Fiction logo

That maple leaf

A maple leaf, holding our seven years of friendship, still remember the first time we met that young and tender look, I wonder if you still remember ......

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
That maple leaf
Photo by Michael & Diane Weidner on Unsplash

  A maple leaf, holding our seven years of friendship, still remember the first time we met that young and tender look, I wonder if you still remember ......

  My favorite book "Andersen's Fairy Tales" has a maple leaf bookmark with just one phrase: Friendship is long-lasting.

  This maple leaf, my best friend Wang Jing gave me seven years ago as a parting gift, when we were simple and naive, silly fantasy will always be together, playing together, learning together. However, there was a sudden change in the family, my father's death forced my mother and me to return home.

  I remember asking Wang Jing to the park where we used to play, ready to say goodbye to her. She was wearing a white dress, looking a bit thin in the sultry autumn wind. Wang Jing took my hand and said to me with a smile, "Where are we going to play today?" I lowered my head, not daring to look into her eyes, the anticipation in her eyes would make me hold back the tears. "I ......" I stammered, "What's wrong? Is something wrong?" Wang Jing had a worried face, and the better Wang Jing was to me, the more I was unhappy. Finally, I decided not to tell her for the time being that I was leaving, today, let us have a fun day.

  "I'm fine, let's go to the maple forest today." I tried to raise a smile, Wang Jing saw me like this then no more doubts, pulling me towards the maple forest run. I strolled with Wang Jing on the maple-paved road, and Wang Jing kept talking about where we would go to play tomorrow and the day after. The autumn breeze added a chill to the early autumn, making the already cold autumn even colder.

  I stopped walking and held back my tears and said to Wang Jing, "Wang Jing, I, I'm moving." Wang Jing froze for a moment, her eyes turned red, holding back her tears, and said, "Didn't you say you wanted to be together forever? You lie!" Wang Jing's tears did not hold back any longer, and came out, crying and running back home. I stood still, motionless, tears flowing all the time.

  The day I left, I did not see Wang Jing, I think she also did not want to be too sad. Wang Jing's mother did come, she brought a beautiful golden maple leaf bookmark, said Wang Jing gave me. On the bookmark were the beautiful words "A long and lasting friendship", so I'm sure Wang Jing must have written these words with great care.

  Whenever I see this bookmark, I will think of the time I spent with Wang Jing, although her face is blurred, although she may have forgotten me, I will never forget her. Because she is my good friend.

Hibernation

Winter is here, the cold wind whistles, the tree branches light branches. We are going to hibernate!

To sleep well, we laid four quilts, and also added a thick layer of space quilt on top of it! We prepared a great meal, and the most exciting thing for me: there was my favorite roast duck, which was stuffed with delicious little apples.

After the beautiful meal, I also ate a pack of cookies. The family started to hibernate. I hugged my favorite pillow and also started my hibernation journey.

I got into the blanket, and wow! It was so warm! I hugged the pillow tightly and soon went to sleep. In the dream, I became a beautiful bird, flying in the blue sky; in the white clouds, playing games with companions, and companions travel;...... just as I was about to reach the south, the dream woke up. I was bummed and thought: If I finish my dream, I might be able to reach Egypt! I thought about it again and thought it would be better to go to Nanjing. But every place is the same, and people are hibernating. So no matter where I go, I can't have a good time.

After thinking so much, I was tired of thinking, so I fell back to sleep. I had another dream, a long, long dream, and I experienced a lot of travel. It was fun, but what made me even happier was the joy I brought to others during the trip.

"Come here quickly!" Outside the house, people argued: "A box fell from the sky!"

"It's true!" Everyone was talking about it.

I couldn't wait to run out of the house and rush into the crowd. Sure enough, there was a big box at the door, and the amazing thing was that the box was glowing.

We worked together to open the box and guess what was inside? The answer was - a light bulb. This light bulb is not ordinary. You see, if you turn it, it will emit colorful lights, beautiful! What's more interesting is: it can also talk and tell stories!

This light bulb makes my winter sleep not boring, but fresh and interesting!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.