Fiction logo

The ashes of time

Listen to the evening breeze tells the story of the past years. Open the box carrying memories, gently wipe away the dust stains of the old album, the electric cover presented in front of my eyes.

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
The ashes of time
Photo by Gary Sandoz on Unsplash

  Listen to the evening breeze tells the story of the past years. Open the box carrying memories, gently wipe away the dust stains of the old album, the electric cover presented in front of my eyes. When I slowly opened the title page, two or three yellowing photos slipped down to my fingertips.

  Another year of spring flowers, the breeze is blowing, gently touching my cheeks. I was on a familiar path again, hearing the sound of a flute from afar, and the grass was green under the willow trees. Everything is like yesterday, but now I am left standing alone under the willow tree, no longer seeing your silhouette.

  Time passes without us realizing it, and in the blink of an eye, several springs and autumns have passed. Countless days have passed, and every day has been filled with thoughts of you. We had said we would travel together; we had said we would accomplish our dreams together; we had said how often we would make a phone call; we had said we would meet once more in that place full of our memories ...... don't know on which day we lost each other.

  When the summer of a certain year came again, the busy and lively streets, people like water, cars like dragons. I am shuttling with a few friends in the crowd, looking east, looking west, laughing uncontrollably. In this large city, lost contact with a long time old friends, but can meet in this street by chance ...... see each other at that moment, we all stopped in our tracks, looking at each other beside hooked friends, we understand that everything has changed, no longer like our initial model.

  When the sky receded from the heat of noon, the moment will usher in a beautiful sunset. The sunset glow fell on the sparkling water. We sat side by side on the stone steps of the river, our first meeting after losing contact. You still tell your story as before for so long, sometimes smiling, and sometimes bitter deflated mouth. I also still listened quietly as before ......

  You just concentrated on your story, and after you finished, you asked me to tell you about my life. And I just asked you why you never once showed up at the place where we met. You avoided my questioning gaze and kept your head down without speaking. I always thought our friendship would go all the way to the end, but ......

  The summer night, the cool breeze, the air is filled with the faint scent of flowers. Time burned to ashes and took away the youth, leaving only our engraved encounter ......

The charm of the Western White Mountains

  It is straight into the clouds, towering high in the rain and fog; it is beautiful and has a unique scenery; it is not one peak alone, nor three or five peaks echoing each other, but stretches and winds, and the mountains are undulating. It is the Xibai Mountain after the snow fell.

  In the morning, we were in a good mood full of excitement to see the snowy scenery of Xibai Mountain, and sped on the road to Xibai Mountain. However, after most of the trip, I was a little disappointed and frustrated that I didn't see even a bit of snow and the surrounding area was still a green mountain landscape.

  I don't know how long it took, but my dad told me: "I see snow"! Hearing this news, I couldn't help but feel refreshed and energized instantly. My confidence in this trip was restored.

  Success was not to be missed. Finally, we arrived at the foot of the Western White Mountains. Its whole body is surrounded by clouds, such as wearing a layer of a thin veil of hidden; looks more fascinating to provoke a person to reveal the true face of the mountain feeling. From the bottom to look up, let a person be a little daunting. Spell, I silently shouted in the bottom of my heart, secretly vowed, I must conquer you. Because of the snow, the road has snow, and some also formed a thin layer of ice, so it becomes very bad to walk. Stepping on the top of the creaking sound, but also can not step on a foot solid, every step and every print I have to be careful to move forward, slowly, unconsciously we have been into the embrace of the mountains, the higher we go. After entering the mountains, the road became more difficult to walk, but the scenery became more and more beautiful, completely let me forget the treacherous and tiredness of climbing mountains! Seeing the snow song immediately made me bright, it is all silvery, crystal clear, flawless white, so that people can not help but reach out to touch, feeling slippery and cool, just climbing warmed up I can play with snow, cool body! I can also have a closer look at the snow dong, the whole pine tree is frozen by the snow, just like an ice fossil, and looking like a long breath of air. Some people say that the fog dong is very beautiful, and it is haunted by the clouds, giving a fairy-like beauty; but I think the snow dong is more beautiful, and it is covered by the ice and snow, more combined with the fog and ice and snow, giving a fairy-like imaginary beauty! The beauty of pure heart!

  Unknowingly, we had climbed to the top of the mountain, and when I saw the beautiful scenery I had gathered with my efforts, the fatigue in my body suddenly flew away. I completed the promise I made at the beginning, and also fulfilled my wish to see the snow drift. A snow mountain rises from the ground, forming a winding snow mountain map; a snow dock stands tall, like a brave guard, forming a snow dock guard map; a curved path, leading to the deep seclusion, forming a mysterious fantasy map. It is these three pictures that make Xibai Mountain more unique.

  After the snow, the West White Mountain is like a magical dream that makes people who are intoxicated by it reluctant to wake up for a long time ......

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.