yourselves for a while. I need to… coup with my loss.” Eyrokar sighed as his memories replayed within his mind with each step. Ereadus understood his father’s wishes and quietly followed behind with Sif in tow.

Eyrokar’s eyes fixated on a log and sank his head. Ereadus looked at the register, “That’s where Drakon and I were taught how to survive without our powers… those were good times.” Ereadus said quietly. Sif nudged him to stay quiet for Eyrokar. The draconian stopped staring at the ground just before his paws. The suspense annoyed Sif, “What is it?” she asked. “It was here… Farison killed Kayla and Isarnia. Where I was… helpless, her paw print is still here… I… Let us keep moving.” Eyrokar growled, collecting himself. As Eyrokar kept walking, Ereadus stopped to observe the paw print. “How the hell does he know that’s Mom’s print?” He asked himself. Then he noticed his father was nearly at Howlsdall’s gate. He rushed over to his father and Sif. She was expecting to enter the city, but Eyrokar turned to an overgrown path leading around the city walls. The sounds of the city and the smells of Wolvar dishes were welcoming to the Frosts and Sif. The young princess noticed the new wood built into the walls and a slight charring on to older wood. They then arrived at a hill overlooking the calm ocean. Atop the hill stood the ruins of what looked to be a small cabin. A single tree stood atop the mountain, and at the foot of that tree stood three smooth-faced rocked with inscriptions upon them. Sif then noticed Eyrokar’s steppes becoming heavy and slow. Something about this hill weighed him down. It then snapped to her; this was his home; those rocks are the headstones of his lost family. But why three stones, she thought. Eyrokar walked up to the graves, and Ereadus stopped Sif from following to allow his father to grieve in peace.

