Fiction logo

Sweet Summer Song Challenge

James U. Rizzi, I accept your challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago 3 min read
9
Sweet Summer Song Challenge
Photo by Andrew Bui on Unsplash

Note: this is based on the Sweet Summer Song Challenge posted by James U. Rizzi. I know that my effort might seem a little odd, but it was the first thing on my mind, and it won't go away...

The Logical Song by Supertramp:

This is my go-to song for the summer. From the moment that I heard it as a child, I always felt that its beautiful melody and melancholic tale was a perfect fit for the summer.

In the summer, I would be sent to day camp. The thing I remember most about it was not the camp itself – see my poem ‘Marydale’; note the information about the bus ride (the most interesting part of my day) – but the wait at the stop. I had to walk from my house, go past the forest that separated our homes from school, and wait near the parking lot. It always seemed ridiculous to me to be the only one at my school, at the start of another summer, waiting for a bus to take me away from my home. I had my backpack, plastic lunch box (perfect for the chocolate bar my mom always included in the heat), and a lot of thoughts about why this was happening.

And that is why Supertramp’s biggest hit became the song I associated with the summer.

Think about it: the singer introduces us to a boy whose life seems idyllic from the first line:

When I was young,

It seemed that life was so wonderful,

A miracle,

Oh, it was beautiful,

Magical…

At that point, he starts to sing about the birds singing joyfully, playfully (watching me). I did not relate to that part, but the first few lines were on point. I did think that I was lucky to live where I lived, right next to a forest that I enjoyed often with friends or by myself when I wanted to get away from home and school. There were also other forests and trails nearby, along with a large and abandoned cornfield you could get lost in. I was not shipped off to a boarding school for ten years of my life as a child – the lead singer, Roger Hodgson’s fate – but every little moment where I felt that I was being pushed away from the things I loved made me consider and wonder where my life was heading…

But at night,

When all the world’s asleep,

The questions run so deep,

For such a simple man…

This part of song is repeated twice, ending with a request that stuck in my head:

I know it sounds absurd:

Please tell me who I am.

I have often been accused of over thinking things; of taking things too seriously that no one else worries about. All true, and it began as a child who wondered about all of the things in my life that were taking place or about to take place (bullying, high school, confusion about what to do with my life, travelling, work, betrayals and loss). There were plenty of forces that made me want to give up on the race and just retreat to my childhood memories (impossible of course).

So, that is my pick for the summer. Melancholia wrapped around a beautiful melody, and a lesson about life that I learned the hard way.

And if you want to know what the sound of my summer was (is?) like:

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

LoveYoung AdultShort Story
9

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love how eclectic your musical tastes are. I hope you enjoy your song dedication from me. Your story paired very nicely with the song, and I liked this peek into your world. I think all writers “over think” things. It’s part of the creative process, the drafting in our heads. I put over think in quotes ‘cause in my opinion, people who say that about us under-think. 😌

  • Great song. So, overthinking things? I knew we had something in common.

  • Nice😉💯📝👍

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    "Melancholia wrapped around a beautiful melody" that really brings out a lot of a familiar song. Well written (not overthought in the least.)

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Great song choice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.