Fiction logo

The Bible is a Hoax

By Connor Essedale (Best-Selling Author)

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished about a year ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
105
Photo by Matt Marzorati on Unsplash Edited using Samsung Photo Editor

“I’m out! I don’t wanna hear anything about this!”

“Petra, come on, hear me out. I know it’s controversial, but how narrow-minded could people actually be? Wait, are you narrow-minded too?” smirked Connor.

Petra let out a sigh, sat back down on her chair, and set her coffee on the table. Connor looked around the café to see if anyone noticed Petra’s abrupt attempt at departure, but they were oblivious.

“You wrote a book about Jesus Christ! Titled ‘The Bible is a Hoax’! You think people would be happy about that?!” she hissed.

“It’s fiction! Historical fiction! With sci-fi elements. But I digress. People need to learn the difference between creative imagination and blatant disrespect!”

“Okay fine, hit me with it. As your publisher, I don’t think I’ll be happy about this story but as your friend, I’m very curious about your–”, Petra did air quotes, “–historical fiction sci-fi”.

The way Connor’s face lit up, you’d think Christmas came early.

He pulled his chair closer to hers, “Look, I know this is a very sensitive and controversial topic, but I had this idea and just had to write it. You still remember how that feels, don’t you?”

“Yes, I do, so hurry up and pitch your story before I change my mind!”

Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels:
https://www.pexels.com/photo/a-man-and-a-woman-discussing-during-breaktime-6829512/

“Okay, so the story starts off in the year 3104, where time travel is as normal as driving a car. My main character, Pyroar, goes back in time to meet Jesus”.

“But why? I mean, what’s his motive?”

“Because he feels the Bible had been tampered with for the convenience of mankind as time went by. For example, the Old Testament states that a goat should be sacrificed in order to be forgiven for our sins, whereas the New Testament states that once we repent, we would be automatically forgiven”.

Petra nodded as acknowledgement and Connor proceeded, “In the future, more amendments happen and result in the Modern Testament, which states that all sins would be forgiven regardless we repent or not because God loves all. This and many such things have been grinding Pyroar’s gears–”

“Wait, so he goes back in time to meet Jesus to find out what He actually said?” Petra interrupted.

“Yes! That’s exactly it!”

“But that’s so boring. It’s more like a religious book rather than a historical fiction, let alone a sci-fi”.

Connor closed his eyes for a moment, prayed for patience to deal with Petra’s shallowness, and opened them up again, “Petra, I’m not done yet. That’s just the beginning. The plot thickens as he travels back more than 3000 years. He faces a lot of hurdles, and I mean A LOT! The toughest one was finding Jesus because guess what? His name wasn’t actually Jesus. It was Yehoshua!”

“That’s common knowledge. Translations of Yehoshua through many languages resulted in the spelling that we use now as Jesus”, Petra pointed out.

“Well, you know that. I know that. But Pyroar doesn’t! Geez woman, will you just let me tell my story?!” grumbled Connor.

Petra brought her fingers to her lips, zipped it, and threw away the imaginary key.

Connor continued, “So Pyroar learns the hard way that Jesus’ real name is Yehoshua and eventually meets Jesus. He shows Jesus the Bible and extremely shocked would be an understatement to how Jesus reacts. Jesus even goes to say that He never said most of the things in it!”

“Jesus then compiles a new Bible and passes it to Pyroar, who then returns to year 3104 and goes all out with the new Bible. Guess what happens? People. Are. Against. Him. So, Pyroar returns to the past again to convince Jesus to follow him to the future. To help mankind, Jesus agrees”.

“But all hell breaks loose when Jesus declares that He is Jesus, in 3104. People aren’t willing to believe that because He isn’t long-haired and white-skinned as He is always portrayed in photos”.

“Wow, I never thought that historical fiction and sci-fi would actually go well together. So what happens next?” asked Petra eagerly.

“Well, Jesus has to somehow prove to everyone that He indeed is Jesus”.

“And how does He do that?!”