Eyrokar walked up to the stones and lay beside them. “I failed you, all three of you. Fail is not the right word, but it is how I feel. You told me to end this war and never change how I am… And here twenty-five years later. I come to you for that final push of resonance. That burst of focus as I lost you… all of you. I know you may not see this, but, Ereadus has come back into my life. Bringing Winter and Aris with him. That was enough to be pushed to do what is right. Now here I am… asking for your forgiveness. I know you will grant it to me. When next we meet, I will take my place as King of the FrostWing Empire. I love you with all my frozen heart. To death and far beyond. Kayla, I know you would be greatly proud of me and even more excited to know Ereadus is safely back home. I will let him speak with you while I do, as we discussed a long time ago.” Eyrokar sighed as he kissed the dirt below him. He waved at Ereadus. The half Wolvar walked up to his father, and Eyrokar walked off into the ruined house. Ereadus looked back to his father, then down to the dirt. “I can’t believe I am talking to a mound of dirt on the bones of my mother. Hi, Mom… I know you are probably disappointed in me. Uhh, I have many great things to tell you that I have done in another land. I worked with the Equinus to solidify their ties with the Bearsaug. Why am I talking? I just lie to dad.” Ereadus growled. “You know, I was wondering if you died. I was getting lonely with no one to talk to.” said a voice coming from the stone. The ghostly Wolvar appeared! Ereadus jumped back, “Sif are you seeing this?” Ereadus asked. “What? There is nothing there.” Sif said, confused. “Calm down, Ereadus. Only loved ones can see their fall. Heh, look at you. My fierce little warrior, a handsome smuggler?” asked the ghost. Ereadus realized the ghost was his mother, Kayla! “I was a pirate. But I do what I do for the good of those who don’t have much… I never realized how gorgeous your eyes were.” Ereadus said softly. “Don’t flirt with me, son. My mind, body, and soul belong to that fool of a husband of mine.” Kayla laughed, her voice heavenly and calming. “I was not trying to, mother. I’m sorry I ran off… the story behind it is rather funny. I wanted to get you and dad a nice gift. Momma Winter and Aris joined me, and we found ourselves on a ship. We had no money to return, and we discovered problems we could not ignore there, so we did what we could. I missed you and Dad. So we sailed back on my ship only to discover you have… passed. Did Dad see you?”Ereadus asked. “You lived quite the life… I am proud of you. There is something about your father that you should know. Due to his Dark Fallen state, He can’t see reality as normal people can. His vision is clouded in darkness; only the light of those he loved can he see. I was so happy he came back to see me. I grow tired of keeping this form. Please, Ereadus, tell your father I love him, and I know he will follow through on our plan. As for you, Ereadus, I’m glad you are alright. See you soon enough.” Kayla said as she faded away with the wind. “Mom… I’m so sorry.” Ereadus sighed sadly. “Done?” Eyrokar asked. “Dad… Mom says she loves you and hopes you will complete the plan you two made. What did she mean?” Ereadus asked. “Your drinking too much. Souls at rest won’t waste their time speaking to you. But, Your mother and I made a plan, a plan that I am currently in the process of completing. If you were to have spoken to her, tell me, what color eyes does she have?” Eyrokar asked. “Her right eye is yellow, and her left eye is blue. She has the voice of an angel. I swear to you, Father, I did speak to her. She says you can’t go due to that Dark Fallen thing.” Ereadus said. Eyrokar gasped and looked down. “Why are you wasting your time on this troublesome world, my love? Sif, go to the keep and claim your place as Queen.” Eyrokar sighed. “There is a problem with that. By FrostWing Law...For me to take the throne, I need a King.” Sif said, referring to the Draconian. Eyrokar looked back at Ereadus. “Sorry, Dad. I am not into Wolvar. I have a thing for Equinus.” Ereadus sighed. “I didn’t say anything… Ereadus… Ask your mother if she would allow it.” Eyrokar sighed. “Okay. Mom, is it okay if Dad Cheats on you?” Ereadus asked. “He’s not cheating since I asked me.” Kayla said as an echo in Ereadus’ head. “I don’t think that is how that works.” Ereadus sighed. “Look, your foolish son of mine. Eyrokar would more than likely not even touch her. He is too loyal for that.” Kayla growled. “Mom… Mom said yes. Can we please get going?” Ereadus asked crossly. “Calm down; this is just one step to our plan.” Eyrokar sighed. “It would be nice if you could inform me of this plan so I could be more help.” Ereadus growled. “In time, my son. I am still not finding it that easy to be a father. I have been away for far too long, or I am too young for this.” Eyrokar growled as he looked at Sif. “I never expected getting married… even more so to a Draconian, a beautiful Draconian.” Sif said excitedly. “What does he have then I don’t?” Ereadus asked crossly. “He doesn’t get jealous. He doesn’t try to compare himself to others… heroic, and is always willing to help. I can see why Kayla, Isarnia, Winter, and Aris all married you.” Sif said flirtatiously. “I hope you are not expecting a massive reception. I don’t like to be put on a show.” Eyrokar sighed. “No, I don’t want to waste your time with something small.” Sif said sadly. “After the ends, then we will have a wedding. Let's get you in place so I can continue my plan.” Eyrokar sighed. “Dad? No coitus?” Ereadus scoffed. Eyrokar looked back at his son, “Did you forget your manners, boy? There are far greater things at risk now than ever. Sif will get her moment in time once she is ready.” Eyrokar signed. “Uhh, not yet.” Sif blushed. “ It was a joke… gah, I hate this mindless banter! When are we going to Northwind? I want to see a Draconian city!” Ereadus growled. “We will get there soon enough. We will have to cross the Shimmering Canyon to the beginning of the Twisted Lands. There we will cross lands of great Dark Fallen energy. Within the Twisted Lands are elementals that were twisted by the Dark Fallen power. I will be able to cross without difficulty. You two, however, will be targeted.” Eyrokar said as he looked up at the sun to calculate the time of day. “Why is it called the twisted lands?” Ereadus asked. Eyrokar ignored his question, “It’s nearing night; we shall remain here in Howlsdall for the night.” Eyrokar sighed as he turned back to the graves and walked up to them. He lay on the ground at the base of stones. “Ereadus, care to help me claim the throne? Heh heh, your my son now too.” Sif giggled. “Bitch, you young enough to my daughter.” Ereadus scoffed as he pushed past her and walked towards the main gate. Sif glared back at Eyrokar, “Perhaps he won’t mind if I join him for the night,” Sif said as she walked up to the Draconian in his Wolvar form. She laid on the grass beside him and her head on his thigh. Eyrokar looked at her, “You have a bed inside the city. Why remain out here with me?” Eyrokar asked. “You’re my husband; we stick together through all times, hard or easy.” Sif sighed as she closed her eyes. Eyrokar placed his claws across her arm. He then pulled her into his arms. “Why are you laying out here?” Sif asked softly. “I haven’t been this close to Kayla or Isarnia in years. Even though they are merely… bones by now-” Eyrokar stopped to kiss the dirt. “-Come, let's get you into bed. I can’t sleep… too many bad memories.” Eyrokar sighed as he stood up and held Sif’s hand. She led him away from the graves and Frost hill.

