Fiction logo

The Dilemma of Dusk or Doom

Will this decision open up a bright future or the destruction of a planet?

By Bellamy NguyenPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
Like

I live in Dusk, the city that never sees the sunlight. Our existence, tucked under a thick, ever-present canopy of clouds generated by the GeoDome, relies on artificial lights to mimic the day and dark cycles of the old Earth we left behind. As a technician maintaining the CloudMakers, ensuring perpetual overcast to protect us from the lethal radiation of our adopted star, my role is considered crucial. However, living under artificial conditions has always made me question the very fabric of our reality.

One morning, or what passes for morning in Dusk, a message disrupted the routine monotony of my job. It was encrypted, a rare thing in these times of supposed transparency. “Meet at the old observatory at true dusk. The future of Dusk depends on it.” The sender was anonymous, and every logical part of my brain screamed that it was a trap. Yet, curiosity—a trait that had always set me apart from my by-the-script colleagues—got the better of me.

I found myself climbing the winding stairs of the dilapidated observatory that evening, the structure abandoned since the GeoDome’s activation. The observatory was outside the city limits, a relic overlooking the darkened landscape. As true dusk approached, the sky above shimmered slightly, a glitch in the GeoDome’s matrix that few noticed.

“Glad you could make it,” a voice echoed in the dim light, as a figure stepped out from the shadows. It was Dr. Elara Myles, the architect of the GeoDome, presumed dead after the radiation disaster that necessitated its creation.

“Dr. Myles! But how? Why are you here?” I stammered, my mind racing with questions.

She smiled, a mixture of sadness and resolve lining her features. “To show you the truth,” she replied, motioning me to follow her into the dome of the observatory.

Inside, she activated an old, dusty console, and the roof creaked open, revealing a sliver of the real sky—a clear night filled with stars, untouched by the artificial clouds below.

“The GeoDome was meant to be temporary,” she confessed, her voice heavy with unspoken guilt. “But power, fear, and the illusion of safety turned it into a permanent solution. We live in perpetual dusk, never facing the realities of our new world.”

I looked at her, stunned, the implications of her words slowly dawning on me. “You want to dismantle the Dome?”

“Not dismantle, but adapt. Integrate. Let natural light gradually return. There are risks, but there are also treatments now, ways to protect ourselves from the radiation that weren’t available when we first arrived,” she explained, her eyes pleading for understanding.

The weight of her proposal was enormous. It meant upheaval, challenging everything the citizens of Dusk had come to accept. It meant hope but also potential chaos.

“Why me?” I finally asked.

“Because you question, you wonder, you seek truths. And you can access the CloudMakers,” she said simply.

Leaving the observatory that night, I felt the weight of the world on my shoulders. The clear sky above the GeoDome haunted me, the stars a reminder of the vastness of the universe and our small place within it. Dr. Myles had given me no proof other than her word and the brief glimpse of the sky. Yet, something within me stirred, a longing for daylight, for sunsets and sunrises, for a life governed by natural laws rather than technological barriers.

The next days were a blur as I wrestled with the decision. Exposing the truth meant disrupting lives, inciting fear, and potentially causing widespread dissent. Yet, concealing it meant continuing a lie that bound us all to perpetual twilight.

In the end, the choice came down to a simple yet profound belief in humanity’s ability to adapt and overcome. We had fled one dying world and could not let fear make us prisoners in another. I chose to believe in the possibility of a brighter future, literally and metaphorically.

So, I began the process, slowly, carefully, reducing the density of the CloudMakers, letting the natural light leak into our world in slivers of dawn. The transition was met with mixed reactions—fear, anger, wonder, joy. But each day, as more light filtered through the clouds, I saw a city transform, not just in light but in spirit.

The future of Dusk remains uncertain, but for the first time since our arrival, it faces the promise of a new dawn. And as for me, I no longer just maintain the machinery; I am part of a greater movement, shaping not just the atmosphere, but the very destiny of our civilization.

thrillerShort StorySci FiFantasyFan FictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Bellamy Nguyen

Hello, I'm a storyteller on Vocal.media . Through my tales, I aim to transport readers beyond the mundane into worlds where the improbable becomes possible and magic intertwines with reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.