Fiction logo

The End Of The Beginning

By Fatima Barrie

By Fatima BarriePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2

“I stared at the void,” he said with fear and panic in his eyes, “it called me, the same way it called this earth, it stared back at me” with tears rolling from his eyes as he explained his story, “I still hear the sounds'' he continued aggressively gripping his face with both hands as he screamed out “ YOU SHOULD HAVE BEEN THERE!!!” the atmosphere changed, senses were heightened his words shook everyone in the room

“YOU SHOULD HAVE MARVEL IN THE TRUTH OF OUR NOTHINGNESS; I STARED IN THE FACE OF THE VOID, THE FACE OF THE UNIVERSE, THE TRUTH OF ALL LIFE!!!”

He kept shaking, and his voice got louder and started to crack

“I SAW THE FACE OF CREATION AND DESTRUCTION “

You could see it in his eyes, this man had witnessed the supernatural, he had seen more than human, there wasn’t the word to describe what this man was going through, and if there were, then I wouldn’t know because I failed English even though I speak the language, but this isn’t a story about me, it’s about all of us bounded by our inevitable ability to ruin things.

Picture this a story as old as time; boy meets girl, boy breaks girls heart and girl goes into a deep depression, but this time change girl with Earth and Man, the greatest mistake of the universe with the boy, throwing all our chances of survival out the window like a cheating husband with his mistress, this species called the human race destroyed itself, they saw the patterns but were too blind to it.

This man has seen a greater power than anything, and he has witnessed, and he is astonished and petrified of it all.

He started crying in his chair, and then he started laughing

“All of you,” he laughed

“All of you do not know what is to come” he paused

“You are all gonna be trampled and crushed by the void, die while you can, for there is no fooling yourself for wanting the luxury to live,” he continued explaining, telling everyone that it was better to die now than to struggle and die for nothing later because it will not make a difference, he started acting strangely, then he went will full force with tears from his eyes and screaming as loud as he could for everyone to hear

“ KILLLLL MEEEEEE, I HAVE SEEEEN THE FACE OF CREATOR”

He charged at the first person he saw, a tall figure, his face I could not make out clearly, but as the man charged at him, he knocked him down

The man laid there kept crying and turning, screaming out for the void, calling out as if something or someone will save him, and then finally he started crying

“Let me go, this world is filled with suffering, I don’t wish to be here any longer, I just want this all to end, I just…want..to stop…being human.”

Conflictive and controversial but true, nobody wanted to be human, who could blame him?

Who would want to be selfish, destructive, vile, corrupt, and egotistic as man, who would want to be someone with so much potential for good, corrupts it with self-interest and abuses his power, but that was my point of view, how I saw things, I did not see all humans as bad, I’m human myself, but what is humanity’s true nature if not the nature of chaos because for them true order is disorder, and if that is all they choose to offer then what should we call man if not by how he portrays himself.

They tied his hands and carried him away, to where? I do not know. His words shook the people, but all were gathered here in this auditorium or what was left of it, the faction leaders assembled, all four factions gathered in one place, with a total population of 50 people left of the human race, feeling like the evolution ladder swiped left on most of us and left only the ones they couldn’t decide on.

The case of The Void Seer presented himself, what was the next step for us, Ergin, the Leader of the North Faction, Kaper, the leader of the South Faction, Santigie, The leader of the West Faction and Joe, The leader of East Faction must address this, and I don't even know if anyone could handle this, I doubt if anyone could make something out of this. I get that this man left the safe zone and saw what he shouldn’t have seen, but with more cases like this, people going out of the safe zone leaving their factions, and witnessing these events is something that is becoming a pressing concern.

Joe got up from this seat facing the people; he looked at the chair The Void Seer was seated in, and then he looked at the people, the last of man, divided into factions, scared for their lives, there was murmuring and chatter amongst the people.

“All of us in this room are going to die.”

He said with a tone that silenced the entire room; for someone that wants to calm down people, he is doing a bad job; all eyes were on him; why did he say what he said?

“Either by our own making or by the making of others, we will all die in this world, and nothing will change that. We are all here on borrowed time, I know that you know that, and they know that, “ pointing to his faction leaders, his deep voice with gravitas conveying all he had to say

“What we need to do is stop worrying about things that haven’t happened yet; let me ask you this?” He paused and stared at the crowd

“Are we all dead right now?”

