Fiction logo

The Accused

A Salem Witch Story

By Isabella CiampaPublished 2 years ago 30 min read
1
Cover by: Melissa Betts

In the cold dreary night I was taken from my bed, ripped from my dreams, I screamed in agony. “What is this intrusion?!”

“You, Audrey Sybil, are hereby charged with witchcraft, and you are to be put on trial.” the guard said, struggling to keep me contained. My fathers look was fearful, it was as though he had seen a ghost.

This is the end of me, it is. Why would somebody do this to me, what did I do to deserve that evil doing. I was not a witch, and I never have been.

-~-

“What have I done!” I cried on the top of my lungs, in the rat infested, dark, dreary cell. “I am no witch! I demand to be freed,” I won't give up. I can't give up, how will I live here, will I even get the privilege to live past a week? My thoughts grew loud.

“You will shut up, witch!” The guard yelled, as he banged his hands on the table. I shrank with embarrassment. How did I end up like this? Why did I go from a baker's daughter to living in a rat infested jail cell?

I admit, I never believe in the christian god. I followed my own path, my own destiny. So did my mother before me, she taught me her ways along with my sister Isabel and brother James. Though Isabel did not believe as we did.

The memories brought smiles amongst the tears, my hair although nappy sat at my hips and curled with the haunted air. Maybe there were witches here, real ones. I was called two other women, they seemed a bit old but they were kind souls.

“How old are you, child?” the older woman asked with her large voice.

“Just nineteen,” I replied, tears still streaming down my rosy cheeks.

“Well that's just sad to hear,” One of them said with pity, they seemed a bit older, one's belly emerging. Growing a child no doubt. But I didn't mind them as long as I had my book.

“Macbeth, huh- a smart girl are you?” the older woman said, leaning in close to see my book.

“Oh, yes. It is a very good story,” I said, moving away from her stench. She must have been in here a while, her clothes were ripped and her petite coats were made blankets and pillows.

“No need for fear, my name is Sarah Good, and this here is Sarah Osborne. We were two of the first people accused,” Good said as she came towards me and rubbed my shoulder.

I remember those names, people were gossiping about them all around town. I never really knew them though so I just dismissed it. “Is-Is it true what you have done?” I said putting my guard up, crossing my arms and legs.

They just laughed and laughed, “You believe those children!?” Osborn said, grasping her belly and humped over on her lap. I just sat there still. Good, laughed with her slapping her knees. I didn't know why they were laughing so hard, they were confusing all together, I learned this quickly.

“Shut up!” The guard spit out his long beard covered mouth. “Go to sleep witches, and if i'm lucky you won't wake up ever again,” He said smirking. The Sarahs calmed down and laid on their mud covered petticoats made beds to provide slight comfort, but the comfort was still better than nothing.

As I layed there arms crossed from me freezing, I layed there dreaming of my life before this dreadful night. Before I was treated like a poor hound.

-~-

I woke up to the sound of a woman sobbing. It was Sarah Good, sitting at the rusted cell doors huddled over herself. Osborne looked at me and shook her head. Something had happened, and it wasn't good.

“Her child was arrested for biting the spoiled brats,” Osborn whispered.

I go up to Good and comfort her. Osborn follows, giving Good her stale morning bread.

“She is just a baby, still drinks from my breast from time to time, she doesn't deserve this.” Good cried out to the guards.

“I can't imagine your pain, what would help?” I said, rubbing her hair, down to her back. She looks at me, with her tears streaming down her pale, unpowdered face as she stutters words.

“What is your name?” She asked, her head tilted from the side onto her thin elbow.

“Audrey,” I answered confused, “did I never tell you two?” They both shake their heads, and Good lets out a smile. “I thought I told you. My apologies!” I say gripping my skin, this was a great start.

“The bastards, they think they can take children and move their little words,” Osborne said, holding her belly.

“How far along are you?” I asked pulling back her long, matted brown hair.

