Fiction logo

The chocolate cake

By Aleks Ekelund

By Aleks EkelundPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The chocolate cake
Photo by Ayesha Firdaus on Unsplash

It was staring at me. The big, juicy piece of cake that Jane had placed on the table. The scent of chocolate made my mouth water, and I could feel some drool running past my lips ono the chair on which I was sitting. She had told me I was not allowed to touch it, that it was poisonous to me and that I would get extremely sick if I even tasted a small piece of it. I think she was lying; Jane simply did not like to share her chocolate. She never did. Oh, how many nights I had spent at her feet begging for a small taste, always to the same response.

“Its not good for you Thomas, you will get sick”

I loved Jane dearly, she made me happier than anyone on the planet. Even happier than my brother, James, that was currently lying on the floor dead asleep, not a single care shown for the delicious piece of desert standing on the table. I did not understand him much at times. There were so many delicious foods to eat, so many new tastes to explore, but he never cared much for things like that. I did, however, and I really wanted to taste that chocolate cake. I knew how much Jane liked chocolate, and if she liked it so much it just had to me sensational, and still she had never let me touch even the tiniest bit of it. She probably knew, that if I had a taste, I would love it just as much as she did, and then she would not have it for herself anymore. Rather selfish of her, but at the end of the day – I did not like to share my food either. Especially if it was chicken. I did not like to share my chicken.

I could hear Jane walking upstairs, talking to someone, Dean most likely. I liked Dean; he was always nice to me. But right now, I did not care for much else than the piece of cake in front of me. I could not stop looking at it. The straps from the party hat that Jane had put on my head felt uncomfortable around my head, but I knew it made her happy to see me in it, so I let it be – she always took so many pictures of me when I was wearing things like that, and if it made her happy, it made me happy. Even though I did not truly see the point with it. But if I let it stay on then maybe – just maybe, she would let me have a taste. When I thought about it, she would not even notice if a small piece were missing. I stretched out my head towards it, if I just tasted a teeny, tiny bit, she probably would not even see it. I was so close.

“Thomas, I told you not to touch that” I had not heard her come down the stairs, but I quickly pulled back from the cake, a bit ashamed when I heard the accusing tone in her voice. And I felt disappointed. I had been so close. So awfully close I could almost have reached out and licked it. The chocolate. The delicious smelling piece of cake. I looked at her when she knelt down and put another party hat on James – he was still on the floor but awake now, still uninterested about anything going on around him. I scowled at Jane, and she walked over to me.

“Hahaha don’t worry bud” she said. “I haven’t forgotten about you” She petted me on my head and walked over to the fridge, from which she pulled out a small piece of cake. Of course Jane had not forgotten about me! I wagged my tail vigorously in happiness, it was not a chocolate cake, but I did no longer care – Jane had bought me a cake! She laughed at my reaction and sat down by my side as I jumped of the kitchen chair, my party hat tilting on my head.

“This is all for you buddy” she said, petting my head again, the cake on a plate in her hand. “We just have to wait for Dean, the birthday boy, to come downstairs and we will all eat together, ok?” I did not enjoy waiting but it was ok, all that mattered was that Jane loved me the most - which she clearly did since she had bought me a cake of my very own. And I loved her; more than anything else in the world.

familyfamily

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AEWritten by Aleks Ekelund

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.