Fiction logo

The Blessed Lands

Freedom comes to life...

By PrettySavagePublishingsPublished 2 years ago 25 min read
Like
The Blessed Lands

There weren't always dragons in the valley, little did I know I would become one...

For a moment everything stopped moving and it was so quiet. I could hear my breathing; I watched my chest rise, up and down. My vision was cloudy while sweat trickled down my forehead. What was happening to me? I fell...

I have never been afraid of the dark, mostly the opposite but this darkness was deep, and empty it made me cold and I couldn't stop falling. I hit something so hard that my face stuck to the surface I could see my reflection through tight eyes and dim light that shone in the distance, I touched my face, it didn't feel like my face I strained to see myself more clearly. I could see my reflection through a puddle of my blood, and I continued to fall...

I'm floating, above a waterfall that leads to the most beautiful lake of fire, the flames dance in my eyes and play at the hem of my dress sliding over my exposed skin and I plunge, through the waterfall and my body anticipates hitting this wall of flames but I slow down, inches in front of this wall of fire the blue and orange flames beckon to me. I don't know if they were reaching out to me or if I was just curious, I put fingertip to flame and the inferno pulls me in...

The pain, the fire ripped through me and it seemed endless all I could do was surrender...I felt broken and at the same time mended. I keep falling, the wind whips by me forcing my eyes to remain closed. I land, a thud that echoes in the dark. I’m laying in the middle of I don't know where and I could hear something it sounded far off from me but I could feel the vibration in the ground. I tried to move, it hurt so much I thought I might scream, and that's when I realized that far off noise I could hear were my screams, I was screaming and I don’t think anyone could hear me.

I dreamed dreams of fire and darkness and pain...then something woke me up.

I opened my eyes slowly the light filtered through in tiny streams, there was something else, I could smell wood and leaves a smell that reminded me of home. I squinted through the light and tried to see what was in front of me after a while of trying to adjust my eyes I could see the canopy of trees sprawled out before me, which meant I must be in a tree! I panicked and tried to sit up and I couldn't. There were ropes tied around my arms and legs. Ok, so what I did know was that I somehow ended up tied to a tree, I was thirsty and hungry and that really wasn't much to know given my situation. I wiggled against the ropes they were so tight I could barely move. I didn't have the energy to fight, I tried to look around and see how far up I was. Out of the corner of my eye something kept coming in and out of focus, someone was with me. I cleared my throat, it ached badly.

"Hello" I said and I was met with silence. "Please if your there, do you think you can help me get out of these ropes?"

A young man appeared on one the tree branches beside me. He was tall and his cooper skin glowed against the setting sun, he looked my age maybe a little older with broad shoulders and muscled arms. He reminded me of someone. Someone I needed to get back to. That's when the rain began, thunder roared above us.

"Are you going to cry? Please don’t I will help you" the young man spoke.

"I’m not crying but it would be nice if you helped me, it’s starting to rain" I sniffed "Do you know how I got in this tree?” I asked.

While untying the ropes he spoke.

"I was hunting down in the forest and you appeared, falling from the sky" he said pointing up "I couldn't carry you back to the village with all my stuff and I was afraid if I waited for you to wake up we would get caught in the dark and we do not want to be in the forest at dark." he stated standing up.

I was free. He offered me his hand to help stand and my legs were weak, I had to lean into his chest to keep from falling to my death. I have fallen enough for one day.

"So are we going to hang out in this tree all day or is there a way down" I said finally finding my balance against the tree placing my hands up against the tree trunk. He bent over and picked up the rope tying one end to the tree and holding the other end in his hand.

"Grab on to me and we will be on the floor in no time" he stepped forward with the rope, I grabbed his arm and he leaped from the tree landing with a thud on the forest floor. My feet felt so good being on solid ground.

I didn’t really know what to say but "Thank you" I was so hungry, and the rain had stopped but it was getting cold.

"Let’s get going we still have some light stay close behind me hand on my bag" he said handing me a pair of shoes, they were too big for me, but I was happy to have them.