They walked through the main gate, and Eyrokar looked upon the Wolvar city. Many of the buildings were charred, and some were destroyed. “This is all recent… is this what Sigrune implied?” Sif asked. “I would seem. This Overseer Lord had two targets, her and your father… or was there more to his attack?” Eyrokar asked. A female WolfGuard spotted Sif and quickly ran over. “My Lady! Your alive!” said the guard happily, then she laid her yellow eyes upon Eyrokar. “L… Lord Frost… After all these years, you too are alive? Our parents are greatly filled with sorrow at your exile. Please, let me be the first to welcome you home.” said the wolf guard as she bowed to him. Looking downwards, she noticed Sif’s hand in Eyrokar’s claw. She then perked up, “My Lord, are you two… Lovers?” She asked nervously, trying not to anger the Draconian; many guards and Citizens gathered around in concern. “Not yet, but we are to be married soon. Henceforth I would like to introduce the new Queen of Howlsdall!” Eyrokar said proudly. All the concerned Guards and citizens of Howlsdall all bowed to their new Queen. “Everyone… I am not very good at public speaking… Uhh, I promise you all I am not like my father. I will not deal with the demons; I will not trade your freedom for my greed! We are all FrostWing Imperials; We stand with this great Draconian who stands in defiance of Verix and Devarius! Join us as we take the fight to Frostheim, and overthrow the tyrannical King and his Demon overlord!” Sif said proudly. Everyone, even Eyrokar, was shocked by her words. Everyone began to cheer and salute in the FrostWing Manner with their right fist over their hearts, complete with a slight bow. Eyrokar turned to Sif, “Was that an attempt to get me to find you more attractive?” He asked. “A little.” Sif blushed. “Listen up FrostWing Imperials. I am planning a massive attack on Frostheim and will require all able, willing bodies. Many of you may recall the history book the Battle of SpireRock? Had only Princess Kayla and I pushed that attack further, we could have ended this war years ago before it got out of hand. Now I am asking you all to give me your want for freedom and help me fight to end this! In two weeks, all the gathered forces will meet at SpireRock valley. From there, we will march upon Frostheim, bring a swift end to the Karsara reign, and trample any Thawsorian demon who dares get in our way! I am next to speak with Empress Tyrara, My Mother, to help us in this endeavor. My Daughter Sigrune and her mothers are working with the Felinor also to acquire their help. The Humans of Sharmsorn have already given their pledge. This time… I will do what is right to end this and bring peace to the lands. I may be Prince of the FrostWing Empire, but I will take my place as King by this end. The task I had dreaded for so long. I make way for Northwind in the morning. Any help you all can give will be greatly appreciated.” Eyrokar said as he turned to Sif. “Let us get some rest… We have a long journey ahead of us. Where did Ereadus go?” Eyrokar asked. “I think he went to the nearest mead hall,” Sif said, looking around. “He’s an adult… he can fend for himself. Come, I can tell you are tired.” Eyrokar sighed as he walked towards the keep of Howlsdall. Walking on the cobblestone road, Eyrokar felt at home, but he still felt lost without Kayla at his side. As the Draconian and his new wife walked into the keep from afar, the Overseer Lord observed the Wolvar’s pledge to the FrostWing Empire.

“So that’s the Frost Dragon in person… Unfocused, the mind wanders… Yes, he would be an easy target. But that other Wolvar he travels with, the male… he seems familiar. Could he be that pirate who was capable of defeating me?” The Overseer Lord asked himself. He continued to overlook Howlsdall in their preparations during the night. He was creating plans to thwart Eyrokar in his tracks and stop the Draconian from gaining allies.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Robert Gross

I started working on the FrostWing series back in high school. My teachers were so impressed by them that they allowed me to work on them instead of the class work. The FrostWing series is still in progress. Comments and feedback is welcome

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.