Fiction logo

The Fracture - A time travel experiment

A future visit

By Bellamy NguyenPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
Like

I always knew that time travel was a bad idea. Still, when the government announced the Fracture Program—meant to avert the climate crisis by making small, precise adjustments to the past—even I, a staunch cynic, found myself swept up in a wave of hopeful hysteria. After a rigorous selection process, due to my background in environmental science and, ironically, my skepticism, I was chosen as one of the travelers.

Sitting in the cramped confines of the Chronopod, surrounded by panels of blinking lights and the steady hum of the temporal engine, I felt the weight of humanity's hope on my shoulders. Dr. Helena Marks, the head of the program, had given me a simple task: travel back twenty years and implement a key piece of climate legislation that had narrowly failed to pass.

"Change the vote, change the future," Dr. Marks had said. Her words echoed in my mind as the temporal displacement began. The sensation was indescribable, a mixture of falling and floating, and then, just as suddenly as it had begun, it was over.

I stepped out into a world that was familiar yet unsettlingly different. The air was cleaner, the sky a clear blue I hadn't seen since childhood. I had arrived a week before the critical vote. My mission was to convince just one senator, whose original no vote had been the tipping point.

Disguised as a lobbyist, I approached Senator Miles at a fundraiser, armed with data and projections. But, as I spoke to him, I realized something startling. The senator was not the corrupt, uncaring figure I had imagined. He was deeply concerned about the economic impact on his constituents, worried about job losses in the fossil fuel industry.

The depth of his conviction and his genuine desire to do right by the people shook me. It wasn't ignorance or malice that had shaped the original outcome; it was a complex web of fear, uncertainty, and competing interests.

Days passed as I wrestled with my mission. Could I, in good conscience, manipulate this man into changing his vote, knowing it wasn't ignorance I was combating but a different kind of awareness?

The night before the vote, I made a decision. Instead of pushing harder, I sat down with Senator Miles and shared the future as I knew it. The ravaged coastlines, the wildfires, the millions displaced by climate change. I didn't know if it was the truth that moved him or the realization of what would come to pass, but the next day, he changed his vote.

The legislation passed, and I returned to the present, eager to see the utopia I had helped create. But the world I returned to was not the one I had left. Yes, the environmental disasters had been mitigated, but the ripple effects of that change had created new crises. Economic collapse in regions dependent on fossil fuels, political upheaval from rapid shifts in energy policy, nations unprepared for the pace of change.

As I walked through the streets of this altered world, I realized the naivety of our ambition. Time was not a line but a complex web, and every thread pulled caused unanticipated vibrations elsewhere.

Dr. Marks met me as I returned to the Fracture Program headquarters. "Did we do the right thing?" I asked her, the images of both the world I had saved and the world I had disrupted haunting me.

"We did a right thing," she replied carefully. "But perhaps not the only right thing. Time travel isn't about playing God. It's about learning that some problems don't have quick fixes, no matter how powerful the tools at our disposal."

I left the headquarters feeling unsettled. We had set out to save the world, only to learn that every salvation has its costs. As I write this account, I wonder about the ethics of our interventions and the true cost of altering the course of history.

The Fracture Program continues, but I have chosen not to travel again. Instead, I dedicate myself to solving today's problems today, without the seductive allure of easy fixes from yesterday or tomorrow. Because, in the end, every generation must face its challenges head-on, armed with nothing more than the will to do better and the wisdom to know that every action, every decision, carries weight far beyond its immediate consequences.

AdventureShort StorySci FiFantasyFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Bellamy Nguyen

Hello, I'm a storyteller on Vocal.media . Through my tales, I aim to transport readers beyond the mundane into worlds where the improbable becomes possible and magic intertwines with reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.