He took off into the trees and I followed close behind with my hand on his bag. We weren't talking all I could hear was the squishing of our shoes and a strange swishing sound. We walked for a while and I was getting tired, but I couldn't stop I wanted to keep up. A couple of minutes later we came up to two trees, they were so big and tall you would think you could take them to the God's.

We walked through the tall trees and just beyond them was a village, the biggest one I had ever seen. There were cottages lining the village they made a ring that led to the entry point we were at. Smoke bellowed from several chimneys, people walked back and forth, kids played. We walked past so many doors all open with delicious smells coming from them, we walked to a cottage at the back of the village it seemed like the biggest one the doors were open wide, and I could hear low voices and chanting. We crossed the threshold and once inside the room I could see two women sitting in the middle of the room holding hands with their eyes closed swaying to the low chants they were saying. The young man kneeled beside the older woman whispering something in her ear causing her to open her eyes, she looked at me and smiled.

"Finally, it's so good that you are here Kryshlin" she smiled.

I backed up to the door.

"How do you know my name?" I questioned

I never mentioned it to the boy because he never told me his name now this mysterious woman who I don't know knows my name oh and not to mention falling through fire out of the sky, this is not how I planned on my day going.

The younger woman who was there got to her feet and began to burn a small stick and with the smoke she blew it through the room.

"To clear the senses" she muttered taking her seat again.

The older woman motioned for me "Come" she said. She waved for me to sit and the young man sat next to me.

The older woman began to speak "This will sound a bit strange my love” she began “I saw you falling through the darkness, through the fire, do you know why?"

It was hard to remember anything before the fire, it made me shiver thinking about the burning.

"No, I do not" I answered.

The younger woman started to play with the smoke from a pot in the middle of our circle where she had placed the burning stick. I stared at the smoke and I began to see images in the smoke, distant screams and dark shadows. The smoke began to glow red and transform until it was an arrow and before I could react it flew at me and I was falling, again.

I dreamed, I was running through a field of beautiful flowers, the sun was so bright I felt free and happy I just kept running. Up ahead there was something I tried to slow down to get a better look, but I couldn't something just kept pushing me forward. As I got closer, I could see it was a shadow, a veil and when I went through, I was watching myself.

The sun shone on my hair, it rippled from the crown of my head down my back. I sat crossed legged braiding flowers together, a present for my mother's birthday, my skin bronze against the linen cloth of my white dress. I stood up my long arms stretching to the heavens. I looked up at the sky the wind blew me into circles, and I took off running effortlessly. I ran and the wind whipped my hair back and forth I let out a laugh from deep in my chest I felt free and content. I loved the hills and grass, I ran since I was a child usually with my best friend Iman, he was my closest friend and I loved him dearly. I thought of my family and slowed to a stop. For some reason I started to feel uneasy something is changing, I told my mother about it, but my mother just gives me a worried look and father refuses to acknowledge anything is wrong. Iman is the only one that listens, I smiled. Above me I seen a flash and immediately became on guard, I crouched low and scanned the canopy above. Another flash to my left side I switched positions. Out of nowhere a flash coming right for me and I caught it with my hand.

“Kobie! What are you doing? What did I tell you about going up so high? You could slip and fall.”

Kobie struggled against me trying to free himself.

“Let go Krys! Father said I could practice! You're the only one that can catch me I thought I would try while you were gone” he whined.

I debated letting him go, he never listens and he’s going to get himself killed. I looked at him, so we are eye to eye.

“Promise me you will not climb trees you can fall from and break your neck and I will let go” I warned him.

Kobie looked at me through tight eyes.

“I promise, now let me go before I tell mother you are off the path” he smirked at me, I released his arm.

“You wouldn’t dare, I give you coins to keep your mouth shut” I glowered at him.

Kobie straightened himself up to his full height which was almost taller than me and I was 17 he was 12.

“and I'm putting those coins to good use” he smiled.

I couldn’t help but smile back at him, my brother as annoying as he is, I love him sometimes to my own demise. I grabbed my sack of books and they fell on the ground, Kobie helped me pick them up.

“How come all of these books are in a different word?” he asked

I took the books from him and stuffed them in the sack.

“I was trying to teach myself other languages, there are so many to learn in the bless lands” I responded

I kept my eyes on the ground I wasn’t a very good liar especially to Kobie so before he could question further, I challenged him he could never turn down a challenge.