“Far enough,” she answered, frowning. I look at her and smile.

“You know some people think that babies bring hope for others,” I said. “Like with Zeus, he was born and hidden in a cave from his father, Cronus, who ate his siblings.” These words brought a smile amongst Goods' gloomy face.

After a moment, we heard shuffling on the dirt floor. Men then walked up to the cell door and opened it. They then called for Good, most likely to see her daughter. We helped her up and the guards pulled her back, like a sack of potatoes.

They grabbed her arms and tied them together. Dragging her down the dirty hallway, most likely plague ridden.

Sarah Osborne sat there worried, you could tell her heart was aching. She had been here with Good for a month or so, they grew close.

“I don't know if you follow the christian Gods but let's pray for her to the gods,” Osborne said.

I nodded and grabbed a sharp rock and stood on my feet raising my hands, Osborne got on her knees and started praying to her god, and I myself prayed to Eleos the god of pity, mercy, clemency and compassion, he could help Good.

I then took the rock and made a blood sacrifice from my hand onto her petticoats that still laid on the ground. Osborne looked at me in suspicion.

“Are you a witch?” she asked.

“No,” I laughed, “I worship the Greek Gods,not many people still believe them, and haven't for many centuries but my family and I do,” I said smiling.

-~-

Soon Good was brought back to the cell, we rushed to her as she was thrown into the cell.

“Are you alright? What did they do to you?!” Osborne said quickly, grabbing her and helping her up.

“I'm fine,” she said, laying down and closing her eyes.

I looked at Osborne as she shook her head and pulled the thin blanket over Goods shoulders, tucking her in. She needed it and it was obvious.

-~-

In the next two weeks nothing happened; we just read, drew, slept, and ate stale bread. It was like a routine, the same thing every morning.

Say hello to the rats and to each other because that's all we had.

But soon Sarah Osborne grew very ill, and her health was deteriorating. She had succumbed to the jail's poor condition and now laid on the floor trying to rest the most she could.

I once again praid to Eleos, to give Osborne mercy on her journey to mount. olympus. It was clear these were her last days.

Good stood near Osborne, holding her hand while she was awake, giving her her few pieces of stale bread and brown water.

“Sarah, we are here for you, to help you,” Good said.

“Indeed,” I followed.

“Oh shut it you too--” She said, “Let me die, i'll be free from this living hell,” She said, her humor still showed, giving me and Good a smile.

The next morning we woke up and she was off to the next world, at peace, away from the mad politics of the Salem witches. We were happy she got away from this place, we knew she was better.

Me and Good took her petite coats laying under her, and put them on her, we then wrapped her hair up into a bonnet and brushed the dirt off of her face.

When the guards arrived along with the physician they carried her body off into the dark corridor.

The next few nights me and Good said no words to each other, we knew we were still okay but it didn't feel right to say anything without her there.

-~-

“We will be taking you to the courtroom now,” The man said, grabbing me from the cell. Tying my hands they dragged me as they dragged Good. Fear was taking over my thoughts.

Dragging my heels on the peebles. Scratching my shoeless feet I was dragged along the cold streets of Salem Massachusetts, was this my doom?

“Please state your name and your accusation,” The old man said holding the dreaded mallet.

My brain moved, my eyes followed, and I found my family sitting across the room, behind me my mother was holding back tears with my father, my brother was clutching his hands, something he does when he is nervous.

Isabel, my sister, just sat there with no emotion. Her face was dull, like a lifeless body. Did she not care that my fate might be death, and does she forget if it is, it will cause the whole family to be shunned.

“Audrey Ann Sybil, witchcraft,” I say, looking back at the judge and his large hat, maybe he was a witch. Didnt witches wear hats like those?

“Do you have any comments on the matter?” His eyes were peering into my soul, every eye in this room was now on me, what brought me into this moment?

“You honor, I plead innocent,” The court looked at me once again, like I was a ghost in their home.

“Why do you plead innocent Miss Sybil?” Asked the judge.