The murmuring started again, confusion filled the room, and everyone was staring; the answer was no, but have any of us felt alive? Are we not just living, getting through one day to the next day on autopilot, and it has become our routine.

“The answer is no,” he said out loud for all to hear

“We are alive, and that's what’s here, right now, we are alive, we haven’t even made it through today, and you have yourselves worried about tomorrow. “

After he said this, he stood for a moment and took a look at everyone; we caught a glimpse of each other, saw him and the scar on his left eye that ran down to his chin; I still wonder what happened to him.

He went back to his seat, and Ergin stood up; he started to talk. “People,” he said, and before he could utter another word, there was an explosion, “BOOOOMM!!!!” It went, and everything went blasting away, screams and confusion his the auditorium, and everyone started running, three men entered the place with M16’s and started letting out bullets, a fight breaking out, well extinction when you think of it, all of humanity in one place for these guys, how convenient. The faction leaders and the guards started to fight, but they were no match for this surprise; six men followed the three that came earlier, and the rest were on their way; what’s going on? I asked myself as I was met fleeing from the scene. I turned, and I looked, and I saw a man with scars all over his body gripping the throat of Joe, “Where is it?” He asked

Joe was silent; he punched Joe repeatedly and screamed in his face; Joe and Santigie were the only two faction leaders left alive, Kaper and Ergin had been killed in the attack,

“GIVE ME THE HEART OF THE GOD THAT WALKED AMONGST”

He screamed out in his voice, scary as if he was a demon, screeching at Joe as he choked the life of him

Santigie was dead as he was shot by the scary figure behind the guy choking Joe

“Where is the heart?” As he said for the last time before Joe let out a remark, “Burn in hell” as he took his last breath, releasing two grenades with pins removed on the floor, and they went off, I had almost left the scene, but I heard them say

“FIND THE HEART '' and then suddenly I saw the tall figure who had taken The Void seer away; it was Ketshia’s Brother, Prince.

“Fatimeh,” he called out to me, choking on his blood,

“Prince,” I screamed out with tears in my eyes, I couldn’t say another word as he passed me a heart-shaped locket into my hand, and with his dying breath, he said, “protect it,” and then he died. There was no time to mourn the dead as those men that attacked were coming for me. It appears this locket is what they are after; the heart-shaped locket is important for some reason and Prince gave his life holding on to it; I ran as far as my legs could carry me, all of humanity might be dead, the faction leaders are dead, I have a weird necklace that’s responsible for all of this, and I don’t even know where to go, I fell to the sand and screamed.

“GIVE ME THE HEART OF THE GOD THAT WALKED AMONGST US”

That was what he said to that man; this locket means something but what? What makes the locket so important? I examined it for a while, and nothing was off with it; it was just an ordinary locket in the shape of a heart,

“VOID”

A voice said out behind me, I turned, and I saw it was The Void Seer bleeding to death; I ran to him as he fell to the sand asking him what any of this means, asking him about the locket, he looked at me with his eyes iris turned glowing blue, he said

“The Void was once with man, but man's hearts were corrupt,” he coughed out. The last he said was “Find the Void” I saw in his blues eyes that minute that the Void was a far greater power than I thought. Still, before I could make any sense of it, I saw a sand storm coming; I looked clearly but saw it was no Sand storm, these were the people who attacked us, and they were coming for this locket, I could hear who I thought to be the leader shout out “GIVE ME THE HEART” from afar.

I started to run before they caught up, they were shooting, and I managed to dodge the attacks, but there were tons of wounds all over before I could go anywhere; they were closing in, I was almost at the edge of the safe zone, I crossed it and then ran to this cave.

This locket is connected to the Void. I don’t know how but the Void was once a human, and the locket is involved. Maybe the Void lived amongst us humans for a while until he saw us for what we were and then left and chose to destroy this world. I sat on this rock, and then I fell, everything from sight disappeared, and everything slowed down. I turned to see me falling down this colorful vacuum; I saw the bullets slowly make their way in, the necklace was falling above me. I reached out to get it as we were falling slowly. I heard them shouting for the heart, and then I saw it.

I saw The Void, it lit up my eyes, it was wonderful, it was a beautiful sight, it was spectacular, but then it was terrifying. I was naked before its overwhelming presence, I saw the Void, and I had its heart.

The End.

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Fatima Barrie

We don’t integrate, We recreate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.