“Two coins if you race me home and win” I said getting into position.

He smiled from ear to ear knowing that I would lose, nobody was faster than Kobie maybe that’s why my father kept him close blessings were a good thing but could be dangerous. As for me no blessings here, I mean I taught myself to read different languages but I’m pretty sure that doesn’t count, my mother said everyone has a purpose and maybe mine is to look after my little brother, and I don’t mind he’s special we should all stay together. Sometimes I do have dreams of other places in the land maybe even beyond I can almost touch these places in my dream but duty before desire my father always says which kind of translates to “you will live and die right here”.

Kobie lines himself up with me “You can take a head start” he laughs.

I sling my sack across my back and take off.

My little brother had almost died in child birth and at that moment his blessing was realized amazing speed and strength, he survived, but still I worried for him he was impulsive and did not listen at all, a young boy with that much speed and strength could be dangerous, I would have to protect him. As we ran, I thought of the land and the blessed people that live here. I myself do not believe I have any special blessing my father has said that he believes my blessing is to be peaceful, I have a very calming aura. I did not mind if that was all that I got I was happy because some blessings do not seem to be such blessings. As a child my mother often took me to visit tree spirits to see if my blessings have just not been realized I never understood why my mother was so adamant about me having blessings I was fine without but father agreed with her. I was happy, maybe that is my blessing. Happiness a wonderful thought.

We made it to our village and our front door, of course Kobie won.

You cheated!" I yelled at him as he flung himself through the door.

He laughed and landed on a chair.

“You fall for it every time" he smiled.

My mother was cleaning, and my father had just walked through the door behind me, he looked tired he worked his fields most of the day.

I walked over to father and placed a kiss on his cheek.

"Hi baba"

"What have you to two been up to?" father said pointing at me and Kobie.

"Oh, just some reading" I said shooting Kobie a look.

"I was practicing my run when I ran into Kryshlin, she was far-" he started.

I cut my eyes at him.

"So far in her book I waited for her to finish then we raced back here" he smirked.

I walked over to mother giving her a hug and telling her Happy Birthday. "Furaha ya kuzaliwa" she held me for what seemed to be a long while. She let go and looked at me and held my gaze.

"Promise me you will not go places I forbid?” she asked

I looked down at my hands.

“Krys look at me, I love you now I need you to promise me binti” I said

I looked my mother in the eyes “ninaahidi” I said and she hugged me.

We all settled in like we did every evening when baba got home. Something kept me from reading like I do almost every night, my mind was racing.

In next moment everything seemed to go in slow motion, there was a loud ringing it pierced the silence, my mother and father became frantic the sound seem to grow it hurt so bad I found myself in a ball on the floor holding my head. Then there is screaming and a loud boom so many shadows, I see my dad standing in the middle of our small cottage yelling at my brother and mother, Iman burst through the door. My mother grabbed me up from the floor and hugged me pushing me quickly with Iman to the door.

She was shouting "Please go."

I didn't want to go, where was Kobie? My eyes they were starting to burn and then there was a buzz so loud that I grabbed my head and fell to my knees, Iman picked me up and carried me outside my family followed us out. Standing in our yard I could hear voices yelling in the distance, a fire appeared out of thin air flames so tall they blocked out the night sky the air around us was growing hotter. My family was surrounded by what I didn't know, my mother was screaming I could barely hear her.

"He sent the most powerful a tracker and a Pyran" she screamed "Run Iman, take her and run now"

Iman grabbed me and he ran. My feet never touched the ground, my head was swimming and then Iman stopped suddenly. He started to mumble to himself.

"100 yards away, one arrow no three" and then we were running again.

Iman was a tracker that was his blessing and I sometimes wondered if he could do other things. We were running from someone I didn't know who but whoever it was scared Iman which meant they were powerful. We ran into the oplema river and stopped I had to go back for my family, how long could we run? What if they were hurt?

"Let's go Kryshlin, we have to cross the river now" Iman yelled pulling me to the river's edge.

"Iman we can't, maybe we can hide until it's safe to go back but I can't leave." I said breathing hard.