What words do I speak to answer that question, nothing came to my mind, nothing. Just a blank void, I knew the answer but couldn't speak of it. “Well,” I say, clearing my throat.

“Well. Well Miss Sybil, could you tell the court of your fondness for Greek Gods!” He said looking at a parchment laying on his podium. Everyone gasped and looked at me like I was the devil himself.

“I do find interest in the Greek stories your honor,” I have to keep in mind that I am still a woman, I couldn't say everything I want to. “Like the stories of Odysseus, or even Daedalus and Icarus, the story of a father and son who’s pride caused them to be punished,”

The judge was frowning, but when I looked back my mother had a smile of approval, she knew the stories and she knew that those stories were the only ones that wouldn't cause even more suspicion.

“What of these people, they are mythical. Our god is the real one girl!” He said, smacking his lips and spewing his words. “Answer me!” He shouted.

Flinching, I answered his question, “Well, they might be mythical but they are like shakespeare sir, for me it is entertainment,”

He nodded and asked one more question that stuck in my core. “And what of your late nights? Seen laying in the grass and looking at the stars, and sometimes with a boy,” His smirk grew large, knowing that he was just waiting for me to confess.

“Sir, sometimes I like to look at the sky and pray at night, like moses, and sometimes I just accidentally fall asleep, and as for the boy, well that's a suiter my family has arranged and we wanted to get to know each other before we were wed,” The judge seemed stuck, like he was thinking and trying to figure out if this was true.

Next thing I know his mallet was bannging on the wood podiam and I was allowed to see my family one more time before going back into the pit. My mother rushed over to me and grabbed me, digging my face into her shoulder. I sobbed.

“Mother, I'm so sorry,” I said.

“For what my dear, you survived!” She said holding me close. My father and brother then joined my mother, while my sister still lingered behind.

Did she really believe I was a witch! She looked at me like I had the black plague, like I was an outcast!

My mother then slid a small pouch into my petticoat pocket and kissed my cheek. “We love you Audrey,” She said as I was dragged away from them.

As I slipped away out the door, I saw a smirk grow on Isabel's face.

-~-

“How did your trail go?” Sarah Good asked.

“Fine,” I said putting my hand into my pocket remembering the moment my mother and I had.

“They called for another session in the court,” Good looked at me and held my arm.

Opening the pouch I nearly screamed. “What in the world?!!” I said, shocked. Inclosed was a small golden ring. Along with it was a rolled up piece of parchment, encased as a note, from Arthur the supposed person that was my suiter. We had been friends forever but we grew feelings for eachother.

I suppose he had been planning this before I was taken.

“What is it?” Good asked, I look at her and smile.

“Arthur,” I say, opening the parchment again. Inside was this, My dearest Audrey I heard what happened, I will come help you soon. I put my word on it. Truly. I knew he would come for me. Now I could make a plan to escape or get through this trial alive.

Stay awake through the night and you will see me. This was the hope I needed, I will be able to get away.

“That's sweet of him,” Good said. Her own husband testified against her, and so did her daughter. A truly sad life.

-~-

A few hours into the night, only one guard remains in the pit. Sarah Good is asleep, I hear footsteps approaching the small window that comes with our cell.

“Audrey?” I hear from the distance, I stick my hand out of the small bars that separate us from the world.

“I am here,” I whisper back hoping he will hear me. Arthur soon found his way to me and grabbed my hand. Kissing it he shed a few tears. “I am ok Arthur, no need to worry!” I say still keeping my voice low.

“I'm so happy you're okay, if you were to be executed--” He pauses, I can see the fear in his eyes, did he feel responsible? I hope not this was not his fault.

“What's your plan?” I ask, changing the subject

“Well,” He said, looking behind him. When I joined his view I noticed A small light in the distance, I soon heard panic in the distance, he had set a fire to the Collins family farm, they did not produce many crops anyway, but everyone, and I mean everyone but us rushed over.

