Fiction logo

The Creature Lurks

Don't Look Up

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
63

The creature lurks in the uppermost corner of your kitchen door, in the in-between dimension where angles meet.

It can only be seen from directly below, but you never look up, so you don't know it's there.

Tiny, spiny tendrils spool out and latch onto the walls, pulling forth from the angular void a proboscis with gnashing needle teeth.

It sucks your energy every time you walk in and out of the kitchen, delighting most of all in the sugar-sweet creamy caffeine rush it gets with your morning coffee.

The creature lurks because you keep it coming back...

Short StorySci FiHorrorFantasy
63

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Good psychological piece

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    When I thought I saw nightmare creepers in the void of my room at night, my mother used to say that our minds tend to fill in shadows, but that once the light is on, there is rarely anything there at all. My mother CLEARLY never watched horror movies. LOL! Love this!

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Reminds me of this video titled, "CORNERFOLK|?" https://youtu.be/SzSMHFFRi8I Apologies for not leaving a more insightful comment at the time. Gotta dash, and hopefully not get nabbed by any corner creatures.

  • This is psychological and so good! It sent chills running down my spine!

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    I love the scary psychology in this short story.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖✨🎉

  • Lilyabout a year ago

    This was horrifying. I love it!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Very cool!

  • Abdullah Javaid Khanabout a year ago

    This Is An outstanding Poem, I love it @C.Rommial Butler I think You And Youre Followers Should Also View My Posts Also Becuase There Very Informative And Good And i think You Guys Would Like It So Please Give An moment to visit my Page.

  • I'm glad I take my coffee without sugar, lol! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Hey, leave my girlfriend alone! :)

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    very creepy, and well executed! great work :D

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Switched to black coffee, it is pissed. 😂

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Creep-tastiic! And I love the art!

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Wow this was so creepy and well written. I read it twice and still got shivers lol Great job!

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    I know this creature quite well lol great story

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    OMG this is so creepy and good! 😱☕

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on top story!!! This is awesome 🤩

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is wonderful. Well done.

  • dotarsojatabout a year ago

    this great!

  • Michele Hardyabout a year ago

    Oh that gave me a great case of the Ickes and hyucks. Great read!

  • Dwriterabout a year ago

    Hi, read my stories

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.