“You have to wait because that’s for my second book, the sequel to this one!”
~~~~~

Author’s Note:

This story is a work of fiction and is by no means any form of disrespect, offense, or insult. I’m not a Christian, but I tried my best to do some research on Jesus and Christianity. Therefore, please forgive me if there are any factual mistakes in my story. 

Sources and References:

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

SatireShort StorySeriesSci FiMysteryHistoricalFantasyFableAdventure
105

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (76)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)3 months ago

    I am a Christian and I love the Bible. I believe in Jesus as my Savior. What you have written is not from a point of offense but a rather interesting piece from someone who wants to know the truth. We all do too in many other ways. Be blessed!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    "“You wrote a book about Jesus Christ! Titled ‘The Bible is a Hoax’! You think people would be happy about that?!” she hissed. “It’s fiction! Historical fiction! With sci-fi elements. But I digress. People need to learn the difference between creative imagination and blatant disrespect!”" I so respect that you added those lines! I see the Connor as a truth-seeker. I have no problems with that, even though I might not agree with his conclusions 100%. But I admire your character for searching and for having the courage to ask. Well done, Dharrsheena!!!

  • Wow, just wooow! What a great story, I need more!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Wonderfully done

  • Julie Hill5 months ago

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I spotted this story. I am firstly and most importantly, a Christian. I was apprehensive, to say the least; but I gave it a read anyway! Though this is fiction, there is truth represented in your story in that the Bible has been changed over the years. I recently read a blog post about changes made to a "version" of the Bible that completely changed the whole point of it! It is a sticky topic, but I think your story makes people stop and think about a subject that Christians often like to overlook - how time and changing attitudes bleed over into our faith. Keep challenging folks to think!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story!!🎉🎉🎉

  • Johnny Six6 months ago

    I'm looking forward to reading more of your work. It's great!

  • Patrick M. Ohana6 months ago

    I loved your story, Dharrsheena, and will only add that many scholars already knew and still know that Jesus never existed, no matter his name. I'll stop here, but the information is out there for whomever is interested. The French philosopher and educator, Michel Onfray, is a great place to start.

  • Next Koding7 months ago

    the author's usage of suspense at the end leaves the reader wanting more, setting up the potential for a sequel quite effectively, awesome

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    You are hilarious! I loved this story. Sequel please! And yeah, it may be “fiction,” but is it really? Wink, wink. I get it.😉

  • Dailyn Townes8 months ago

    It's like the historical Jesus versus the image of Jesus we have been given. I am so intrigued by what will unfold lol. Great job!

  • Joe O’Connor8 months ago

    Very interesting look at how someone could use time, and the ways that the message of Jesus may have been warped or distorted over the years.

  • Judah LoVato8 months ago

    Very well written and treated! A very good "hook"

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Love Your way of writing and clearly stating the difference and disrespect eager to read more of it ! Your fictions are really well written and they have such a great window full of fresh breath almost as if I was already reading a script for a movie !

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    I liked how your switched from the eye-catching title into a thought provoking scifi story. Its also something to point out that many depictations of jesus look like a long hair scandanvian guy than someone from the middle east of the time.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is really fun, I'd have loved to read more about the changes in the modern testament!

  • Shanica9 months ago

    Quite an interesting read!

  • Kent Brindley9 months ago

    I agree with the Bible; but I like the surprise angle of the piece as a discussion between a writer and his agent after hooking people in with the title. Well done.

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story! I thought this was well done!! It has questions in it that most people have asked at one point or another and in that way, was very insightful. 😊

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    I personally feel this was done in good taste and not offensive at all. The presentation was quite real as I could see this very conversation occurring in my own house .. probably with my son and I. Great job.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I grew up around the bible, was a luke warm believer. Now a lot of facts about life and the world is recorded in there. I feel myself being spiritual, but with an open mind. I am willing to listen to any and all views.

  • Very good

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Wow Dharrsheena!! I wasn't sure what I was expecting but this wasn't;t it! This was amazing, controversial and so captivating! I was held captive by the narrative you took in this story and in awe of perspectives you showed! I would definitely read this book! This was just so thought provoking and thrilling! 💖 Loved it! 💖

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    That was really good! (Take a look at Behold the Man by Michael Moorcock!)

  • Amelia Moore12 months ago

    I was immediately drawn in by your title... I learned about the Bible in my freshman year and I remember being surprised by how much was proven to be untruthful. Nice work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.