Arthur rushed over when he saw the last remaining guard leave to help.

After a moment Arthur had gotten the keys to the lock and came to our cell, unlocking it I ran to him and embraced him. I felt the strongest I had ever felt.

“I’m so sorry my love,” He said holding me tight, I pushed away.

“For?”

“Not coming sooner,” I look at him and smile.

“That is not your fault,” I say, “But now what?”

Arthur then offered for Good to come, but Good wanted to stay, hoping she would see her daughter again.

We then ran outside and climbed onto the horses and rode off into the distance towards the south.

-~-

“Did you get my-- my present?” He hesitated, laying on the grassy ground next to me.

“I did,” I said looking at him.

“And--” He was nervous I could tell, it was sweet, I should relish the moment.

“No,” I said,trying to keep a straight face. He looked at me like he was about to cry, and I let out a bubble of laughter.

“I'm kidding, Aurthur--yes I will marry you!” I said. He then looked at me smiling and rolled over to hug me. This was my destiny.

-~-

The next few days were filled with riding across fields, and hiding in secret coves. Despite the un-appealing thought of homlesness and being a fugitive, I was free, and I was the happiest I had ever been.

We had planned to make our way to Greece. Where I would be home. But we would need a way to get there. We were waiting for a ship that would smuggle us out of the country.

-~-

Once we made our way to the coast after about a week we met with my mother, she made her way alone down the coast line to see me.

“Mother!” I shouted across the dewy field, “How did you get here?!” I was now in her warm arms, home.

“I made my way, as I always do,” she said, holding me close.

“How are the rest of the family?!”

“They are all right, and they miss you, but,” She pulled away.

“But what,”

“Your sister, Isabel,”

“What, what's wrong with her? Is she okay?!”

“She’s fine, but--” My mother was stalling, she never stalled. She and I together were known for being impatient. “She admitted to us that she was the one who accused you,”

What did she say, her words slid by my ears. It couldn't be true. My own sister. “What?” I said.

“First we found letters from people who were speculating and supported her, including her now suiter James Hamlet. Once we confronted her, she just confessed!”

I couldn't believe my own sister could do this to me, how! Sisters don't do this, sisters care! Arthur, who was next to us, was shocked as well. He didn't know, so they must have just found out.

“But you are gone now, it does not matter, we will be leaving salem soon after you, wherever you go we will,”

“And Isabel?” Arthur asked, gripping my hand.

“She isn't coming,”My mother said, she sounded angry.

-~-

Bells were ringing and men were calling for the ancers, we were finally at the harbor, this was our moment.

I said a farewell to my mother and this land as we walked towards the ship, my mother had taken the horses and some pig blood, to make it look like we died, that was her plan.

“This is our future, are you ready?” Aurther said, offering his hand for me to grab.

“More than ever,” I said, grabbing his hand.

Once we got to the deck, we put our linen hoods on to conceal our Identities. After all, we were dead.

Someone brought us onto the ship and hid us away in their cabin, they were the Captains son, so it was easy to get by on the sixty-six day voyage across sea.

-~-

Arthur and I sat in the small wooden chest as the captain's son, Edward, was entertaining a quest. It wasn't so small that we couldn't breathe but it was so small that our bodies would lock into a curled position.

Once Edward was finally done, he helped us out, he was an alright boy considering he saved us from our previous lives, he would spend time with us as well, playing cards and giving us daily news from the ship.

“Thankyou for your kindness, but do you have a larger chest by any chance?” I ask. Arthur then nudged me and gave me his annoyed eye. It made me let out a little giggle.

But seriously, we were being held in a small chest whenever he had guests over, whether it be his father, or Mallery the only lady on the ship, well the only known women. This was because women are supposedly bad luck on ships.

“Unfortun--” He started, “Actually, I might,” he said looking around. He then opened the floor, Arthur and I were shocked, had that been there all along?

“Here help me put these in the chest,” he said looking at a pile of books.