In that moment the air seems to take on a faint glow around us and time slowed down almost to a stop I stared at Iman and his eyes widened that is when the first arrow found my gut...

I was back in the room laying on a bed staring at the cracks in the wood, sweat beaded my forehead and I cried. I wanted to remember now I wish I could forget what happened to family? is it too late to go back? Iman...

It was raining outside and after a while I sat up in the bed and found that the old woman was the only one left in the room, sitting in a chair in the corner.

The older woman left her seat in the corner and walked over to the bed

"There is so much for you to know but now is the time to rest, sleep" she said touching my forehead and I fell this time into a dreamless sleep.

The morning came, it was early I could smell the morning dew and yet the village seemed to be alive. I could hear villagers talking, children running and the smell of bread reminding me that I was starving. I sat up slowly, my head was throbbing I placed my feet on the cold wood floor it felt familiar, it felt good. I looked around I didn't see the Young man, the older woman or the young girl. There was some clothes and shoes on the end of the bed I assumed they were for me so I put them on, they fit ok they look like they might belong to a female fighter. I liked the shoes. I walked through out the cottage and could hear voices coming from the back. The older woman was talking to the young man and she called him Azizi, I watched them from the door way.

"Azizi, it is her, and you must help me." she said to him holding him by his shoulders.

"Things are going to happen the way they are meant to, you know this" she placed a kiss on his forehead.

I walked further out into the garden and it was beautiful. There were so many different flowers, they were all so bright as if they were glowing. Some I didn't even recognize, it brought tears to my eyes. As if on reflex I bent down and ran my hands through the grass, I walked along the trees playing with the leaves each one so unique and different. I felt a hand on my shoulder it was the older woman.

"Good day Kryshlin, how did you sleep?" she smiled

"Good day, I'm sorry I do not know your name. I slept fine" I smiled back

The older woman chuckled "You can call me old woman for now, come let me properly introduce you.”

The old woman walked me over to where Azizi and the young woman stood.

"This is Azizi, whom you have met" she said

I bowed my head to him.

"And this is mumi" she said pointing to the young woman "Come sit with me in the garden"

We walked to the middle of the garden shaded by the most beautiful flowers and trees. The older woman laid a purple cloth on the ground she sat down and motioned for me to sit with her.

"Join me Kryshlin" she smiled as I took my seat

"How do you know my name?" I asked

The older woman began to weave flowers together so delicately that it seemed she was barely touching them.

"Do you know the lineage of the blessed people?" she asked looking up from her flowers.

I knew of the stories my mother told me when I was a little girl, "My mother use to tell me stories at bedtime about the people and the land" I said

A feeling of sadness washed over me, how could I forget them?

"And what did she tell you?" the old woman asked

"She told me that the Blessed lands were divided into 4 bearings, the north, south, east and west. The north is where the most skilled and the most blessed lived and that is where the kings kingdom is. The east is where my family lived most blessed people worked and lived in the east. She never spoke about the south she only said that it was there." I told the older woman while having flashbacks of me and my mother.

The older woman stared at a flower that was between her fingers and after a while she spoke.

"The blessed people are very old, we come from a time when creation was unsure of what it was creating and it is said that mother of creation and a sky goddess clashed and that we were born out of chaos and triumph eternally blessed."

The older woman stood up and began to pace the garden.

"The first blessed people worked to create peace and they knew it would be hard because we were becoming stronger, with every blessed baby that was born the potential of their blessing increased. One day a little baby was born with no blessing that anyone could see, his mother and father were worried but he seemed to grow like any other child" she said taking her seat again.

A bell tolled in the distance she looked at the sky and continued.

"There was a time that the Blessed Lands were turning red with blood, the blessed would die over power and control it was truly a sad time that led to a great battle."

I thought I might have seen tears in the old woman eyes.

"There was the war and suffering everywhere, families torn apart and then that little boy I told you about that was born without blessing turned 18" she continued.

"And at this time his blessing started to manifest, he could control the sky, the water, fire his tears could heal disease, that is when the land was divided as to protect this boy so that he could bring an end to the war. He ended the war and while he could have made those that opposed him fall, he gave them a choice to kneel or be banished and they refused to kneel so they were banished to the west."

