Fiction logo

The Cry Of a Bird

Life story of a bird

By Mohammad ArifPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

I am a bird, A little bird. I used to fly happily in the open air but today I am longing for freedom in a cage and my only fault is that I am so beautiful. The beauty of my soft feathers is their color. They are very bright on me. Just like my mother's wings.

My mother forgot the way to fly with her friends from another country and came to my father's country. She liked the lovely weather here so much that she refused to go back with her friends and said that even in this country it is cold. There is summer and autumn, even spring, while the country from which we have come, there is only cold snow and clouds all year round. I want to stay here now.

Friends used to say, your country is as it is, it is yours, don't leave it like this, let's put our heart in our cold and dry weather, but my mother was very stubborn, she didn't believe it, after a long time her wings got a bang. On the other hand, it was seen in his own country only after a while. She said goodbye to her sad friends. You people should not think that I have not shown loyalty to the homeland because my homeland is not just a specific piece of the sky but my homeland is the whole sky. This whole earth, this whole world. These open spaces.

These mountains, these trees, the gardens, the heights hidden in the winds. It's all mine. This whole universe is mine as far as the power of my flight is concerned. The friends left disappointed and then my mother fell in love with the atmosphere of this country.

Dad would get up in the morning, mentioning the darkness, and would go out to bring the grain for us. Whenever there was a wheat harvest season, the grains would be scattered everywhere. We would easily come back with a full stomach and sometimes we would have to travel long distances in search of sustenance and even after a day of searching we would return hungry.

In such a case, a good person would sometimes make small pieces of stale bread and put them on the roof, but he would happily satisfy his hunger and come back praying to that good person. Sometimes I think how small it is to make stale bread crumbs in the house and put them on the roof for the birds. It only takes ten minutes and what a blessing it is for us. I wish all human beings would realize how much prayers they get for hungry birds in return for their little hard work and how great this bread is for the birds.

That day, mother and father all went for a picnic. We all landed carefully in a very beautiful and quiet place at the request of my father. We had come flying from a long distance so everyone was thirsty. There was a beautiful spring of water from which we started to quench our thirst. Looking around, Dad said, "I don't see any birds except us in such a lovely and quiet place.

Something went wrong. The hunters may have acted some time ago, for fear of which the surrounding birds flew away." It seems to me that until recently this place was a place for birds. Before the water-drinking mother could answer, the hour of doomsday came, the thought of which still haunts me today.

We tried hard, but we were hit by a hard net and injured, but we couldn't get out. The hunters skillfully pulled us out and locked us in a cage. My brother and father were locked in a separate cage and I was locked up with my mother saying that these are two colorful birds with colorful wings that will sell very expensively.

Hearing this, mother started cracking in the cage. She was hitting the walls of the cage. I used to eat wheat grains, bread crumbs and sometimes rice or millet, but I didn't know anything else to eat. After a while, my heart was pounding in the cage. I was even more sad when I saw my mother lying on the floor of the cage.

The two hunters were talking. These two birds are from outside the country. What beautiful colors. When I heard the praise of myself and my mother, my heart began to pound. Malik Sahib has ordered imported colorful birds. They have to deliver them today and the cost is to fetch water. Come on man, I'm hungry. One of them took out the cage of my father and brother and opened it. I thought they were releasing him now but he took the knife in front of us and put it on my father's neck. I looked at my father with tears in my eyes. They were watching me and my mother.

He ate and drank and looked around and saw mother in the cage. Hey Bashir Ahmed! She died. He grabbed my lovely little winged mother with one hand and threw her into a clump of trees and closed the cage door. Hey dude, did you know that you would cook it too? One of them made a big belch and grabbed his stomach and said, "I swear I have eaten 45 whole birds but my stomach is not full. To fill my stomach, I have chicken." Let's go back. They got in the car. Someone put me in the car with the cage.

I cried and looked at the wings of my father and brother lying on the ground. As the car drove away, I took one last look at the clump of trees where my mother lay. I wish my mother had just come flying and hid me in her wings but I kept crying and my mother still did not come. There were many colorful and rare birds in Malik Sahib's house. Everyone had their own sorrows and their own stories. Malik Sahib, They were good people. They had given all the birds a good environment to eat and drink, but they had taken away their freedom.

Where is the blue sky and where are the cage walls? My heart wants me to fly in the open air or it is better to fall like a mother and die than to be imprisoned. A bird in the cage said that Malik Sahib's wife had died a few days ago so Malik Sahib released all the birds What was I will not lie to all of you. I tell the truth. I get up every morning and praise him and then I pray that Aji Malik Sahib's second wife dies so that I may be free.

Beware dear! I told my story so that all of you, adults and children, would appreciate the great blessing of God Almighty, which is called freedom. The freedom he has given us should not be taken away from us, because we birds pray as badly as I pray for the death of Malik Sahib's wife. Keep a drop of water so that they do not get stuck in such a place and their hunger and thirst will be satisfied.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Mohammad Arif

I am health professional and freelance writer, who have 4 years of experience in the field of freelance writing. I also offer paraphrasing/rewriting services to my clients.I love to work on subjects like HEALTH & fitness, fashion, travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.