“Wow, this is truly amazing. Could I read some of these?” I said, Arthur then laughed.

“She loves to read, of course.”

“Of course you can,” he said, starting to pick them up and place them in the chest.

“Can I have this one?” I asked picking a small book with a red floral cover. Labeled Hamlet I knew it was one of Shakespeare's works but I have never been able to get my hands on it.

“Yes of course, In fact you can keep it!” He said.

I thanked him and we continued placing the books into the chest, one by one I looked at their titles and authors. It was interesting to see these works of art, to see the minds of these people! Even if it was just the cover, they were still so interesting.

-~-

In the night Arthur and I slept on the ground with some blankets that Edward lended us. Sometimes we would even just lay there as the ship swayed and we just talked.

“I am the luckiest man alive,” Arthur whispered.

“Indeed you are,” I whispered back with a smirk, I then rolled over and drifted off into a wonderful sleep.

-~-

After many weeks the ship finally made its way onto the shores of London, not the original destination, Greece. But it was better than being back in Salem. Being back in that rotten cell.

“Finally!” Arthur said, taking a breath of fresh air. I did the same as we walked off the ship and onto land, for the first time in over a month, it was a wonderful experience. I swear that my nostrils were burning from the fresh air and my lips grew dry, it was wonderful.

Once we made our way down the city's streets, which were not as pleasing, we looked for supplies we could buy. We bought two horses, and a sword for Arthur as well. He swore that he would protect me from now on, I laughed and reminded him how I was the one imprisoned in a rat, and plague ridden cell. He laughed along.

-~-

“I have a surprise for you!” He said.

“What is it that you have for me?” I honestly had no idea what it could be.

The then took my hand and led me down the long , foul smelling and muddy streets of London, and then covered my eyes.

“Are you ready?” He said.

“Yes!” I said, When he lifted his hands from my face I was shocked, It was the Globe Theater, with all its beauty. The wooden beams had vines grasping onto their splinters. Small and large birds perched on the top, sometimes catching the show, with all its beauty I swear to Apollo, I almost cried. I think I might have shed a tear.

I was speechless as Aurthur led me into the doors where many people gathered to see Shakespeare's Midsummer Night's Dream. I was delighted by the experience, feeling the bodies of people move into their seats and sit down. I was in the globe theatre, Shakespeare theater!

As we watched the show my mind was blown more than ever, my imagination blew wild. Seeing the actors move around, act in the night candles glistening onto their skin, they shined in the night as they acted, which was the most wonderful acting I have ever seen. Not that I’ve seen much, but still.

-~-

“So where are we staying tonight?” I asked as we walked down the dark streets.

“At an old friend, but you must say we are already wed,” Arthur said looking at me.

“Why?”

“Let's just say, they're very, very strict.”

I nod my head and we made our way to a house that was cream colored, it had a small yard and it was a while away from the city, which signified they had some sorts of money, land was hard to come by near the city for a cheap price, it was mostly farm lands and rich family homes.

“Wow,” I said walking up with him, arms clenched into one another.

Arthur then knocked on the door with a few taps. Once the door was opened I saw why he said they were strict. It was his older brother John, and his wife, and daughters. So many people in one small house, I guess it's still something but I know I would rather be sleeping outside with some fur and on the grass, than in an old loud house.

John had five daughters, with us and him and his wife that ment there would be nine people in the house, too many people.

“Well hello there!” John said opening the door and reaching one hand to his side, he was an odd man. This was for sure.

“Who is it?” His wife yelled, making her way to the door. “Well hello there, you must be Audrey!” I take a moment to look at her. She had brunette hair that laid at her hips. Her legs were long and her torso average, she stood strong and with power, like she owned the place, which she did so I can't complain. She was the reason we had to pretend, she was super strict, the daughter of a priest in fact. Man, this visit will be amazing…

“So how was your trip over?” asked John.

“It was better than expected,” I answered.