A frown appeared on the old woman face "and until this day that remains true of the west, and that little boy-" She was smiling now "Grew into a King, King Quintes your great grandfather"

My great grandfather? My mother did not speak about him, neither did my father.

"My family comes from a family of seers, I was born many years later but my family knew him" she spoke as if answering an unasked question.

"Is that how you knew who I was? I asked

"That is part of why your here, the Blessed Lands are entering into another red era I can feel it" she answered "We may very well dispose of ourselves"

We sat for a moment in the quiet.

"Kryshlin, you come from a line of Blessed kings and queens. Your grandmother and grandfather were king and queens. So were your parents" she stated

I looked at the older woman

"No, my dad worked his fields and my mom took care of us, I am sure they would have mentioned something-" I stuttered the older woman cut me off.

"There was a prophecy when you were born, your parents were not sure if it was about you but when you were born with no blessing your parents took you and disappeared, they knew that you could be the blessed child the most blessed of us all"

My ears were ringing.

"Kryshlin, your parents believed that you were that blessed child, The blessed queen. They knew that there would be people that would suspect that you were the child. Your father left the throne and it was passed down to his brother King Tiber" the older woman said handing me the crown of flowers she has woven together.

"I knew your mother" she stated a matter of fact.

I stood up it was my turn to pace the garden.

"You knew my mother? How?" I asked

"When she was queen, I was charged to be her seer, along with other things. We were both so young" The older woman got a wistful look on her face as if remembering better times.

I put my head in my hands, how do I know this is true?

"How do I know you are telling me the truth? why should I trust you?" I questioned

"I sent Azizi to you, when me and your mother had to part ways, she made me promise to watch you until your blessing manifested and to catch you when you fell, us meeting is destiny nothing happens by accident" she said

The old woman stood to her feet and offered me her hand, I took it and stood next to her.

"My blessed queen, you have survived death you have fell through the veil if you take a moment to just feel how the earth celebrates you. This garden is your creation not mine it appeared here over night" the older woman took my hands in hers "Close your eyes" she said and I did.

The older woman let go of my hands and began to walk around in circles chanting in a low voice and the air around us began to get thinner I was being pulled and then everything was still. I opened my eyes; our landscape had changed.

We were standing on a cliff very high up below us there was water I could hear the waves. The older woman stood next to me.

"Where are we?" I asked

"We are nowhere, somewhere" she sighed "We are at the edge of the bless lands where the waters meet."

"And why are were here?" I said trying to see into the distance

"Well things can change in any moment so while I can, I would like to see you call to the rain" she smiled

"The rain?" I asked puzzled looking at the old woman

"Yes, the rain. I see no other way than to prove I am telling you the truth then to see for ourselves, so close your eyes and call to the rain" She said backing up a bit

I stood there for a second not knowing what I was doing, I looked at the old woman and she smiled and nodded at me. Ok, so let's see what happens.

I closed my eyes and nothing, I kept thinking rain and nothing I stood there for a pretty long time before the old woman spoke

"Clear your mind, not only do you want to see the rain you want to feel the rain. It's all energy it is all around us and you have the ability to transform that energy you are energy, find the energy hold on to it, let it flow" She whispered.

I tried to clear my mind but images of my family kept coming to mind, we loved the rain...I felt something, it felt sort of like a wave moving inside of me my finger tips and my toes began to tingle and I feel warm all over and that's when I felt the rain. At first just little drops on my face and then it turned into a full-on monsoon. The old woman let out a very loud laugh.

"Yes, my blessed queen. I knew it and now do you believe me?" she asked

I couldn't help but laugh with her, I was blessed after all this time I was blessed.

"We must get back, there is still so much I must do and prepare you for" she said holding on to my arm

"You also have gifts" I said smirking at her accusingly

The old woman chuckled "oh my queen you have no idea, ready?"

"Yes, I am" I replied

"Ok here we-" she started

"Wait" I said "What does this all mean?"

"It means my queen the throne belongs to you" she said her face hard. “We have to fight for it ”

"Fight for it?" I frowned

"Yes my dear. with everything you have" she replied

I had no time to think before we were being pulled.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

PrettySavagePublishings

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.