Fiction logo

The Anonymous Box

Short story

By Ada ZubaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
The Anonymous Box
Photo by Mediamodifier on Unsplash

I love Amazon! I mean it’s an efficient and effective way to shop without having to leave your own home. You can sit on the couch and watch the snow fall and your car being carpeted by frost as the graphite coloured truck stops by and drops off your packages like it’s Christmas. Anyways, I was staring into my phone and sitting on my couch while watching my one of my favorite show “New Girl”. I heard a thump by my door. I did not remember if I ordered anything, perhaps it was my roommate’s box. I opened the door and I came face to face with a drone. It was graphite like the colour of the Amazon truck. Maybe it was a new system they were trying out. It slowly whirred and buzzed and turned and it rose up in the sky and was out of sight. I looked down at the package at my feet. The friendly Amazon smile logo was missing. The advertisement of prime was nowhere to be seen. The blue and black tape was not there. My address was there, my name was clearly labeled on the box. It could be a gift from boyfriend, but he was not one to surprise me. I usually saw these things coming, although he does have a drone license. I shook the box and it did not sound like loose pieces. There was no ticking, so it was not a bomb. I took the package into my house. It was harmless right? It had to be. I had to open it. I placed it on my coffee table and I went into the kitchen to look for the scissors. I stared at the box for a while and I split the scissors and with the sharp edge ran it down the taped box. I unfolded the sides and I came to another box. That’s disappointing; the box within a box trick. I opened the next box and sure enough it was another box. I opened the next box. Then, I opened the next box, and the next one and the one after that. Then, finally I came across the last box. I shook it before opening it and it sounded like a single piece of something. I opened it and a single key fell out with a note taped inside the box. The note read: “334 unit 28a 21 Ave” that’s it. Great, a mystery box with a mystery key with a mystery address. Well, I did what any sensible person would do. I threw the key into my purse and drove to the address. It was an apartment building in one of the nicer communities. I parked the car and stared. I checked to make sure my location was on in my cellphone. I tucked it in the pocket of my leggings underneath my skirt. I swallowed and stepped into the apartment building. How was I supposed to get up to the apartment though? The buzzer had an auntomatic lock. I had to have a code in order to use the elevator. I tried punching in the address as the code, but an unattractive noise came the door. It was incorrect. Then I heard the ding and I looked up and sure enough someone was leaving. I took the chance and slid through and up to the elevator. I pushed the button with the apartment number, the elevator doors opened. I got off to face a single door with the apartment number on it. I gripped the key harder in my hand, I started to sweat. I gulped afraid to find out what or who was on the other side of the door like a child who was about to be pranked by her friends. I was being ridiculous, yet this after all absolutely anonymous. I could be walking into a death trap. I texted my boyfriend again. Should I report this to the police? No, it was too late now I was far too invested in this. I waited for a response from my boyfriend and nothing. I called him.

“Hey it’s Brett, please leave a message,” said his baritone voice.

“Hey babe, umm I’m at a weird address with this random key that was delivered to me. The address is 28a 21 Ave unit 334. Just in case” I said. I hung up and was faced with staring the door again. I pressed my ear against it to see if I could hear anything. There was nothing. The door must be sound proof I thought to myself. I clutched the key in my hand and shaking I slid it in and turned it until I heard a click and the door swung open. I first thing I noticed was the large windows with the view of the mountains. I could hear Brett’s voice in my head. “The ideal place has to have a view”. The kitchen was to my left and a the right side was a closet. It was newly renovated. The floors still had the original wood. It was breath taking. I stepped in and noticed roses on the kitchen island. A trail of rose petals came off the counter and onto the floor clearly planned. I followed the trail into the bedroom and there stood Brett in his red dress shirt and usual jeans. He held out a glass champagne.

“I don't get it,” is what came out of my mouth instead of “hello”.

“This place is ours. We got possession!” he said excitedly. I took the glass and we clicked them together. That's when I noticed the ring.

“Is that a ring?” I asked him and he nodded. “Are you serious?”

“More serious then I’ll ever be,” he said and he fished out the ring with his finger wiped it on his jeans and he got down on one knee. Here he was providing for me, bought a house. Planned everything. His eyes did not leave mine. He held my gaze for more than a minute. He took a deep breath.

“Will you marry me? And make me the-”

“I’d love to” I cut him off halfway through his sentence. I nearly collapsed on him as he tried sliding it on my finger. We fell on the floor together laughing.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.