“We had an adventure that's for sure,” Arthur said, sitting down on the bench with pillows.

Their children walked into the dining room and set up the dinner table, soon I heard the sounds of silverware clattering onto the table cloth. The smell of roasted pork and the smell of potatoes boiling in water fluttered my nostrils and soon we were called to sit down by Mrs. John. She still hasn't given me her name and I didnt think she ever would.

“You may sit anywhere you like, except for right here!” She pointed at the one chair at the end of the table, “That's Johns seat,”

We nodded and made our way to the right side of the table, I then put the small cloth napkin on my lap, along with the small daughters of John.

-~-

In the bright blue sky, the sun shone through the clouds. When I met people I always imagined what their lives were like, whether or not they liked to sing in their own time, or even if they liked to dance! It was a wonderful thought to have in the world of miserableness.

“What are you doing out here?” asked John?

“Well you see--,” I started.

“No, it's fine. I was just playing with you,” he laughed.

“Wow, that's the most humorous thing I've heard all year,” I said sarcastically. He didn't notice and kept laughing, with my fake smile.

“Authur really likes you I suppose,” He continued, “He told me the truth about it-- your trip.”

“Yeah--” I slowly said, rubbing my hands into the long green meadow grass.

“I will be confidential, but know you can't share these things with my wife,” He said smiling, “She’ll freak,” I laughed with him and he left.

-~-

Soon John came outside and sat with me, he grabbed my hang and we laid there, with no words. Soon I grew tired of the silence.

“Do you ever wonder,” I started, looking at him, “what comes next? I always wonder about it.”

“No, I don't need to,”

“Why is that?”

“Because I have you to do that for me!” he said rolling over down the hill, he was always the goofy one, he loved rumbling down hills and through the grass.

I laughed and rolled down with him, but unamusingly, I ended up in the mud.

Arthur helped me out by grabbing my hand and pulling me up into his arms, he got mud all over himself, which made me sort of laugh.

We then wiped eachother down and went into the bathhouse to clean up.

-~-

In the night's dream I pondered the question, where will we go from here? I saw images of Apollo guiding us along the trip, giving us many things to relish.

Will it be true, my dream? I don't know. But I sure hope so. To have a happy life was my only goal. I would do anything to achieve it.

-~-

“All aboard,” The captain shouts as we say our goodbyes to my soon to be in-laws. I only wanted to be married in Greece, I wouldn't have it any other way, and my mother should be there soon, so Arthur compiled.

On the ship we made our way to Greece, finally I was going to my destined home, where I could live happily, forever-more it was a magical thought.

-~-

It had been two months and we had finally made our way to Greece. We took a ship from London to Calais, France. We then had to walk, and ride to Greece for the remainder of the trip. It was a Trial but we worked things out through the trip, and tensions rose when we got low on supplies.

Arthur liked to say it was practice for marriage which is dreadful, marriage shouldnt be like that all the time, God I hope it isn't.

-~-

“We’ve made it!” I was in utter shock, I was finally here. I feel my emotions rise into the best form I’ve ever felt them. This was amazing.

“We did,” Arthur said, grabbing his wine pouch, “A toast to it!” He cheered, taking a big gulp of it.

“Leave some for me,” I said laughing. All of this hard work done giving us this glorious moment, it was better than anything. I finally got my dream.

He then handed me the pouch, I took one sip before he got all happy and picked me up off of the warm rocky ground.

I failed to see the beauty just when we got there. I was filled with shock but now, with us being fully here and past all the nonsense I could see the beauty of my now home.

The trees were as green as emeralds, grass fluttered with the air in the beautiful gardens, where women and men laid, sun bathing, I took in all of their beauty. The womens hair had curls, and their cheeks were rosey, the most perfect complexion of beauty in my standards.

There were women reading and writing, not just cooking and cleaning for their husbands. This was the most free I had ever felt and I don't know if it could get better than this really.

I look at Authur, I guess he can see the excitement in my eyes. He grabbed my hand and we walked down the cobblestone road to the local Inn.

“Can we get married now?” Arthur asked, smiling.

“What a Marvelous idea, lets my mother should be here in a few days and then we can have the ceremony,”

“Sounds good to me, that would give us time for the preparations.”

“Alright then, it is set” I said, “We are to be wed!”

Arthur smiles and makes his way down the road with the horse, when we finally arrive at the hotel.

He tied the horse to the fence and we made our way inside.

“Hello Sir,” Arthur said to the Innkeeper, “We would like to stay the night.”

“What is your name,” The Innkeeper said, bubbling with the pipe in his mouth. Did we magically end up in Scotland?

“My name Is Arthur, and this here is my fiance, Audrey.”

“Two rooms then?”

“I guess so,” Authur said, “and how much will that be for around a week?

“You know what, I’ll give you a discount, for the newlyweds and all. But you must do me a favor,”

Authur and I look at him intrigued.

“My grandson is sick, for my favor I ask that you watch over the Inn whilst I'm away.”

“Of course, how long?”

“About six hours of each day,”

“Then we have a deal!” Authur looked so happy, he looked at home.

“Your rooms will be separate, of course. But feel free to pick any room you'd like,” He said, “We have not many guests.”

“Thank you, for your kindness sir. It means alot to us!” I said bowing my head to show a sign of respect.

“What's the total price?” Authur asked.

“I'll say, you know what, just stay for free, i'm too old to be riding day and night, if you stay alert all day i'll let you stay for free.”

I look at Authur and smile. Not only did Greece hold beautiful people, it held kind people. I pinch myself, I felt like I was in a dream.

“Deal,” Arthur said aesthetically!

This was our change, we will be able to meet people and do all of these things. It's amazing!

-~-

When it finally came to the day of our wedding, my mother helped me into a ritualistic bath. I decided to have an ancient wedding ceremony and rituals. The bath was held in a loutrophoros and it was a big ordeal.

Then my mother helped me with my dress, tying my corsets and petticoats.

“My little girl, all grown. May Hera be with you!” She said pinning up my curly brunette hair, with a flower crown. The look was total.

We then made our way to Hera's temple where we set to marry, I was shaking from excitement.

We made our way down the bright lit, cobblestone streets, lined with flowers. People looked at me, the decorated bride. Some were annoyed, some gained interest and followed.

-~-

We finally made our way to the temple, where Arthur was waiting for me, people gathered around and looked from the vending carts. All eyes were on me.

As I walked down the aisle with my mother and father, My head went into space, I lost track of my thoughts and let Hera guide me.

-~-

“A toast to the newlyweds! Mr. & Mrs. Columby!” The Innkeeper toasted with his fresh, red wine.

The after party was swell. We had a feast and invited many people. My mother and father bought land as well so we will now live next to each other.

It's nice to know what my future is, rather than not knowing. I remember the nights I was lost in a jail cell and ponder my old self. Not remembering, I was a naive little girl.

-~-

It had been a few years, Arthur and I had two children and were carrying another in the womb. Their names are Arthur II and Grace, such sweet names for wonderful children.

They had curly brunette hair and brown eyes that shimmered like gold. Now that I was a mother I could understand life to the fullest. I was twenty-five and Arthur was a year older. We still went traveling throughout the country while the kids were with their grandparents.

I tried writing to Good, to see how she was doing. To let her know what happened when I left. But to no avail,#0 she never answered. I am glad to hear she is at peace now I hope.

-~-

“What are you making my dear?” Asked Arthur,

“Just some beef stew,” I answered back, stirring the pot.

Our black cat, GOOD, jumped onto the countertops and walked over. I pet her gracefully as she stepped on my journal labeled, Goods’ brews. I looked and laughed at the irony as Arthur sets the dining room table for our guests as I make a special bowl for them. One knock at the door and our guest is here.

“Hello sister,” I said smiling, holding Good in my hands.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.